Columbia Pictures | Release Date: October 5, 2018
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 966 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
577
Mixed:
177
Negative:
212
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
moviemitch96Oct 5, 2018
I was pretty excited about this once it was announced that Tom Hardy would be playing the titular character in this film. However, I gotta say that while it's no fault of Hardy's (he did the best with what he was given), the film ended upI was pretty excited about this once it was announced that Tom Hardy would be playing the titular character in this film. However, I gotta say that while it's no fault of Hardy's (he did the best with what he was given), the film ended up being pretty average to me overall, with mediocre effects during several moments, very rushed plotting and pacing, and a lot to be desired. Aside from Hardy's occasional charm and a decent amount of fun to be had with some of the action, it wasn't quite enough to make it as good as I was hoping it'd be. Expand
17 of 21 users found this helpful174
All this user's reviews
7
rusty_toasterOct 5, 2018
In fact, the film is not as bad as many critics say.
Yes, in some places the plot of the film sags, some scenes were cut, etc.
I still want to draw attention to the advantages: 1. Tom Hardy's acting. Tom is a great actor, playing excellent in
In fact, the film is not as bad as many critics say.
Yes, in some places the plot of the film sags, some scenes were cut, etc.
I still want to draw attention to the advantages:
1. Tom Hardy's acting. Tom is a great actor, playing excellent in this film.
2. The interaction and relationship between the protagonist and his symbiote. Yes, they are not fully disclosed (for example, why did the symbiote so quickly become attached to Eddie?), But still it is pleasant to watch them. If there is a second part of the film, I hope that this relationship will be revealed to a greater degree.
3. Despite this age rating, the film is cruel in some places, but mostly it is an action with elements of comedy. The jokes were basically where they should be. Anyway, for Tom's charisma, I’m ready to forgive the film for some moments.
4. Venom is an interesting character, which perhaps was not enough for us. Not a superhero, but something more.
Expand
32 of 43 users found this helpful3211
All this user's reviews
10
Megajohn85Oct 5, 2018
What the hell are critics smoking these days?
This is not a mess at all. In fact it’s a welcome fresh air. Venom reinjects the comic book movie market with a Sam Raimi Evil Dead/Darkman inspired feel. That very same over the top approach
What the hell are critics smoking these days?
This is not a mess at all. In fact it’s a welcome fresh air. Venom reinjects the comic book movie market with a Sam Raimi Evil Dead/Darkman inspired feel. That very same over the top approach thar Made Spiderman a huge blockbuster long before Marvel Studios.
Bravo!!! I had some minor issues but it wasn’t enough to ever make me feel as I wasn’t wasting my time or regret seeing this. In fact I’m seeing it again today
Expand
60 of 115 users found this helpful6055
All this user's reviews
3
EpicLadySpongeOct 5, 2018
For whatever reason is causing this to become the biggest Marvel letdown since 2015's Fantastic Four, Sony fails to utilize Venom's problems that could have easily been fixed if they had to take a minute to backtrack problems that could causeFor whatever reason is causing this to become the biggest Marvel letdown since 2015's Fantastic Four, Sony fails to utilize Venom's problems that could have easily been fixed if they had to take a minute to backtrack problems that could cause the hype train to die off easily. There's just so many missed opportunities that could have made Venom more than what it actually is, but of course we know that Sony doesn't care about that. They just care about your money and nothing else. Sony should just give up the film rights to Spider-Man back to Marvel Studios at this point. It seems that they don't know how to make good movies anymore without influencing their money onto it. Expand
15 of 35 users found this helpful1520
All this user's reviews
7
MoishOct 6, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is not bad like critics say it is but definitely needed to be R rated to achieve its better self. In my opinion, a better cinematographic adaptation of Venom than Sam Raimi Spiderman 3, really good acting of Tom Hardy quite good visual effects comedy used smartly not forced or excessive like Thor Ragnarok for example, done to take advantage of the popularity of the character but in a decent way, a good comic book/superhero movie but maybe not a good movie per se. Expand
9 of 9 users found this helpful90
All this user's reviews
7
WEBZPINNEROct 6, 2018
Excellent movie. As a 30yr long fan of the character, I can honestly say this is a fantastic portrayal of the character. The humor, violence, and horror of the character, a staple of Venom since 1988, is all on display and excellentlyExcellent movie. As a 30yr long fan of the character, I can honestly say this is a fantastic portrayal of the character. The humor, violence, and horror of the character, a staple of Venom since 1988, is all on display and excellently performed by Tom Hardy!

Only complaint is the villain is a little boring.... not a problem with Riz, just the character is nothing more than Evil Doc That Thinks he’s God. Tad cliched.

CGI is excellent, movie is great for 13 and up, but there are several S bombs and one F bomb. If you or your kids like the recent X-men movies, they’ll LOVE Venom.
Expand
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
8
Nero5423Oct 10, 2018
I really don't understand why there are so many negative around this film. I found it very funny and cool, plus Tom Hardy so awesome actor. The film is not a masterpiece, but definitely recommend for viewing.
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
8
andrewassholOct 6, 2018
I just came back from watching venom and its really good, the movie is different from the original story but keeps the same idea of the original story, the movie has a lot of good jokes, and thankfully venom is not shown for just 5I just came back from watching venom and its really good, the movie is different from the original story but keeps the same idea of the original story, the movie has a lot of good jokes, and thankfully venom is not shown for just 5 minutes.Btw I watched in real 3d



