Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
Buy On
  1. Nov 6, 2018
    80
    With all of its paper-and skirt-chasing, The Last Rocket may not be a giant leap for mankind but it’s more than a small step for establishing Takeoff as something other than the Migo left off of “Bad and Boujee.”
  2. Nov 6, 2018
    80
    The takeaway from Takeoff is that good art is deliberate, enjoyable and actually takes effort. It's good to see he's capable of all these, can't wait to see what he gives us next.
  3. It may not bother the charts in quite the same way as ‘Slide’ did, but it’s more than enough to remind us that we should dismiss Takeoff, the solo artist, at our peril.
  4. Nov 6, 2018
    78
    With its brevity and risk-taking, The Last Rocket succeeds at illustrating Takeoff’s talents. Though there’s no outright banger and some filler, this solo album serves as a glimmer of hope for the longevity of Hip Hop’s current favorite trio.
  5. Nov 7, 2018
    77
    The Last Rocket is the closest we’ve been yet to seeing one of the Migos with his mask off.
  6. Nov 6, 2018
    75
    He hasn’t crafted the second coming of Deltron 3030 but a contemplative and diverse delight. We can only hope Offset’s impending solo debut is just as good.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Nov 7, 2018
    2
    When I heard that Takeoff was going to make a solo album, I knew it was gonna suck. People saying that Takeoff is underrated and that heWhen I heard that Takeoff was going to make a solo album, I knew it was gonna suck. People saying that Takeoff is underrated and that he actually has a flow have obviously never listened to him. The album as I expected, really showed that. It was full of terrible ad-libs with monotone sounds. Not to mention the fact that even Quavo's unaccredited appearance didn't do anything to save it. To put it simply, The Last Rocket absolutely sucked. Full Review »
  2. Nov 12, 2018
    9
    To be honest this album was better than most trap-rap albums this year.
    only misses good features and some hooks...
    It lacks versatility,
    To be honest this album was better than most trap-rap albums this year.
    only misses good features and some hooks...
    It lacks versatility, but it's not that noticeable with only 12 tracks
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 10, 2018
    8
    Very solid album. Takeoff took his time to create some good songs. I enjoyed the fact that the length of the album was short so I didn't getVery solid album. Takeoff took his time to create some good songs. I enjoyed the fact that the length of the album was short so I didn't get bored easily.
    Takeoff got some interesting bars. Not a masterpiece, but a good album.
    Full Review »