• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 19, 2016
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. TV Guide Magazine
    Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 27, 2018
    100
    This is comic fantasy operating on the highest level, still capable of ending each episode with a jaw-roping twist that makes you wish you should skip right to the next. [1-14 Oct 2018, p.11]
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 27, 2018
    100
    Television's smartest--and easily one of its best--comedies, NBC's The Good Place, is set to return for its third twist-filled, morally complex season, and we're all better for it. ... The only show on television of any kind where you can get intellectually stimulating and abstract lessons on philosophy and morality while also laughing hysterically at made-up swear words and pop culture.
  3. Reviewed by: Jen Chaney
    Sep 27, 2018
    100
    The NBC sitcom is still surprising, still meticulously plotted, and still hilarious at an extremely high velocity. ... Since season one, The Good Place has repeatedly rebooted its central narrative and shifted our understanding of its setting and what its characters are capable of doing within it. That it’s still able to do this so skillfully in its third season, without ever becoming remotely predictable, is an astonishing feat.
  4. Reviewed by: Steve Greene
    Sep 25, 2018
    100
    Season 3 opens up with a quartet of episodes that confirms that this group of cast and writers is equipped to make this story work wherever and whenever things may lead.
  5. Reviewed by: Sam Adams
    Sep 25, 2018
    80
    The show has radically reworked itself from season to season, and even within them, but its underlying architecture of people striving for goodness and falling short hasn’t changed, and it can’t. Instead of having to work around that limitation, The Good Place has made it its central theme. Unlike most network sitcoms, The Good Place allows its characters to change.
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 53
  2. Negative: 4 out of 53
  1. Sep 30, 2018
    2
    Critics give a 96 to season 3...Move over Breaking Bad, Hannibal, Rectify! It would be unbelievable if it weren't for the many failed liberalCritics give a 96 to season 3...Move over Breaking Bad, Hannibal, Rectify! It would be unbelievable if it weren't for the many failed liberal arts major alumni who have to make a living writing for second-grade publications. This show has become too self-aware for its own good, name dropping Kant and Aristotle without really explaining the real philosophy behind (and more importantly their limitation) as if a sophomore nerd were trying to impress a high-school chick. It's become quite pathetic. Plus, not funny anymore.
    PS: Jason storyline: It was always the weak link, but now it has become utterly embarrassing to watch.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 28, 2018
    4
    Maybe I'm just over the kitch of this show, first two seasons were pretty enjoyable, last nights premiere bored the hell out of me, see what iMaybe I'm just over the kitch of this show, first two seasons were pretty enjoyable, last nights premiere bored the hell out of me, see what i did there. Turned it off during the Jason storyline. Full Review »
  3. Sep 28, 2018
    10
    really funny. The first episode of the 3rd season exceeded my expectations. Cant wait for the next episode