After credits carnage if u kno what I mean ;)
Expand
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
8
GinaKOct 9, 2018
Tom Hardy saved this film for me because it was basically the same old Marvel comics movie – monsters, fights, spectacle. Hardy made his character more human than usual in a Marvel film, and his delivery was much funnier and slier. Riz AhmedTom Hardy saved this film for me because it was basically the same old Marvel comics movie – monsters, fights, spectacle. Hardy made his character more human than usual in a Marvel film, and his delivery was much funnier and slier. Riz Ahmed was a plus also. But I suspect the audience was a bit bored (I wasn't) and they talked (some walked around) and several checked their phones, which was annoying. I may go again because of Hardy and the rest of the cast, and to see if I can get a better (and smaller) audience. Sometimes a bad audience can really wreck a film. The “transformation” was also fun and interesting. Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
7
SGTKILLA011Oct 6, 2018
So, Just seen this movie and I must say I was impressed. Had very little hopes going into it but left happy. If you are expecting a masterpiece this isn't for you. If you are a person that likes to complain about everything, this isn't forSo, Just seen this movie and I must say I was impressed. Had very little hopes going into it but left happy. If you are expecting a masterpiece this isn't for you. If you are a person that likes to complain about everything, this isn't for you. Eddie Brock and Venom's Chemistry is what makes this movie enjoyable.Venom is portrayed very well for the anti-hero/villain he is. Some comedy thrown in as well. Great Ending and End Credit scene YES! Everything else is just kind of irrelevant. Don't listen to the critics or even us. If you want to kick back and enjoy a flick then right here is the way to go. Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
10
steveo1988bOct 9, 2018
Don't listen to the "critics" if you want to call them that. The movie was great and entertaining. Very good movie!
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
10
KortazyOct 10, 2018
I'm going to keep this review short and sweet. Venom is tremendously underrated by critics who are nitpicking every wrong detail. There is so much to appreciate about this movie from the mix of different emotions from each and every scene toI'm going to keep this review short and sweet. Venom is tremendously underrated by critics who are nitpicking every wrong detail. There is so much to appreciate about this movie from the mix of different emotions from each and every scene to being constantly tuned as to what was going to happen next. It's clear that the user reviews heavily outweighs the critic's views on this one. Venom is 10 out of 10 and I suggest this movie to anyone who likes comic book heroes or anti hero movies. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
7
DeadpoolioOct 6, 2018
Venom isn't a bad film by any means. If anything its refreshing that its actually a comic book film that doesn't have the same generic cookie cutter formula that Marvel has really started to tire out....Its far from a perfect film, butVenom isn't a bad film by any means. If anything its refreshing that its actually a comic book film that doesn't have the same generic cookie cutter formula that Marvel has really started to tire out....Its far from a perfect film, but atleast someone is trying something different and there is enough here that can be improved on in a sequel...Hopefully in 2019 when Sony's deal with Marvel ends they take back the character and insert him into a Venom sequel...Its sad that a bunch of whiney little Marvel fanboys want to pretend that this film is terrible without ever having seen it hoping to push Sony into somehow selling the rights for Spider-man back to Disney.... Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
8
MasterRedOct 8, 2018
I had a quick look at the reviews before deciding to see this movie and am glad I checked the viewer score, this movie was thoroughly enjoyable, I have no idea on earth how people came up with a 35 score, did someone not pay them enough to doI had a quick look at the reviews before deciding to see this movie and am glad I checked the viewer score, this movie was thoroughly enjoyable, I have no idea on earth how people came up with a 35 score, did someone not pay them enough to do a review, the movie was not what I expected as someone who has read a few venom comics however it was overall a very enjoyable movie. 8/10 Would Recommend. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
Troubledkid97Oct 10, 2018
I give this movie a ten because of all the stupid "critics" giving this movie bad score. It deserves a 8/10. There are a lot of badass and hilarious moments as well as "holy **** moments in this movie. Though I think the action need to beI give this movie a ten because of all the stupid "critics" giving this movie bad score. It deserves a 8/10. There are a lot of badass and hilarious moments as well as "holy **** moments in this movie. Though I think the action need to be more intense and characters need to have more stake. At the end, I felt the movie was too short and ended abruptly. But after all, this is a solid movie and worth watching. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
CCSunnycalbOct 9, 2018
just go see the movie for yourself instead of just listening to what rotten tomatoes or the critics are saying about this movie. if you really want to go see the movie then ignore the critics until you have seen the movie! lol
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
captainnemo0Oct 10, 2018
I was on this film with my gf and it was the funniest film that we watched together. As I understand,many of negative reviews sais “it’s PG-13” and a plot is boring and isn’t canonical. May be they are right,but for simple person,who didn’tI was on this film with my gf and it was the funniest film that we watched together. As I understand,many of negative reviews sais “it’s PG-13” and a plot is boring and isn’t canonical. May be they are right,but for simple person,who didn’t read comics and don’t like rivers of blood,venom is really good movie,not a masterpiece,but just good. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
7
harryharri1976Oct 9, 2018
This was definitely better than I expected. It all falls apart with a horrible CGI climax but the build up was thoroughly enjoyable. I felt the level of violence was just right - people who want a hard R rated Venom movie must not beThis was definitely better than I expected. It all falls apart with a horrible CGI climax but the build up was thoroughly enjoyable. I felt the level of violence was just right - people who want a hard R rated Venom movie must not be familiar with the comic iteration. This felt faithful to how I remember him from 90s comics. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
8
catiflam88Oct 8, 2018
to be honest i don't understand the pro critcs , 3,5 lol luckily i don't trust professional critics that much , i trust more on users and good reviews all of u did , i had a good time watching the movie , not even a singles moment feeling bored
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
7
dabjulmarosOct 8, 2018
Most definetely a enjoyable movie. I have some knowledge of Venom in the comics to know that is not as a faithful adaptation as Deadpool may be, and also know that the movie may have been a tad more enjoyable if it was rated R, but I had fun.Most definetely a enjoyable movie. I have some knowledge of Venom in the comics to know that is not as a faithful adaptation as Deadpool may be, and also know that the movie may have been a tad more enjoyable if it was rated R, but I had fun. Hardcore Venom fans may be dissapointed on the lack of blood, and that every scene does not have someone being decapitaded. General audience, action, or comic movie fans will have a fun time. It was a fun movie. Its not a master piece, but it waswell worth the price of admission. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
7
MasterRileyOct 8, 2018
Venom is a really fun and enjoyable movie. If you are a fan of him from the comics than I can't see why you won't like this movie. Tom Hardy is the perfect choice for Eddie Brock as he delivers a really great performance. The movie has someVenom is a really fun and enjoyable movie. If you are a fan of him from the comics than I can't see why you won't like this movie. Tom Hardy is the perfect choice for Eddie Brock as he delivers a really great performance. The movie has some really great humour and action sequences as well. It gets really dark at times which works well for the story, but its a bummer they didn't go all the way and make it rated R. The villain is a bit generic but the overall story is well done. If you're a fan of action movies or superhero movies than you'll definitely enjoy watching Venom. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
7
Geng1sOct 9, 2018
Tom Hardy is great as Venom, the movie is good right up until the third act at which point any notion of pacing get thrown out the window and they seem to rush through the last 20-30 minutes of the film. I get they cut chunks out of the filmTom Hardy is great as Venom, the movie is good right up until the third act at which point any notion of pacing get thrown out the window and they seem to rush through the last 20-30 minutes of the film. I get they cut chunks out of the film to keep it PG but the whole things becomes quite unbalanced, it really feels like sabotage and I hope there is a directors cut or extended version of the film.
Again Hardy is good as Venom so I have hope the sequels will flesh things out a bit and they take some lessons away from this.
Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
8
StHoustonOct 10, 2018
Pretty good for a superhero movie.

