User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 143 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 143
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Robyn's Honey is the most interesting pop music I've heard in years. The direction she went in with this new album is incredible. This is definitely her best!
  2. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    The masterful pop from Robyn reaches an experimental level, bringing melancholic melodies and a simple, but deeply personal songwriting that constantly becomes joyful as you listen (and can't help but dance) to the record. A brilliant production.
  3. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    "Honey" dá arrepios... por ser tão bom. Mesmo Robyn estando num nível experimental e diferente do que costumava fazer, brinda-nos com músicas simples, mas profundamente pessoais e emocionantes.
    10/10
  4. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Honey, is an spectacular record, worth the wait, and with 9 songs it doesn’t overstay it’s welcome.
  5. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    A new sound, missing u seems like a farewell to the sound of body talk, and human being the gateway to this new sonority. The rest is sensual and dramatic in the right measure.
  6. Oct 30, 2018
    9
    Honey (the album) isn’t what I expected from Robyn after 8 years, but then it feels like the most Robyn album ever.
    I’m not sure if a track sequencing has ever given me a clearer feeling of this is what I was (Missing You) gradually moving through to this is who I am now (Ever Again), with a sidestep here or there into the distant past, or reaching across to something new.
    There’s a lot
    Honey (the album) isn’t what I expected from Robyn after 8 years, but then it feels like the most Robyn album ever.
    I’m not sure if a track sequencing has ever given me a clearer feeling of this is what I was (Missing You) gradually moving through to this is who I am now (Ever Again), with a sidestep here or there into the distant past, or reaching across to something new.
    There’s a lot of emotion packed into these nine songs, but little trace of the bombastic Dancing On My Own weep on a dance floor exaggeration. There’s a calmness, a maturity there, coupled with some very 90’s beats peddled throughout, especially on Beach2k20, and the house inspired Between The Lines.
    The cohesion of it all stops it feeling short, and more of a piece, and it wouldn’t surprise if we get a Ninth Wave style suite from her one day in the future (Baby Forgive Me/Send To Robyn Immediately is one ten minutes opus, she’s chopped in half, and she didn’t have to at all)
    She does mention Kate Bush’s Sensual World on her “Songs That Inspired Honey” Playlist, and you get that same sense of teasing, longing and a woman owning her sexual being in the very lyrics of Honey it’s self. I also love that she’s not afraid to wear her inspirations on her sleeve, I always feel it adds to the honesty of the music.
    By the time the last half of Ever Again comes around, its lyrical structure sounding pure Prince, those synths crash in, and you realise that this is the sound the album has been building towards, its catharsis, it’s restless urge to dance, it’s almost like Robyn saying here we are, it’s what you wanted, but it’s something different, something better. And I honestly think it is.
    Expand
  7. Oct 29, 2018
    10
    When you are opening the chest you will see gold, but when you are looking closer inside the treasure you will see platinum - every song is crafted so fantastic - my favourite song at the moment is Human Being - the album sticks on your soul like honey.
  8. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    O álbum conseguiu superar minhas expectativas, Robyn conseguiu entregar um trabalho coeso e bem produzido, as letras estão absurdamente no nível que ela sempre mostrou, Because It's In The Music pra mim é o ponto alto do álbum junto a faixa título e Ever Again, Send To Robin Immediately e Between The Lines também brilham no meio do disco.
    Robyn não fez mais do mesmo, não quis a mesma
    O álbum conseguiu superar minhas expectativas, Robyn conseguiu entregar um trabalho coeso e bem produzido, as letras estão absurdamente no nível que ela sempre mostrou, Because It's In The Music pra mim é o ponto alto do álbum junto a faixa título e Ever Again, Send To Robin Immediately e Between The Lines também brilham no meio do disco.
    Robyn não fez mais do mesmo, não quis a mesma sonoridade que seu antecessor, que aliás moldou o pop naquela época, acredito que com Honey, uma nova fase de se ouvir e trabalhar com música pop está por vir e nós só temos a ganhar com isso.
    Expand
  9. Oct 27, 2018
    10
    My first listen was a disaster. I was really dissapointed in what I heard. But as I listened to it more, everything that I felt got more intense with each listen and each time I listen to it again I fall in love with it even more.
    Now, I understand why my first experience was that bad. It was that way because I approached it from a wrong perspective. So, if you haven't listened to it yet,
    My first listen was a disaster. I was really dissapointed in what I heard. But as I listened to it more, everything that I felt got more intense with each listen and each time I listen to it again I fall in love with it even more.
    Now, I understand why my first experience was that bad. It was that way because I approached it from a wrong perspective. So, if you haven't listened to it yet, keep an open mind, sit back and let this record guide you through an experience that is unique, intense and amazing.
    Expand
  10. Oct 31, 2018
    6
    If it only were as amazing as the critics say it is... don't get me wrong this IS a good album, but in the standards of Robyn it falls a bit short due to its middle section which veers a bit too much into the soft pop side of things, and considering that this is a short album it actually counts for a lot of the albums own runtime which sucks. I had to listen to the whole album a few timesIf it only were as amazing as the critics say it is... don't get me wrong this IS a good album, but in the standards of Robyn it falls a bit short due to its middle section which veers a bit too much into the soft pop side of things, and considering that this is a short album it actually counts for a lot of the albums own runtime which sucks. I had to listen to the whole album a few times just to differentiate those tracks. I still think the Body Talk albums are far more better and futuristic, they are more fun and also sounded harder... And considering that it took 8 years to create this ( Robyn has released lots of side collaborations and EPs during this time so she hasn't been fully away) it just feels as if it should've been a bit better I don't know. Also Baby Forgive Me is not a good track, I think it takes away from the wonder of the strong album start, it's so clunky.
