• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Suspiria [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack] Image

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 39 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The soundtrack for Luca Guadagnino's remake of the 1977 film of the same name is the first feature film soundtrack for the Radiohead singer.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Mojo
    Oct 25, 2018
    It's an album that is, by turns, melancholy and unsettling, tragic and nightmarish, unfolding with a creeping narrative dread. [Dec 2018, p.93]
  2. Oct 29, 2018
    It’s to Yorke’s credit that the sense of foreboding he conjures, whether in the discordant Volk or the more elegant Olga’s Destruction (Volk Tape), manages to be so evocative even without Guadagnino’s visuals.
  3. Oct 25, 2018
    “Suspirium” is a radium-glow piano ballad that would have fit in nicely on Radiohead’s most recent album; the jazzy soul of “Unmade” and the trip-hop shiver of “Has Ended” are even more surprising, carrying welcome echoes of Yorke and co.’s brilliant Amnesiac-era B-sides. These tunes are vintage Yorke, and they make you wish he’d written more of them for Suspiria. At least until you hear the second half of this record, where the song-songs thin out in favor of even weirder electronic buzzes.
  4. Nov 12, 2018
    Despite avoiding it for a period of time, Yorke came through with his best solo album yet. He assuredly created a multi-layered horror soundtrack that serves as an engrossing confection of new musical landscapes in its own right while being essential to the film’s effect.
  5. 75
    Suspiria benefits from Yorke’s attention to atmosphere. But there’s no getting around the fact that perhaps half of the soundtrack is unmemorable and (out of context, at least) incredibly dull. There’s a right way to experience this music, and that’s by viewing the film, just as Yorke intended.
  6. Oct 26, 2018
    Altogether, Suspiria is an appropriate accompaniment to the film, generating fear and discomfort as much by what's presented by Yorke as what's left to the imagination.
  7. Oct 26, 2018
    Without the luxury of diegetic songs, the Radiohead frontman’s music for Luca Guadagnino’s forthcoming Suspiria remake is instead much more traditional, belonging in the background to ramp up the emotional cues, and as such is not as satisfying a home listening experience.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Nov 3, 2018
    Haunting yet mesmerizing, "Suspiria" is an expression of music as a subconscious part of the human experience. Unified by tracks like "Unmade"Haunting yet mesmerizing, "Suspiria" is an expression of music as a subconscious part of the human experience. Unified by tracks like "Unmade" and "Suspirium", the album echoes with a sense of unease that begs repeated listens. Thom's best solo effort yet. Expand
  2. Oct 26, 2018
    It's been a year and a half since we learned that Thom was working on the soundtrack for Suspiria's remake. Modernized and deprived of thatIt's been a year and a half since we learned that Thom was working on the soundtrack for Suspiria's remake. Modernized and deprived of that glamorous gloss the predecessor was startling with, the new movie is directed by the Italian filmmaker Luca Guadagnino, mostly known for his last-year's drama Call Me By Your Name.

    There are no strict reasons why it is that the director chose Yorke to write music for this flick (Well, it's not hard to guess - let's just say they wanted to promote each other). But, anyways, with the news coming from the media, the fact of our beloved musician contributing to such an iconic movie came a bolt from the blue.

    Basically, the album is considered to be both the soundtrack and the full LP in Yorke's discography. It consists of two discs, with the overall length of 80 minutes, compounding a very varied atmosphere in itself.

    The first part is more of a chill show. We've got some fine and mesmerizingly sad instrumentals and a bunch of airy songs that complete the film and appear to be one of the best in the entire musician's catalogue. The story builds up, we get to know the characters, the main villains, and, with the end of this disc, guided by 'Unmade' of heavenly beauty, seems like we get a slight hint on what that Mother of Tears is.
    The second portion opens with the previously released track called 'Volk'. And it's really intense, making easiness of the film coagulate rapidly. I think, right from this moment the scene becomes a closed space, making you feel like you're watching a horror play. There are not so many songs on the 2nd disc – only a couple, with one being a rearrangement of the original Suspirium, and the other one being a country ballad, backed by belligerent synths. 'A Choir of One' is the track which gained my respect not less than any of the masterfully created songs on this album. That is, probably, one of the most terrifying moments on the record, as well as having the longest duration – 14 minutes of an experimental ambient, with Yorke howling here and there. Then 'Synthesizer Speaks' breaks in, bringing even more terror with it, followed by a procession of a handful of instrumentals creepy to nearly the same extent. 'The Epilogue' pretty sums it all up, enthralling with its eeriness and leaving you in bewilderment: 'Is it future or is it past?'

    Speaking of Suspiria OST, in a row with Yorke's top-notch material, this album makes a noticeable appearance. Sometimes too noticeable that you want to name it his best solo work. It's pure heaven (sorry, I mean, hell...), and I wish you all feel 'suspirium' listening to this one...