Venom good at least because of I can understand motivation of every single character. Simple "they killin' people" is not enough and long introduction contains all answers.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
7
spinx225Oct 10, 2018
Not sure what’s up with the critics. Was it the best comicbook movie there is no, but it was still decent. How I would improve it for the sequel should there be one, would be to go the Deadpool and Logan route.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
DickDastardlyOct 10, 2018
What do critics play? Are they bought? It's not a bad movie. It doesn't respect the origin of the symbiote suit as in comics, but it's a lesser evil since all superhero movies do the same thing. Weak Villain. Action and Fun. Critics go home plz!
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
ABROct 10, 2018
I've thought this movie will be a full trash, but this film is gorgeous. Yes, it has flaws: darky picture to spare money from the budget on CGI and PG13 rating, because Sony was unsure, can they do a good anti-superhero movie. But they did. RI've thought this movie will be a full trash, but this film is gorgeous. Yes, it has flaws: darky picture to spare money from the budget on CGI and PG13 rating, because Sony was unsure, can they do a good anti-superhero movie. But they did. R rating could brings us a movie like Deadpool. I hope Sony will understand it. Don't listen to critics, go to cinema and give Venom a chance. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
woojinOct 8, 2018
this is good but I can't understand how to survival venom in a fire.
and I want more action
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
PlayerForeverOct 11, 2018
So, this is another "superhero" movie type underrated by the supposed professional critics. With a difference though, this is the most underrated one of this year...so far. Really? This movie is a 35/100? They are crazy! I ask to myself as aSo, this is another "superhero" movie type underrated by the supposed professional critics. With a difference though, this is the most underrated one of this year...so far. Really? This movie is a 35/100? They are crazy! I ask to myself as a critic of games myself: why the movie critics are so unprofessional when they review this type of movies? Venom is good people! The story is compelling, the movie have great moments of action and the movie have the surprise factor in his side. The only thing i can complain is the villain. I like him, but i think the movie deserve a better final fight. But in general, i love the movie, like my best friend and even my family, who love this type of movies. So, people, don´t even read the reviews, they don´t know what they are talking about...they don´t even appreciate this type of movies. But certainly they will give a great review to some **** movie, as usually. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
JzaSmackOct 10, 2018
I had a great time with Venom, I was a bit worried how everything would play out without spiderman what with him being an essential role in the story tradtionally, its explained early on and every thing feels believable as its own standaloneI had a great time with Venom, I was a bit worried how everything would play out without spiderman what with him being an essential role in the story tradtionally, its explained early on and every thing feels believable as its own standalone story. If your a fan you gotta see it. Also these critics should be fired, they obviously don't have taste or at least know how to critique a film based on what it is, instead of what they think it should be Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
7
ZombieAxeHeroOct 10, 2018
A bit too short with a kind of lackluster villain, and you can clearly tell this should've been rated R. But Tom Hardy is absolutely fantastic and the film overall is a lot of fun. Hopefully we get an unrated edition when it comes to Blu-ray.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
Moemoe1Oct 11, 2018
Ok i don't know why its getting so many bad reviews the movie was very good for what they were trying to achieve.
Good pacing funny when needs to be and serious at the same time. I'm interested on where they plan on taking it from here after
Ok i don't know why its getting so many bad reviews the movie was very good for what they were trying to achieve.
Good pacing funny when needs to be and serious at the same time. I'm interested on where they plan on taking it from here after seeing the post credits scene
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
Mark_OOct 12, 2018
This movie was fun and exciting. Tom Hardy was wonderful as Venom and Brock, and watching their interactions made the movie come together. A fun movie, one that I'd recommend to watch for free with boxxy software.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
AuthenticReviewOct 10, 2018
Honestly do not listen to what the critics are saying about this film! Don't get me wrong I am not saying its the next darknight or anything like that but what I am saying is that its really quite a nice ride. Venom is a breath of fresh airHonestly do not listen to what the critics are saying about this film! Don't get me wrong I am not saying its the next darknight or anything like that but what I am saying is that its really quite a nice ride. Venom is a breath of fresh air as compared to the usual superhero formula were used to seeing today. It separates itself quite nicely from the MCU superhero films however it does not separate itself for the sake of separation. Venom stays true to the character in a way which not only is a joy for the comic fans but the average movie goers as well. Venom is different in that it has two different tones which coincide with Eddies personality and Venom's personality. Its truly a pleasure to watch the chemistry and interactions between these two. In venom you will be laughing at times then in others wandering if you should scream, laugh or cheer because the scene is so damn cool. Venom is a pleasure to watch and if you go and see it in the theaters I guarantee you will come out satisfied. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
Roshe92Oct 10, 2018
Хороший фильм, смотрел на одном дыхании, отличная игра актеров и классные спецэффекты, куча отборного юморка, в общем стоит того, что бы сходить на часок в кино и глянуть этот великолепный фильм.Хороший фильм, смотрел на одном дыхании, отличная игра актеров и классные спецэффекты, куча отборного юморка, в общем стоит того, что бы сходить на часок в кино и глянуть этот великолепный фильм.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
acarmelo1Oct 11, 2018
Dont trust the critics, movie is great, full of action, fun. Its a great movie. Dont know why so many people are bashing it.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
ArymanOct 14, 2018
Really good movie! I don't understand critics... Not so polished like Marvel movies, but really good one anyway. A lot of nice humor, some nice action. Recommended! PS. If you want more movies like this - try "Upgrade"; great movie withReally good movie! I don't understand critics... Not so polished like Marvel movies, but really good one anyway. A lot of nice humor, some nice action. Recommended! PS. If you want more movies like this - try "Upgrade"; great movie with amazing fightchoreography. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
AdomelismOct 13, 2018
Group of four, 2 females 2 males went to see Venom despite movie critics.
Movie was simply great - Tom Hardy did an amazing job, the humor is very balanced nothing cringe like we are used to see nowadays, all four of us loved it and I even
Group of four, 2 females 2 males went to see Venom despite movie critics.
Movie was simply great - Tom Hardy did an amazing job, the humor is very balanced nothing cringe like we are used to see nowadays, all four of us loved it and I even registered here just to disagree with the criticism. My first rating here and hopefully I will come back to rate the part 2 of Venom movie.
Definitely recommend to watch.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
crazyfokfaceOct 17, 2018
This Venom movie is absolutely brilliant.
The critics are full of feces, they are too high up their butts and forgot what going to the cinema is all about: having a laugh and an exciting time watching a good flick.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
sonny2dapOct 15, 2018
Not too sure what film the critics watched on this occasion but a 3.5 out of 10 this film is not.

The film overall is standard comic book movie stuff, I can see if your a fan of the source material you may be somewhat disappointed but judged
Not too sure what film the critics watched on this occasion but a 3.5 out of 10 this film is not.

The film overall is standard comic book movie stuff, I can see if your a fan of the source material you may be somewhat disappointed but judged on its' own it is an enjoyable film with solid performances from the cast all round, Hardy in particular does a great turn during Brock's more unhinged moments and the action sequences are well put together, the CGI can be a bit jarring at times but not enough to really detract from the film.

The interactions between Venom and Brock are equal parts funny and menacing which is even more amusing when you consider both are played by Hardy.

