User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 52
  2. Negative: 11 out of 52
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 15, 2018
    10
    A legendary album. An album where not only the splendor of the Beatles is more intense, but of all the genres with which they work, to reinvent them or give them another dimension, or even to create. Subjects as illuminating as they are obscure, which make this album still current and important, as it was in that year of 68, where all things seem to be summarized and performed in thisA legendary album. An album where not only the splendor of the Beatles is more intense, but of all the genres with which they work, to reinvent them or give them another dimension, or even to create. Subjects as illuminating as they are obscure, which make this album still current and important, as it was in that year of 68, where all things seem to be summarized and performed in this album, and this art, with a terrifying and dazzling depth. A masterpiece. Expand
  2. Nov 14, 2018
    9
    Overall this is one of the best albums of the 20th century and my personal favourite of The Beatles. The combination of soul, vocals and lyrics are almost perfect. Listen to: Happiness is a Warm Gun, I Will, Blackbird, Back in the USSR.
  3. Dec 11, 2018
    10
    Sounds better than I ever could have thought. I'm still discovering new little details that I never heard in the originals.
  4. Nov 23, 2018
    10
    The Beatles never sounded better. The drums and bass are louder and clearer on the remixes. My favorite part were the Esher demos. It's so much fun to listen to the songs unplugged and unfinished.
  5. Dec 13, 2018
    9
    No puedo escribir nada nuevo, es genial y bastante emotiva, tiene muchos toques de nostalgia que me encantan.
Metascore
100

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Dec 6, 2018
    100
    The percussive snap and enhanced reverb on "Yer Blues" and "While My Guitar Gently Weeps" make the songs all the more blistering, but overall, any flourishes are carefully considered. Better still, the true revelations occur after the familiar first 94 minutes are up.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    Nov 21, 2018
    100
    It peels back the layers of a group diligently working to produce something special. [30 Nov 2018, p.51]
  3. Nov 15, 2018
    100
    At least half of the 30 songs in The Beatles stand among the best of their career. Now, with this carefully detailed and appreciative restoration of how they were developed (from the beginning to end), this boxed set is yet more proof that genius doesn't take time so much as concerted, focused effort, and there is no way to trace the roots of perfect sonic chemistry. You just know it when you hear it.