Decade Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The compilation of 13 unreleased songs from the Kinks guitarist was recorded between 1971 and 1979.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Nov 7, 2018
    Listen underneath that gloss, and it's possible to hear Davies working out his ideas in a space free from the spotlight. Such seclusion may have meant he wasn't as focused to deliver songs with pop aspirations, the way he was in the '60s, but that's also the appeal of the collection: it's a polished version of a notebook from a strong writer, so it's by nature fascinating for anybody interested in the music of Dave Davies.
  2. Nov 7, 2018
    Davies’ solo output would increase in the Eighties, yet like his day job band, the quality began to vary markedly. Here we have a snapshot of a time when he was at the top of his game--but overshadowed in the public eye by his brother’s more easily digestible (and, let’s face it, available) work.
  3. Classic Rock Magazine
    Nov 7, 2018
    Good to hear the quiet one speaking up again. [Nov 2018, p.80]
  4. Uncut
    Nov 8, 2018
    The smoother strains of the folk-tinged "Within Each Day" and "If You Are Leaving" make a bigger impression, confidently stepping out from his elder sibling's shadow. [Dec 2018, p.41]
  5. Nov 7, 2018
    Not derivative, but fresh and energetic. Some of the 13 songs on Decade would have enlivened any Kinks album they would have appeared on. Only on "Mystic Woman" does the quality control dip a little as it sounds like a fairly typical pub rock workout.