I won't go into spoiler territory but suffice to say this isn't Citizen Kane and if you went in expecting that it would be that's more of a you problem than any failing of the film, as I say I understand people upset that this isn't a faithful adaptation of the source material but the fact remains this is a solidly enjoyable comic book film well worth your time and money.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MFabianOct 15, 2018
The Critics are only being Movie Critics, and not movie fans or comic fans. If you are a Comic Book fan, Venom is fun movie that got it right with non-canon origin story. They did it right with not having Spider-Man in the film. If you are aThe Critics are only being Movie Critics, and not movie fans or comic fans. If you are a Comic Book fan, Venom is fun movie that got it right with non-canon origin story. They did it right with not having Spider-Man in the film. If you are a movie fan, it was a fun story that told a point of view of an Anti-Hero on the TV as a street reporter and then an Anti-Hero with a man eating symbiote attached. I cannot wait for Venom 2 with Carnage!!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
cadellOct 13, 2018
It might not be an elaborate storytelling masterpiece, but I thoroughly enjoyed it and would watch it again.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
TrumpetBoiZOct 23, 2018
omfg this movie is so epic. I wish venom could live in me so he could solve my erectile dysfunction issues. Every day I wake up wishing I could have morning wood but I'm as soft as my grandmama. Venom is the only person who can get me hard anymore
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
RespectedPersonOct 23, 2018
This movie is as good as the song by Eminem which is epic and my mum says im not allowed to listen to it but that doesn't stop me. The movie is bad. Bad. Bad. Bad. Bad characters and bad script. oh and bad CGI. Overall pretty bad. Best partThis movie is as good as the song by Eminem which is epic and my mum says im not allowed to listen to it but that doesn't stop me. The movie is bad. Bad. Bad. Bad. Bad characters and bad script. oh and bad CGI. Overall pretty bad. Best part was hearing pusha T say Yeugh in the song at the start Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
SlyFoxOct 7, 2018
Good enough. Worth the money. Glad to see Tom Hardy without a mask(I was worrying how it will be). But he did it very well. It was interesting. It was funny ).
11 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
7
Davis3DOct 7, 2018
Very enjoyable. Not a horror film, but more like an action comedy. Definitely not 3/10 like the critics are rating it.
11 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
8
KorastusOct 6, 2018
Rad as hell, and a ton of fun. Tom Hardy delivers excellent dual performances and Venom looks phenomenal. It's a full origin story (which the film uses the Life Foundation to tell without Spider-Man, doing a pretty solid job of it) so it mayRad as hell, and a ton of fun. Tom Hardy delivers excellent dual performances and Venom looks phenomenal. It's a full origin story (which the film uses the Life Foundation to tell without Spider-Man, doing a pretty solid job of it) so it may start a little slow for some. As a long time fan of Venom, I had a great time and I'm very excited for more. Expand
9 of 10 users found this helpful91
All this user's reviews
7
bfoore90Oct 6, 2018
Not bad by any means, has alot of flaws but for the most part it's a good movie. The cast is fine, Tom Hardy is great as Eddie Brock, Riz Ahmed plays is a fine villain but Jenny Slate is criminally underutilized in a side role. The secondNot bad by any means, has alot of flaws but for the most part it's a good movie. The cast is fine, Tom Hardy is great as Eddie Brock, Riz Ahmed plays is a fine villain but Jenny Slate is criminally underutilized in a side role. The second half is where things start to get dicey but overall, I enjoyed it Expand
9 of 10 users found this helpful91
All this user's reviews
6
Ken_HeisenbergOct 5, 2018
It has already been said - this movie is a mess. The main problem is it tries to be a little both of everything - action, comedy, thriller but it ends up being neither. Good CGI and Tom Hardy save the film but still, I just feel that greatIt has already been said - this movie is a mess. The main problem is it tries to be a little both of everything - action, comedy, thriller but it ends up being neither. Good CGI and Tom Hardy save the film but still, I just feel that great potential has been lost due to the bad directing and messy plot (writing). You don't have to be a genius director to know that some things just don't work for example mixing action and comedy works, action and thriller is also OK, but mixing thriller and comedy?! All in all I will just say this - if you don't expect too much of the movie, you will likely enjoy it. Expand
9 of 10 users found this helpful91
All this user's reviews
10
thisseatofmarsOct 7, 2018
"Venom" is the best superhero movie I've seen in a long time, partly because it turns the superhero formula on its head. While good, I find The Dark Knight movies usually too intense and serious, while most Marvel movies are too"Venom" is the best superhero movie I've seen in a long time, partly because it turns the superhero formula on its head. While good, I find The Dark Knight movies usually too intense and serious, while most Marvel movies are too tongue-in-cheek for my liking. It's interesting then that this film, about a character who looks like a demon from Hell, manages to strike that perfect balance between being dark, intense, and light humour. I walked out of the cinema smiling: I haven't had this good a time at the movies in a while. Part of that is because Venom, as a character, is so much fun: he is a real monster. He eats the brains of his foes and his voice could make the Predator wet himself. But it's not all dark and intense: Venom is *likeable.* He doesn't make quips; he's earnest. If Venom isn't telling the hero to eat the brains of villains he is egging the hero on to get back with his ex-girlfriend. That is *genius,* and this interest that Venom has in people leads to some fantastic moments in the movie. There's a scene where Venom convinces the hero to apologize to the ex, and the hero does so, ending resentment between the two. When this happens Venom says, completely unironically, "Aw. That's nice."

I love Venom, the character, and watching him interact with the people around him is just as entertaining as the insane fight scenes where he is decimating whole teams of armoured, armed men (which are beautifully spectacular, by the way). Venom is charismatic and fascinating; I'd love to see more of him interacting with Eddie Brock (the film's protagonist character) and seeing the conversations they'd have. I have to commend the filmmakers on Venom's design: he is huge and brutal and he animates beautifully, from the saliva dripping from his lizard tongue to his creepy, bulbous eyes. Venom should always have that insane, rictus grin on his face; I never like seeing Venom in the comics without it. Having Venom wearing the grin throughout the movie was definitely the right way to go. Even the way Venom prowls and hurls himself through the city bleeds with character: Venom is originally a dark mirror to Spiderman, but while Spiderman swings gracefully, Venom proves he has his own brutal style just by the way he gets around.

Tom Hardy is a great actor and his talent delivers the human element of the movie. He's played Bane in Batman and Max in Mad Max; here demonstrates further range by playing humorous scenes and the fish out of water character of Eddie Brock, who is utterly bewildered by becoming the host to Venom. Michelle Williams is great as Brock's ex; she is spunky and tough and Hardy and Williams work well together. But Venom steals the show. The chemistry between Venom and Brock is more interesting than the chemistry between Brock and the love interest.

The opening of the film is somewhat slow, but they have a lot to set up. The post-credits scene features Brock meeting Cletus Cassidy, and Woody Harrelson is the most perfect choice to play the role, but the wig they gave Harrelson was ridiculous. But apart from that, I loved "Venom," and I can't wait to see more. Hopefully it won't be too long before we get a sequel.
Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
Equinox151Oct 8, 2018
The best movie stand alone of a evil character, this is a real venom not like the venom of spiderman 3, im waiting the secuel whit carnage
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
P4INOct 7, 2018
not bad at all. i enjoyed the movie, don't listen to critics.
i love the chemistry of venom and eddy Brock
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
UnikronosOct 8, 2018
Venom is the Second best comic book movie of the year. Totally underrated..
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
6
adam5599Oct 5, 2018
If you turn your brain off and watch this movie then I think you would like it for what it is. Personally I think this movie deserves a 6/10. My biggest gripe with it is the plot/ It starts way too slowly and it ends way too quickly. TheIf you turn your brain off and watch this movie then I think you would like it for what it is. Personally I think this movie deserves a 6/10. My biggest gripe with it is the plot/ It starts way too slowly and it ends way too quickly. The action is not that good either, very poorly edited. The best part is whenever there is Venom on the screen, he looks cool and some of the jokes do hit the spot for me. Expand
11 of 13 users found this helpful112
All this user's reviews
7
yekimevolOct 8, 2018
Once again we see that the movie reviewers are out of touch with the general public. You’ve got Tom Hardy in another great performance, some decent comedy value and good action sequences. Whilst it may not be a ground breaking awe inspiringOnce again we see that the movie reviewers are out of touch with the general public. You’ve got Tom Hardy in another great performance, some decent comedy value and good action sequences. Whilst it may not be a ground breaking awe inspiring movie it was enjoyable not the 35 score they have giving it. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
7
ARGuyOct 6, 2018
Now I'm a big fan of Marvel movies and characters such as Venom. I saw that the critics who watched the movie did not like it, so I decided to watch the Venom movie and give my opinion about it. And I have to say, it's pretty alright.

I
Now I'm a big fan of Marvel movies and characters such as Venom. I saw that the critics who watched the movie did not like it, so I decided to watch the Venom movie and give my opinion about it. And I have to say, it's pretty alright.

I enjoyed a lot of the goofy and silly scenes, but venom is more of a dark comedic type of alien. It would have been better if the movie was rated R to add in those extra 40 minutes of dark scenes that would have made the movie better. The story was a little bit too long and a little unnecessary. The one unnecessary part is where he breaks up with his ex, gets fired and etc. It doesn't tell us about Eddie's character. It's just drama that was added in there. I would feel empathy, remorse and another type of sympathetic feelings for him if they built off of the characters a bit more in the beginning and told/showed us more about the person to get more invested in them. But they don't and I feel very little for them. Another thing is that I don't like the villain that much. Sometimes the movie would have a thing about him that I'm supposed to get interested in, but I really don't get that interested because it isn't that interesting. He also has a common motive, but something that we the audience can't really relate to. I mean, of course, he wants to, "Save the planet from extinction" but that's a motive that many people have and it isn't unique or interesting in any way. The story was linear and went straight forward, but it did not do so well in explaining the characters moving forward and trying to make us establish bonds with them. The only good things about this movie are some of the funny scenes/action scenes, the actors, and the venom redesign. Especially the venom redesign. I mean it's like Sony looked back at Spider-Man 3 and said, "We can fix this." and then did it and they did an excellent job with the redesign of venom, especially with the great additional vocal talent by Tom Hardy. But, sadly it doesn't make up for the mess of a movie. It seems like it is in between of being a comedy superhero film and a dark comedy superhero film. But as if now, it's just a neat little movie with a relationship between a dude and an alien. It isn't worth the massive hype, but it is still pretty enjoyable to watch.