    However I can appreciate that it's very experimental in nature, especially tracks Between The Lines, Beach 2k20, Human Being. Also the singles Missing U and Honey are pure Robyn dance floor bliss... And I'm looking forward to the string of remixes that this album will create. Hopefully it won't take as long to create a new album, but in the meantime I can appreciate this one for trying and for actually being a very brave album as well, I really enjoy some of the parts and even the more "mellow" and "sensual" sound that it tries to convey. All in all its a good album but not as great as Body Talk (vol. I-III) in my opinion.
    Expand
  11. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Deep, personal, sensual, amazing Pop album by Robyn truly a genius at what she does!
  12. Oct 29, 2018
    9
    Much more ambient and less anthemic than Robyn or Body Talk but nonetheless a shimmering, pulsing, and mature work. Brings new thrills with each listen. Honey is a deeply felt and carefully produced record with which Robyn continues to set the curve for the IDM genre.
  13. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    I love Robyn. I have seen her live twice and she is amazing. Love the new album. Every song she creates is a deep commitment and personal journey. She transcends pop. Nothing is forced to appear relevant, she will always do her own thing.
  14. Nov 2, 2018
    8
    Robyn’s new album is a grower but still a modern day dance treat. Gone on her super catchy pop-vibes and she now focuses on a more subdued chill-wave dance style. Honey will probably divide fans for the first little bit, but they will come to see how mature Robyn has become. Prominent tracks include: Honey, Between the Lines, Missing U, Send to Robin Immediately.
  15. Nov 1, 2018
    7
    Lyrics are above good, they go into the "Wow im impressed shelf".
    Do not like more then half of the songs but those i do like, could put on a tracklist and run it the whole day.
  16. Oct 31, 2018
    9
    An impressive album - especially after the eight years it took Robyn to craft this new record - and probably the best pop album of the year. The singles ("Missing U" and the title track) are "pure Robyn," mixing catchy lyrics & melodies and great electronic production with a certain sensuality and melancholy. Those two songs were already great and did their job perfectly, but the rest ofAn impressive album - especially after the eight years it took Robyn to craft this new record - and probably the best pop album of the year. The singles ("Missing U" and the title track) are "pure Robyn," mixing catchy lyrics & melodies and great electronic production with a certain sensuality and melancholy. Those two songs were already great and did their job perfectly, but the rest of "Honey" is a bit more surprising and experimental. On songs like "Human Being" and "Baby Forgive Me" the Swedish singer plays and experiments with her vocals and hypnotic presence, creating two wonderfully weird and refined pop songs. On "Ever Again," Robyn surprises us with a 90s girl-rock influenced anthem and provides sublime elevator music on "Beach2k20," proving that you can be an avant-garde pop artist who experiments with your sound and still be - a lot of - fun. The most striking aspect of "Honey" is how the songs can be fun and experimental but are very reflective and carry the melancholy that has, over the years, become Robyn's signature. This album is fascinating and the production is just so complex and deconstructed that the songs are never not interesting. "Honey" is pop music at its finest and one the most interesting pieces of music we've heard this year!

    Key tracks: Honey, Baby Forgive Me, Between The Lines.
    Expand
  17. Oct 31, 2018
    10
    Robyn has been underrated her whole career. Just look up her past credits. Once again Robyn delivers a great pop record. Was proud to buy and support this album (my first in years.)
  18. Nov 26, 2018
    9
    Honey is adventurous. Robyn's effort to be experimental, is commendable. Despite the existence of Body Talk's pop core, becoming a transition of those two bodies of work. It reminds us who Robyn is in the past 8 years.
  19. Nov 5, 2018
    7
    This is my first ever listen to the artist Robyn, who I find her aesthetic and sound in her music to be very unique. Although creativity is shown through and through the tracklist, overall the album just turns out to be so tastless and average, mainly because of the most annoyingly long and useless filler tracks such as Ever Again, which I think is one of the worst and most boring tracksThis is my first ever listen to the artist Robyn, who I find her aesthetic and sound in her music to be very unique. Although creativity is shown through and through the tracklist, overall the album just turns out to be so tastless and average, mainly because of the most annoyingly long and useless filler tracks such as Ever Again, which I think is one of the worst and most boring tracks on the album. I hope this will continue to grow on me since it is kind of now actually, a bit.
    Best tracks: Missing U, Human Being, Because It's In The Music, Between The Lines, Beach2k20
    Worst tracks: Baby Forgive Me, Send To Robin Immediately, Ever Again
    Expand
  20. Nov 19, 2018
    10
    So chill and mellow. Great work!
    Top songs: Missing U, Baby Forgive Me, Send to Robin Immediately
    Worst one for me: Because It's in the Music
  21. Oct 30, 2018
    10
    Pro: Every track is pure genius. Just brilliant in every way.
    Con: The album only has 9 tracks. Definitely not enough.
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Nov 1, 2018
    84
    Throughout Honey, the pure, raw emotion that has always defined Robyn's music is still there. Now, she's just dancing to a different beat.
  2. Oct 29, 2018
    80
    At nine lean but often seemingly formless tracks, Honey feels raw and incomplete, like a work in progress--and maybe that’s the point.
  3. Oct 29, 2018
    90
    Robyn's Honey is the lead contender for best pop album of 2018.