GRADE: C
Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
slorkingOct 10, 2018
I was pretty excited about this once it was announced that Tom Hardy would be playing the titular character in this film. However, I gotta say that while it's no fault of Hardy's (he did the best with what he was given), the film ended upI was pretty excited about this once it was announced that Tom Hardy would be playing the titular character in this film. However, I gotta say that while it's no fault of Hardy's (he did the best with what he was given), the film ended up being pretty average to me overall, with mediocre effects during several moments, very rushed plotting and pacing, and a lot to be desired. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
8
GreenApple131Oct 7, 2018
Not bad film with some good jokes and excellent actor Tom Hardy. Symbiote has charisma, own position in this history. I like director`s work with camera position and gamma in Venom. Film have little defects but its awesome. The worst is PG-13(
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
7
jskpkOct 9, 2018
The plot is just ok, but Tom is just amazing. Definitely not as bad as some of the media claimed.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
ProtagorasOct 7, 2018
The critics are being really unfair to this one. I don't know what they were expecting it to be other than a pretty entertaining superhero movie which it is. I thought the symbiote was really funny and I'll come back for a better reviewThe critics are being really unfair to this one. I don't know what they were expecting it to be other than a pretty entertaining superhero movie which it is. I thought the symbiote was really funny and I'll come back for a better review later. Right now I'm just doing my duty helping to correct a DEAD WRONG CRITIC SCORE and letting people know that it's worth seeing, unlike the unwatchable garbage that the critics will try to trick you into seeing instead. It's not really a ten, in fairness I'd probably give it a 7.5. And it's funny, maybe not Thor Ragnarok funny but it got a fair amount of laughs out of a guy who rarely laughs at the movies. The 10 is really just there to help thwart that 35/100 that is the average score given by 44 people with either a hidden agenda, unfair expectations, or just plain bad taste. Oh and Venom, if you're reading this I have a recommendation for your next 44 meals... Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
Skiner111Oct 6, 2018
Посмотрев фильм, у меня были смешанные чувства, скорее всего из-за завышенных ожиданий, так как фильм основан на комиксах Venom: Lethal Protector и Venom: Separation Anxiety я надеялся что в фильме смогут показать и раскрыть каждого изПосмотрев фильм, у меня были смешанные чувства, скорее всего из-за завышенных ожиданий, так как фильм основан на комиксах Venom: Lethal Protector и Venom: Separation Anxiety я надеялся что в фильме смогут показать и раскрыть каждого из отпрысков венома, но в итоге показали только одного антагониста. Сюжет фильма можно было узнать посмотрев пару трейлеров, но и были моменты которые приятно удивили. Также стоить отметить довольно не плохой юмор в фильме, но к сожалению его слишком много, и хотелось бы чтобы фильм был посерьёзнее. В целом фильм не так уж и плох как его раскритиковали, пусть он и заслуживает 7/10, но я поставлю ему 10 надеясь что снимут достойное продолжение. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
EEM86Oct 7, 2018
I had a great time watching this film. You will laugh a lot and go on a cool ride with Venom.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
venomfanOct 5, 2018
amazing movie love tom hardy role in it is awesome , all fight sequences are amazing ,don't understand why critics hating it so much enjoy as much as ant man and the wasp
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
10
BruceWayne98Oct 6, 2018
Great movie, very entertaining, very good visual effects and venom and tom hardy are the cane
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
9
TryASummersaultOct 7, 2018
Venom is an ambitiously accurate portrayal of the anti hero comic character that sets itself apart from the tired and formulaic MCU as a highly entertaining standalone origin story. While it may break away from the comics slightly by notVenom is an ambitiously accurate portrayal of the anti hero comic character that sets itself apart from the tired and formulaic MCU as a highly entertaining standalone origin story. While it may break away from the comics slightly by not including the Spiderman origin story, the true characterization integrity within Eddie Brock/Venom is bombastic and extremely close to source material. The story alteration might even improve the overall direction of this new standalone Venom series because now we can truly focus on Brock/venom and not have Parker/Spiderman constantly take away from his attention. I believe we’ve had enough of Spiderman, and honestly after the travesty that was Homecoming imho, I’m fine with that for now. Venom starts off with a bang and we get some nice new aspects to how the symbiotes came to be in this earth as well as some great character development of Eddie Brock’s life before Venom. Let me just say that Tom Hardy Makes this entire film work with a completely passionately versatile performance showing immense acting talent like he always does. Once Eddie Brock achieves full symbiosis, it becomes an absolutely intense and fun experience to witness, and it really brought me back to the old comics. I’ve been a fan of venom for nearly 30 years and I can honestly say they nailed the relationship between Brock and venom, and it’s damn right awesome to see it on the big screen. The action never lets up after that and there were some insanely well done sequences full of amazing visuals. I honestly thought the CGI use for venom looked spectacular, and about as good as you could have it. The unexpected X factor of this film was it’s hilariously twisted dialogue between Brock and venom, and honestly at times it was almost charming in a way. While there were a few bits that were absolutely ridiculous I was able to overlook those few and far between moments. I thought Riz Ahmed what is a serviceable enough Carlton drake/riot, and played the conniving billionaire villain decently. I do think the plot was a bit rushed towards the end, but the finale was very exciting regardless. The post credit scene leaves you with an incredible sense of anticipation for the next venom installment as it introduces one of the most violent and brutal characters in all of comics. I did however think he was going to be in this film a lot more and was slightly disappointed ,but when I know what the future holds, I can forget about that slight nitpick. Another huge aspect of this film that breaks away from the safe MCU formula, is its sheer visceral brutality minus any blood really. They actually did a great job on a PG-13 rating making it still a very dark and violent film with some outstanding body horror sequences. I do really hope that they will go for an R rating for the sequel once carnage starts wreaking pure havoc. They would benefit so much from making it R rated. Overall an excellent origin tale,and a surprisingly funny film that deserves a ton of credit for going against the grain and breaking out of MCU formulas to start its own Venom universe. I cannot wait for the next film. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
10
ProteusOct 9, 2018
Wow people don't read the duh mass critics on this! Venom is great, funny, entertaining and classic comic book style movie that makes total sense start to finish and doesn't try to be something it's not.

Gotta believe this movie will have
Wow people don't read the duh mass critics on this! Venom is great, funny, entertaining and classic comic book style movie that makes total sense start to finish and doesn't try to be something it's not.

Gotta believe this movie will have legs and lasting power beyond the theater release. Kids of all ages will immediately get the whole premise.
Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
7
ChiyouOct 6, 2018
This movie has some salvageable parts. Eddie Brock looks like he just woke up from the beginning of the movie when he's a successful reporter to the end of the movie where he's possessed by a parasite that makes him devour human flesh. TomThis movie has some salvageable parts. Eddie Brock looks like he just woke up from the beginning of the movie when he's a successful reporter to the end of the movie where he's possessed by a parasite that makes him devour human flesh. Tom Hardy does a good job with a terrible script, and his dialogue to Venom become one of the few highlights in the film. The worst part is the performance from Reid Scott. It was a completely ham fisted and corny performance with a terrible script. Eddie's girlfriend also had some very weak performance.

The movie is really violent for a pg-13 film, the death scene of a homeless person who was infected with a parasite was actually pretty disturbing, Venom/Eddie literally eats police officer's heads.. It's a strange but interesting movie and I hope they have a chance to rectify some of the mistakes and make the sequel.
Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
8
d1v4dOct 6, 2018
The dynamic between Eddie and Venom was interesting and very compelling — it would've been great to see more of that. With that being said, from about midway through the film and onwards, things progressed a little too quickly which didThe dynamic between Eddie and Venom was interesting and very compelling — it would've been great to see more of that. With that being said, from about midway through the film and onwards, things progressed a little too quickly which did hinder the narrative's pacing and appeal. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
7
wrightjeffOct 5, 2018
This movie was just what should have been expected of it - quippy, chock-full of CGI, and a pretty good time to boot. I specifically think that those viewers who are fans of the comic book character are going to like this. I think, too,This movie was just what should have been expected of it - quippy, chock-full of CGI, and a pretty good time to boot. I specifically think that those viewers who are fans of the comic book character are going to like this. I think, too, that people who like comic book movies are going to enjoy it as well. If you arbitrarily need an R rating to justify your interest or enjoyment? Well, you might not like it. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
10
jacob4Oct 6, 2018
Though not as bright and friendly like Spider-Man Venom still was an entertaining unique kind of film. Venom isn't quite supposed to be a comedic character but I guess that just adds a new unique personality to Venom's character. The symbioteThough not as bright and friendly like Spider-Man Venom still was an entertaining unique kind of film. Venom isn't quite supposed to be a comedic character but I guess that just adds a new unique personality to Venom's character. The symbiote effects are amazing and the fights scenes are intense and crazy. Even if its not connected to the MCU it was still a super fun ride to kick off a separate franchise and adventure. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
9
MadMaxFuryRoadOct 6, 2018
Venom is definitely one of the better Marvel movies. Funny, intense, and even quite emotional, the film definitely kept me entertained throughout. The movie was way too short though and it did feel very rushed. However overall, Tom Hardy’sVenom is definitely one of the better Marvel movies. Funny, intense, and even quite emotional, the film definitely kept me entertained throughout. The movie was way too short though and it did feel very rushed. However overall, Tom Hardy’s amazing acting and the brilliant action sequences left me satisfied. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
7
TheSpartonOct 5, 2018
I’m not a Spider-Man fan, so I don’t really care about it being “canon” and I don’t know much about Venom’s backstory either. As a film on it’s own, I actually enjoyed it. Tom Hardy’s dark humour fit perfectly. The symbiots are cool, veryI’m not a Spider-Man fan, so I don’t really care about it being “canon” and I don’t know much about Venom’s backstory either. As a film on it’s own, I actually enjoyed it. Tom Hardy’s dark humour fit perfectly. The symbiots are cool, very sci-fi. Reminded me of Aliens. No where near the best of Marvel’s own films but it’s definateky entertaining. Awesome post credit cameo too... Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
10
KevinChau5Oct 5, 2018
Awesome film! Don't listen what critics say, go out and enjoy this film! Tom Hardy was awesome in this film!
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
10
MarisciaOct 6, 2018
I have no idea why critics hate this movie so much. Funny, entertaining, interesting, great fight scenes, perfect Tom Hardy performance. It looks like a great mix of Marvel and DC movies.I really hope that critics were just wrong, but notI have no idea why critics hate this movie so much. Funny, entertaining, interesting, great fight scenes, perfect Tom Hardy performance. It looks like a great mix of Marvel and DC movies.I really hope that critics were just wrong, but not paid for hatred. I'm gonna see it again on a big screen. Totally worth it. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
6
D1edYoungOct 5, 2018
This film is very funny and actionly, but script is bad. Tom Hardy played great, symbiot is excellent, very good graphics
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
7
mikefaiscaOct 6, 2018
Critics were unfair with this movie. If you are in doubt about going or not going to see "Venom", please just go, I guanrantee that you will not regret it. The movie may not be amazing or fantastic, but it certainly is fun, and it has itsCritics were unfair with this movie. If you are in doubt about going or not going to see "Venom", please just go, I guanrantee that you will not regret it. The movie may not be amazing or fantastic, but it certainly is fun, and it has its strong points, like Eddie Brock and Venom`s relationship. It had some great action scenes with a good CGI. It is also very funny, im pretty sure that everyone that saw the movie, even if they disliked it, laughed atleast some 3 or 4 times. The villain was not well explored, same as the relationship between Eddie and his girlfriend. Still, a solid 7.5, definitely a good movie that will entertain you and even make you laugh. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
10
KoteLove33Oct 6, 2018
I'm ignoring the critics. They can go watch Topher Grace play Eddie Brock. I loved the movie. It's not an Oscar contender, true, but it's entertaining, fun, funny, and our group of 6 enjoyed it. People will pick everything apart in moviesI'm ignoring the critics. They can go watch Topher Grace play Eddie Brock. I loved the movie. It's not an Oscar contender, true, but it's entertaining, fun, funny, and our group of 6 enjoyed it. People will pick everything apart in movies these days until they find nothing enjoyable about them. I'd rather enjoy myself and not expect perfection. I wanted fun, action, comical Venom and I got it. I'm happy. Bring on the sequel! Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
9
AlphaThreatOct 8, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Venom is WAY better than most of these negative reviews are saying. It is a fantastic, but quick, ride to the introduction of Venom in the MCU. It was obvious why Sony went PG13 so they had some kind of way of HOPEFULLY getting Venom in a Spider-Man film or vice versa BUT even with the PG13 rating you still get what makes Venom fun...... A friggin comic book character biting off people's heads!!!.....literally, in the movie he is eating people on screen.

Venom had a ton of fun moments including the standout introduction of Venom fully formed on screen using powers of all sorts. The inevitable comedic moments were great, and one may be the funniest comedic moment of ALL comic book films for me on screen when Venom asks Eddie to jump from a high building. It actually made me laugh out loud, along with just about all the other movie goers there with me, maybe 20 people at a Monday 11am showing.

The ending setup for a future villain is amazing due to their INCREDIBLE casting of Venom's biggest, most sadistic villain. This movie is fantastic good fun and I can't wait for the inevitable sequel.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
hipzilla702Oct 6, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. No idea what movie everyone else saw. Is this film perfect, no.  Hardly any movie is ever perfect.  So, I really don't understand why this movie has so much hate.  But the film provided much character depth to Eddie Brock that allowed you to get to know his life, while still going forward with the movie.   While yes, Venom's backstoy leaves you wanting more, we do still get an idea of what his species is like, how they work, and overall what their goals are. That can easily be expanded on in the future. It was just under a 2-hour movie trying to cram together years of storyline from the comic books, and I felt like they were successful. Giving us a strong foundation, while still sitting up a future sequel.  The speed and action of the film was really consistent, without any dull moments.  My first and foremost major concern with the film was the lack of Spider-Man. however, the film did an excellent job of setting up a completely different origin Venom without the web Slinger that I can honestly say I am happy with.  It does not fit in our traditional sense of how Venom comes to be, but I find it truly acceptable.  ***Spoilers ahead***  the only major concerns I can see what the film is the sudden shift from the Symbiote wanting to Simply stay alive, and then turning sharply into wanting to stay on Earth with Eddie. Granted it was difficult to try and convey that thought process with so much else going on, I feel like at least a little bit more depth to it would have really helped the film.  but at least we did get somewhat of an understanding, and knowing that Venom is actually a weaker, and loser, among his species. So having the chance to shine and be a superior being for once, does answer some of those questions. A lot of people seem to be really confused about the medical examination results. And which Eddie is shown to be dying and the doctor believes that the Symbiote is killing him. While this is proven that other hosts were being slowly killed off by their symbiotes, those test subjects were not being properly fed. and also with Venom stating that the doctor did not know what he was talking about, and that he can cure it, gives away a lot of Clues. In the comic books, Eddie contracts a rare and deadly form of cancer. The cancer slowly eats away at his body and the only thing keeping him alive was the Venom symbiote. So I'm almost positive that the thing that is actually killing his body will turn out to be cancer and has nothing to do with Venom. plus, it is doubtful that Eddie had ever had such a massive examination before gaining the Symbiote. So it is highly unlikely that they would have ever even noticed cancer eating away his body prior to that.  Also, a lot of people are complaining about the fact that Venom was able to bond with other beings besides Eddie. However the bonding was only temporary to others. He had also gone through several hosts at this point, and probably learn to at least temporarily coexist with an inferior match.  Riot, however was a extremely different case. Yes, we saw him take on several hosts throughout the film but it was a completely different method. His hosts were more like prisoners. There was not a bonding process, and seem to be more like a possession. Which seem to fit his character very well, considering he was like a general among his species and one of the strongest. He apparently did not need to have a perfect host in order to bond. it was not until the end of the film that he actually found a kindred spirit and the two of them were able to work together.  Beyond these minor issues, the film did not have many. For some reason, the critics have chosen to be extremely harsh on this film. I don't know if it's because people in general seem to hate Sony films, or if the reviewers have become jaded with superhero films all together. Regardless, I suggest to everyone go watch the movie. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
FrenchToastOct 10, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Enjoyed the movie but the lack of an R rating really detracted from it, and you could tell from some of the action scenes and humor. It has funny elements but one of the lines near the end was incredibly cringy and I felt the chase scene of Venom/Tom Hardy lasted too long. I didn't mind the 'villain' and feel the film lends itself well to a sequel. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
6
The_Man_XXOct 10, 2018
I liked Venom it was a fun, exciting time and if anyone hasn’t seen it they should go and watch it for themselves and come up with their own opinion of the movie.
Now what I liked MOST about Venom was not the action, nor the CGI or the Venom
I liked Venom it was a fun, exciting time and if anyone hasn’t seen it they should go and watch it for themselves and come up with their own opinion of the movie.
Now what I liked MOST about Venom was not the action, nor the CGI or the Venom character itself but the way how the movie sets up the Eddie Brock character in the beginning of the movie and the world around him before the Venom craziness happens, now it’s nothing Oscar worthy like that but it was really well done and I always appreciate when Superhero movies builds up the character development of the main protagonist and this is the movie’s strength as it makes you sympathize and understand Eddie Brock’s character before the comic book stuff happens and y’all already know Tom Hardy brings his all to the role.
The supporting cast was also fine it was a small cast and it worked for the movie especially Michelle Williams who played Eddie’s girlfriend how was fine in the role and thankfully she wasn’t some damsel in distress and was significant to the story. The humour was also well done in the movie as the movie does a better job of handling humour better than most Marvel Studio movies as in no way did I feel that the humour was out of place at all and with the funniest character being Tom hardy as Eddie Brock’s encounters with the Venom symbiote at the beginning would make some funny interactions with other characters. The action was very fun especially with chase scene that would make the Mission impossible movies proud.

For the Venom character before I say anything else yes Tom hardy’s portrayal of Venom was better than Topher Grace’s performance in Spider-Man 3. Venom was awesome he looked great, the voice was also great, most of the action scenes involving Venom were exciting, brutal and fun and funny…yes funny. Also, the way how they explained the Symbiotes was fine with the movie explaining its origins, weaknesses and characteristics. Another very important this was that not once did I wish for Spider-Man to be in the movie (would have been awesome if he was in tin though) as the movie does a believable job of telling Venom’s story without Spider-Man and the movie was fine without the R-rating nuff said.

What I did like about the movie or the “bad thing” about Venom was mostly the third half I don’t know what happened but the last 40 minutes the movie was rushed had clunky action scenes and let me not get into the final battle or sequence of the movie cause it was just a big CGI mess with Venom vs Riot which was very hard to focus on especially with the movie being 3D,also some big plot holes involving characters happen and the villain…oh boy the villain, now Riz Ahmed who was the villain wasn’t the problem the movie was, Riz character Drake had an okay reason for being a villain but it was never expanded on and ended up being a generic villain and another forgettable Superhero movie villain and when he became Riot the other symbiote character(Venom’s enemy) it didn’t help as his interactions with Venom were cheesy as hell and again the action scenes were clunky and messy.
The second half wasn’t as nearly as good as the first half of the movie with very little down time as you are being thrust into action scene after action like a Michael Bay Transformers movie. The time management in the second half was messy and rushed to say the least. There was a very weird scene between Venom and Eddie that happened (you’ll know when you see it) and the story just wraps up outta nowhere as well.

So, to conclude Venom is a fun porn-corn movie with fun action scenes, good humour, a well-done performance by Tom Hardy, and cool end credit scene however the last third of the movie was rushed and clunky. As I said if you haven’t seen it yet go see it and come up with your own opinion.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
AleMasterOct 5, 2018
Фильм зашел!!! Офигенная игра Тома Харди в союзе с Веномом. Сюжет интересный и не такой однозначный, как кажется в первое время. Шутки Венома просто в тему. Есть проблемы с графикой Венома, но они не такие значительные на фоне всегоФильм зашел!!! Офигенная игра Тома Харди в союзе с Веномом. Сюжет интересный и не такой однозначный, как кажется в первое время. Шутки Венома просто в тему. Есть проблемы с графикой Венома, но они не такие значительные на фоне всего остального. Баллов 8 баллов этот фильм заслуживает!) Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
RyanowenwellsOct 8, 2018
This isn't so bad i don't know what people were complaining about the action is good apart from maybe the 3rd act but a lot of good superhero movies have a bad 3rd act and the dark humor and the relationship between Eddie and Venom is veryThis isn't so bad i don't know what people were complaining about the action is good apart from maybe the 3rd act but a lot of good superhero movies have a bad 3rd act and the dark humor and the relationship between Eddie and Venom is very good and interesting. Overall wasn't a bad movie and is kind of a good movie Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
GrachechkovskiOct 8, 2018
Medium well movie. Tom Hardy is wonderful, Venom is impressive, Venom's CGI is excellent. The plot is weak, but the humor perfectly compensates for the lack of expected gloom in the film. Stan Lee is best in the end. No blood for all time
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
6
craigmeaselOct 5, 2018
One of Marvel's most enigmatic, complex and badass characters comes to the big screen, starring Academy Award nominated actor Tom Hardy as the lethal protector Venom.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
MsdssOct 6, 2018
I thought it was fantastic. Tom Hardy was excellent as always. Venom's portrayal was amazing. Great action with just the right amount of dark. The mid-credits scene has me very excited. Hopefully all the haters don't screw that up for all theI thought it was fantastic. Tom Hardy was excellent as always. Venom's portrayal was amazing. Great action with just the right amount of dark. The mid-credits scene has me very excited. Hopefully all the haters don't screw that up for all the people who enjoyed it. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
ArdienOct 6, 2018
this is not a bad film , i laughed so hard with it, its a very good film , it remembers me of deadpool. some scenes are cut but its ok, i liked so much tom hardy also.
all fight sequences are just amazing.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
RyanSWagnerOct 7, 2018
Feeling and meaning gives rise to the action and CGI
Throughout the movie they let you understand and feel Brock's character, the people he cares about and why.
When he merges with the symbiote Venom we experience the strangeness of merging
Feeling and meaning gives rise to the action and CGI
Throughout the movie they let you understand and feel Brock's character, the people he cares about and why.

When he merges with the symbiote Venom we experience the strangeness of merging with this other form of life. The symbiote has adapted to survival as have we. It share's the hosts mind and fortunately the person he inhabits is a true hero, one who sacrifices for the greater good. This gives the symbiote a chance to learn something more important for survival than selfishness and responding to fear.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
snorlaxmineOct 5, 2018
Этот фильм точно не заслуживает 10 баллов. Но исходя из того что этот фильм просто убивают негативными отзывами я ставлю 10! ВЕНОМ ШИКАРЕН! Это вам говорю я, заядлый любитель супергеройской тематики. Не слушайте критиков, они лгут. Да кЭтот фильм точно не заслуживает 10 баллов. Но исходя из того что этот фильм просто убивают негативными отзывами я ставлю 10! ВЕНОМ ШИКАРЕН! Это вам говорю я, заядлый любитель супергеройской тематики. Не слушайте критиков, они лгут. Да к фильму можно придраться, но точно не настолько. Мой вердикт: 8,5/10 Я в восторге от всего что было в фильме. Начиная с саунд дизайна и музыкального сопровождения, заканчивая сценами после титров и хорошей игрой актеров. Каждое появление Венома на экране вызывает мурашки и ты максимально чувствуешь всю мощь этого симбиота. Такого я давно не испытывал. Жду продолжения!

Как же жаль что сейчас можно просто завезти денег критикам и они без капли угрызений совести поставят фильму минималку. Да фильм действительно был слит за бабло и этому есть масса доказательств, которые вы сможете найти в интернете погуглив пару секунд.
Expand
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
10
DezmuOct 5, 2018
idk what the issue is here, i found it funny and it honestly felt like it just needed to be longer. It was really great movie i loved the fight scenes with venom. Screw these negative reviews i am on board for the 2nd movie
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
8
keemtOct 6, 2018
This superhero movie was very different and had an intelligent motivation for the villain and Venom, which I love. The many different parts of the movie are all entertaining and the diversity of what each part contains, creates a goodThis superhero movie was very different and had an intelligent motivation for the villain and Venom, which I love. The many different parts of the movie are all entertaining and the diversity of what each part contains, creates a good mixture for a movie experience. My brother didn't like it because he thought the beginning was too slow and long, but I thought it was all part of a good plot and I liked everything except for the relationship scenes. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
7
LJSheltsOct 6, 2018
You can tell the movie is missing that 40 minutes, but for an origin story I’ve seen much worse and was left pleasantly surprised with this film.

Venom/Hardy were great - definitely worth a watch

Hopefully a sequel will prove this to the critics
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
8
GreenScaleOct 6, 2018
A much better movie than the reviews suggest. It's nice to see one of Spider-Man's iconic anti-heroes getting his own film, and it did not disappoint me one bit when I saw it. Humorous lines? Check. Good action scenes? Check. The CGI thatA much better movie than the reviews suggest. It's nice to see one of Spider-Man's iconic anti-heroes getting his own film, and it did not disappoint me one bit when I saw it. Humorous lines? Check. Good action scenes? Check. The CGI that made Venom look real? Check. It's a must-see. And big praise to Tom Hardy's acting. It was near flawless. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
8
rm10Oct 6, 2018
I was a little worried about the critics, but I went to see Venom anyway, because I wanted to since first trailer went out.
The plot could be better. The movie had potential to be better overall, but it does enough to entertain you. It's
I was a little worried about the critics, but I went to see Venom anyway, because I wanted to since first trailer went out.
The plot could be better. The movie had potential to be better overall, but it does enough to entertain you. It's enjoyable, has some good jokes, awesome CGI and actions scenes, and amazing performance from Hardy.
Go see it and have fun! Don't be a **** ;)
Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
8
xsatedxOct 5, 2018
ok so it had issues. but here's the thing: they nailed venom. and in these days of "creative liberty", thats refreshing. i feel like maybe they paid so much attention to venom that the rest of the movie wound up feeling bare, somewhatok so it had issues. but here's the thing: they nailed venom. and in these days of "creative liberty", thats refreshing. i feel like maybe they paid so much attention to venom that the rest of the movie wound up feeling bare, somewhat sparse. but most of the excessive negativity is uncalled for. give it a try, visually it wont dissapoint at all, and its a good if somewhat vague first entry into venoms universe. looking forward to the next two. bring on carnage! Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
8
SKYCLIFFOct 6, 2018
I was shocked that this film have so low rating, i really enjoyed this film,its funny and cool,the actors and "characters" are saving the film, you feel them,
of course its not the best film, there are a lot of stupid things but they dont
I was shocked that this film have so low rating, i really enjoyed this film,its funny and cool,the actors and "characters" are saving the film, you feel them,
of course its not the best film, there are a lot of stupid things but they dont make the film worse!!! why its raiting now is 3?? that's stupid i just hope that there will be second film with these actors
i love it,really i enjoyed every min of this film
Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
8
L0rd_DaniilOct 6, 2018
I think that the film is quite good. Not without flaws, but still. The plot is full of clichés and understatements, but this does not prevent it from being an interesting and rather funny movie.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
8
jalbaOct 8, 2018
Entertaining movie. Acting by Tom Hardy is superb. No idea why they criticize it. I would say one of the better movies of Marvel currently
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
SviatOct 9, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I can't understand why this movie has bad marks from critics.In my opinion,Venom is a great film about famous character in Marvel comic universe.Tom plays well,plot is amazing too.I like this movie and looking forward second part!)) Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
HLeeOct 6, 2018
The movie is fun, you are just mean. Isn't the movie of your life, but Tom Hardy makes a great job.
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
10
RhoSantoroOct 5, 2018
People are getting to much influenced by some "critics" and forgeting to see the movie by themselves. With that first, lets begin.

This movie is awesome. Is better than you think. The story was made very well, with so much space to new
People are getting to much influenced by some "critics" and forgeting to see the movie by themselves. With that first, lets begin.

This movie is awesome. Is better than you think.
The story was made very well, with so much space to new movies with differents symbiontes. The beginning of the film is slow, like you know that at any minute everything is gonna blow up, but that is understandble for the plot and you have to wait. At the moment Eddie gets Venom, the story TRULY begins. Action scenes are awesome and with the rock soundtrack makes even better. Wait for the post credit scenes, if you is a comic book fan, your head's gonna explode.

All the characters are good, some of them have more spotlights than others, but that is normal to all movies. Tom Hardy is incredible in his character as Eddie Brock and is AWESOME as Venom. The bond between then is the icing on the cake. The villain could be more intense, but I liked and convinced me. We are on an era of critic change the mind of people who not see the movie already. People critizes before go watch just because "I saw in internet that was bad so now I think is bad too". We need to change that. Count how many films you like that is bad in critics, how much movies of your childhood and youth and even in your adult life that people put a 0 when makes their review, and that review much of the time is just "Its horrible, dont go see it". The movie IS great, the actors ARE good, Venom IS AWESOME. But not trust me. GO TO THE MOVIES, go see it and make your vision with open mind, but if you go there thinking "i read that is bad, so i'm gonna see already thiking is bad", dont go. Stay home. Go see other movie. Movies are to make us forget about the **** world we live, to make us look and say "holy moly, that was AWESOME" or "that was the most beautiful thing I ever saw". They are there to make different views about things we never thought.

Go to the movies, and make your own conclusions.
Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews