Paramount Pictures | Release Date: November 9, 2018
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 76 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
53
Mixed:
19
Negative:
4
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
LamontRaymondNov 13, 2018
It's better than I thought it would be, but it's essentially without much ambition. For some reason, I was taken by the French Girl, who i figured would have more to say - she doesn't. It's not as scary as I hoped it would be, but it's alsoIt's better than I thought it would be, but it's essentially without much ambition. For some reason, I was taken by the French Girl, who i figured would have more to say - she doesn't. It's not as scary as I hoped it would be, but it's also never boring. Success. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
RtheomNov 10, 2018
Disappointing is how I would best describe this movie. It wasn't a bad movie. In fact, it was pretty good as far as general movie standards go for the most part. Unfortunately I was expecting a lot more than what I got. It hints at somethingDisappointing is how I would best describe this movie. It wasn't a bad movie. In fact, it was pretty good as far as general movie standards go for the most part. Unfortunately I was expecting a lot more than what I got. It hints at something far more interesting than just a generic World War 2 zombie movie, but never gets past that. If that's all that you're looking for, you'll probably find this movie enjoyable. If you're looking for some interesting, creative horror, then you most definitely will be disappointed as I was.

It feels like they blew most of the movie's effects budget on the first act, which was pretty spectacular, but made for a pretty lackluster generic and very predictable second act. I was expecting something a little more fascinating from J.J. Abrams and instead got his most tame, "general audience pleaser" yet.

Skip this in the theater. Catch it on Netflix but make sure you have something else to do while you put this on in the background. There's no real reason to give this one your full attention.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
DodgerNov 13, 2018
3.5/10 rounded up.

This movie didnt seem able to decide if it wanted to be a fully hammed up B movie or a more serious ww2 movie, and just ended up being a dissapointing combination of the two. Reasonable acting and the first 5-10 minutes
3.5/10 rounded up.

This movie didnt seem able to decide if it wanted to be a fully hammed up B movie or a more serious ww2 movie, and just ended up being a dissapointing combination of the two.

Reasonable acting and the first 5-10 minutes are good.

Massive historical innacuracies combined with a lack of a reasonable plot and extremely bad story explanation means this is a "watch when it comes to netflix" movie.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
Brent_MarchantNov 11, 2018
A movie that suffers from a major identity crisis -- is it a classic horror flick? A World War II drama? A campy gorefest romp? Well, it's actually all of these to some extent or another, and the fusion never really meshes as audiences try toA movie that suffers from a major identity crisis -- is it a classic horror flick? A World War II drama? A campy gorefest romp? Well, it's actually all of these to some extent or another, and the fusion never really meshes as audiences try to guess where this boring, meandering slog is going to go next. From my perspective, it works best as a campy gorefest, something it finally gets around to being about 30 minutes from the end. Had it stuck to this formula throughout, it would have been a much more entertaining picture. As it stands now, though, it doesn't seem to know what it wants to be, and that, unfortunately, represents a major missed opportunity. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ArmandoSaucedaNov 13, 2018
Explosive effects, action, and entertaining as hell. There is no character development yet Overlord doesn't try to be anything other than what it is. Overlord nails a modern "B action" movie with a great production team and masterful acting.Explosive effects, action, and entertaining as hell. There is no character development yet Overlord doesn't try to be anything other than what it is. Overlord nails a modern "B action" movie with a great production team and masterful acting. Think Tarantino's and Rodriguez's "Grindhouse" but better. This movie is a good time and if you read what the actors and director were trying to deliver, they nailed it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
moviemitch96Nov 9, 2018
This film looked pretty crazy to me, so I was interested to see just how it would go down. It involved a small group of American soldiers being dropped behind enemy lines during the D-Day invasion...but with a twist! The Nazis are performingThis film looked pretty crazy to me, so I was interested to see just how it would go down. It involved a small group of American soldiers being dropped behind enemy lines during the D-Day invasion...but with a twist! The Nazis are performing supernatural experiments on their prisoners to use against the American soldiers. While this was an interesting idea and it definitely proved a wild ride on several occasions, in the end it felt like nothing too spectacular or memorable to me, not to mention there were several predictable jump scares almost anyone will see coming from a mile away. Combining genres can be effective sometimes, but in this case, crossing a war film with a zombie/supernatural thriller proved pretty scattershot and a little too all over the place for my liking. Overall, it's fun at times, but also pretty messy and chaotic as a whole (both literally and figuratively speaking.) Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
Moviereviewer15Nov 9, 2018
Nazi Zombies getting their asses kicked in IMAX with the guy from Fences and Fitz from Agents of SHIELD.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Nov 10, 2018
Man, is it good to get an original movie in every now and then. Don't get me wrong, I like me some franchise films, true-to-life stories, and some literary adaptations. But after the amount of mediocre entries we've had in the aboveMan, is it good to get an original movie in every now and then. Don't get me wrong, I like me some franchise films, true-to-life stories, and some literary adaptations. But after the amount of mediocre entries we've had in the above categories, you have to find time for a nice change of pace. Dear God, was this that. Supremely well-crafted period elements and set pieces. Addictingly satisfying horror underpinnings. And an amazing bunch of characters/performances. One of the very few movies I've seen this year that I didn't want to end. More please. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
8
dchipps1945Nov 10, 2018
There is no point in pointing out that Nazi atrocities actually occurred, or that cliches abound here. Everyone knows that! What this movie delivers is Nazis, atrocities, and lots of cliches, done in the way lovers of schlocky horror/sci-fi,There is no point in pointing out that Nazi atrocities actually occurred, or that cliches abound here. Everyone knows that! What this movie delivers is Nazis, atrocities, and lots of cliches, done in the way lovers of schlocky horror/sci-fi, like me, love. I'd personally much rather have these cliches dug up every few years than sit though yet another post-apocalyptic, dystopian-future zombie flick. I'll take the WWII hardware and tech over present or future stuff any day. Don't criticize this film because it doesn't satisfy your aesthetic or moral tastes. The acting is solid, the story can be followed, and the monsters and gore and exploding Nazis are wild fun. Period. Best Nazi horror/sci-fi since Iron Sky. I'm gonna see it again. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
Lambo442Nov 9, 2018
This film was absolutely incredible, like Wolfenstein the movie, on crack. Thoroughly entertaining, didn't take itself too seriously, but still managed to be hard-hitting and intense. All the elements were there, solid acting, great pacing,This film was absolutely incredible, like Wolfenstein the movie, on crack. Thoroughly entertaining, didn't take itself too seriously, but still managed to be hard-hitting and intense. All the elements were there, solid acting, great pacing, awesome special effects. Some of the imagery was brilliantly disturbing. Ok so it relies heavily on cliche, with your typical, 2-dimensional nazi foot-soldiers stomping around, carrying out crazy experiments etc, but that's what we love, right? For me this has all the makings of a cult classic that I'll be watching again and again. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
hyrosenNov 11, 2018
Terrible movie. Anachronistic integrated and unracist army. Plot by poor decision making. Tropes, not characters. Boring and predictable.
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
8
Creeper3455Nov 10, 2018
(Spoilers I guess? for Mandy,so look out)
Overlord will be produced by JJ Abrams (Super 8 and Star Wars The Force Awakens),QUICK! Start all the Cloverfield Universe theories before it’s too late! Alright,all jokes aside,uhh...What’s to say
(Spoilers I guess? for Mandy,so look out)
Overlord will be produced by JJ Abrams (Super 8 and Star Wars The Force Awakens),QUICK! Start all the Cloverfield Universe theories before it’s too late! Alright,all jokes aside,uhh...What’s to say really about Overlord,other than it’s a gorefest full of moments so fun you could make a poem about it and just use the adjective FUN for every word? Or,you know,just stick to the song from SpongeBob about Fun….
This will probably be a tough one to review,since everything about it was full of wonderment,right down to the script,which manages to keep a fair balance between action,campiness and straight up horror stuff. Like,hell...If you’ll see the Paramount logo in black and white,followed by a Fallout-ish opening,you know you’ll be in for a ride.
It’s a Saving Private Ryan-esque story mashed with a B-Movie plot about Zombinazis and immortal beings that should feel like they had two different movies and the studio mashed them together...But NO. This is reality,oh holy TNTs!
It’s also surprisingly easy to follow,considering it’s a (sort of) War Movie,and usually these kind of movies have a tough time to let the audience follow the story
Even the cinematography is to be praised,as director Julius Avery said they wanted to do this whole minute of “just a shot” on purpose,and it felt crazy for the director,but hey,you have JJ Abrams as a producer,so of course everything can happen in Production. This whole minute of ‘Just a Shot’ is just as intense as the ‘just a shot’ in Mandy where Nic Cage is mourning for the death of his wife.
And all the violence in this movie,man… Like,2018 is proving to be a violent year for independent movies. Revenge started the year with a girl shooting a guy’s arm in a non-American style,followed by Mandy with a scene where Nic Cage rips a guy’s head in MASS INSANITY (alongside a glorious Chainsaw Fight),and now here we have Overlord,with a guy’s head exploding through a grenade in his mouth,a gal’s head and spine trapped that can still talk (with some serious RoboCop 2014 vibes) and a badass lady shooting a zombie with a flamethrower (just as epic as the last shot in A Quiet Place,I might say). And no matter how simple it is,but Jed Kurzel’s take on a bad guy theme will always be fun to hear,with those threatening violins going in a serious and...Well,”threatening” way.
If I had to point some flaws,just the fact that for the first 40 mins or so,the movie is overly dark. I didn’t have a problem with it,but it may be annoying for some viewers.
And the sound reel I had in my theater (a traditional Digital Theater) feels like it belongs to an IMAX copy of it (which makes sense,considering the release of the movie in IMAX,although in Italy we don’t have it,what the hell?).
But above the flaws… Roses are red,Violets are blue,Birds are chirping through the clouds,Overlord is super fun and depending on your point of view,you’re destined to have a great time at this ‘what is supposed to be’ Trashy War B-Movie.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Davrosdaleks1Nov 10, 2018
Overlord is about a group of WWII soldiers who encounter evil Nazi zombie experiments in an occupied French town. I walked into this having already heard positive reviews, but I was still surprised at how much I liked this. The thing is thatOverlord is about a group of WWII soldiers who encounter evil Nazi zombie experiments in an occupied French town. I walked into this having already heard positive reviews, but I was still surprised at how much I liked this. The thing is that the basic story is predictable. Everything happens like you'd think it would happen. However, the thing is so well done, the simplicity didn't matter.

The action is appropriately violent and nicely executed. There is one scene in particular that is wonderfully shot and may be near the top of my list. This is kind of a genre mix as this is much a war film as a horror one. You have to wait for the zombies, but there is enough violence and the basic fear of who could go next that it probably won't be an issue for you.

I liked that they the zombies aren't uniform. They're distinctive and freaky looking creatures.

There was a rumor that this was being considered for part of the Cloverfield series. I can see why. Overlord has a similar quality. Solid action horror is combined with tight dialogue and characterization. (There are even a few funny lines.) Also has a good cast all around.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
TVJerryNov 14, 2018
During World War II, American paratroopers drop into a German-occupied village in France with a mission to help make way for the Allied invasion. While making their stealthy way to the assigned location, they discover dark Nazi science thatDuring World War II, American paratroopers drop into a German-occupied village in France with a mission to help make way for the Allied invasion. While making their stealthy way to the assigned location, they discover dark Nazi science that takes this film to a level of sci-fi fear. From the harrowing opening parachute sequence, director Julius Avery grabs hold with intense action, which continues to pay off in brutal violence and bizarre encounters. Those who appreciate loud, aggressive movies will find this tense adventure wholly enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
GinaKNov 14, 2018
Be warned – this movie is very violent. But, of course, so was World War II. I was definitely not bored, and the American soldiers were very ingratiating, partly because none of them were in the war by choice (the Nazis were all aggressiveBe warned – this movie is very violent. But, of course, so was World War II. I was definitely not bored, and the American soldiers were very ingratiating, partly because none of them were in the war by choice (the Nazis were all aggressive brutes, of course). The Americans and the French were the good guys – and to stack the deck on the French side, we only met a young woman pursued sexually by the Nazi commander, a young boy clutching a baseball, and an aunt disfigured by the Germans. So, okay, nothing was subtle in this movie, but the film was lively and inventive, and I enjoyed it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BrianMcCriticNov 13, 2018
I had a ton of fun at Overlord, from start to finish this film knew what it wanted to do and succeeded. Wyatt Russell channeling his dad was great and director Julius Avery hits all the right notes. One scene towards the beginning of the filmI had a ton of fun at Overlord, from start to finish this film knew what it wanted to do and succeeded. Wyatt Russell channeling his dad was great and director Julius Avery hits all the right notes. One scene towards the beginning of the film just blew me away. Overall a low 8 an A-. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
pnoyfilmtvadikNov 12, 2018
Oh this film is great!!! It's got class, suspense and thrills, great new actors, amazing twists, dare i say it way waaaay better than black panther and lala land. Watch it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Meth-dudeNov 10, 2018
The movie definitely is a crowd pleaser. With well made action sequences, passable special effects and good acting, Overlord is never boring and will probably entertain you all the way through. It's an interesting big budget B horror movie.The movie definitely is a crowd pleaser. With well made action sequences, passable special effects and good acting, Overlord is never boring and will probably entertain you all the way through. It's an interesting big budget B horror movie. Although predictable and cliché, it will probably manage to keep you interested all the way through. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
moviecritic68Nov 15, 2018
Well if you like intense violence & drama this film will surely have you squirming in your seats now and then. I'd say the current rating is spot on. Kept the audience's attention throughout but hardly what I would deem as a blockbuster.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
HipsterDufusNov 16, 2018
Meh. Not bad. Somewhat cliche. I liked the first half, second half felt pretty predictable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MetaflixNov 11, 2018
I heard good things about 'Overlord.' I wish I hadn't. It would've saved me fifteen bucks.

The writing is lame and while I enjoyed Wyatt Russell's performance in 'Ingrid Goes West,' I think this role exposes him as a poor man's Jason
I heard good things about 'Overlord.' I wish I hadn't. It would've saved me fifteen bucks.

The writing is lame and while I enjoyed Wyatt Russell's performance in 'Ingrid Goes West,' I think this role exposes him as a poor man's Jason Clarke. Furthermore, 'Overlord' uses a dozen different tropes that have already been used a thousand different times before, so the film feels more like a mashup of worn out plot points than anything innovative or original.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
bkristmanNov 11, 2018
This film reminds me a bit of a straight to video film called Frankenstein's Army. It takes place in WW2 and traces the story of half a dozen soldiers trying to take out a town tower housing a big gun .
They get much more than they counted on
This film reminds me a bit of a straight to video film called Frankenstein's Army. It takes place in WW2 and traces the story of half a dozen soldiers trying to take out a town tower housing a big gun .
They get much more than they counted on though as they walk into a secret Nazi laboratory.
It's actually a pretty bad film but it keeps you interested with copious amounts of blood,gore and mayhem .
The lead character is a sadistic Nick Fury type blood and guts no-nonsense soldier and he has to lead this pansy-ass group into the mission .He should have had a cigar.It would've been a nice touch. Worth seeing on cheap tuesday at a discount. Very noisy,lots of closeup action. Fun.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JLuis_001Nov 15, 2018
I hate to use this word but honestly I think Overlord is the most overrated film of recent months. In the first place because of the expectations that it raised because it's a project of J.J. Abrams who was initially believed to be anotherI hate to use this word but honestly I think Overlord is the most overrated film of recent months. In the first place because of the expectations that it raised because it's a project of J.J. Abrams who was initially believed to be another film in the Cloverfield universe and later for the good reviews it received, which I find difficult to understand.

Overlord works with its mix of genres but is not as effective as it boasts or as entertaining as advertised. It's difficult for it to gain momentum and it loses it because of its simple environment. Practically after they are thrown from the plane, the film only becomes a round trip in the same places to solve the mystery.

I applaud the work of production, visual effects and makeup but the story, the cast and the conclusion seemed too irregular.

It's definitely an ideal film for a weekend for the kind of entertainment it offers but in the end Overlord is also a quite forgettable experience.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
clarkaddisonNov 12, 2018
A fun movie that is more WWII horror than zombie flick. Gore fest with tense scenes throughout
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
bataguilaNov 12, 2018
Muy buena, emocionante, historia dinámica, creíble hasta cierto punto. El cast es desconocido, no actúan bien, pero la acción la salva por mucho. Muy similar a Guerra mundial Z
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
movieducationNov 11, 2018
OVERLORD isn’t as mighty as I expected. Once it unleashes its focal point, it gets the job done, that’s that, simultaneously to be generic, missing out the real depiction of Nazis are only human who could do everything, the title ! Trapped toOVERLORD isn’t as mighty as I expected. Once it unleashes its focal point, it gets the job done, that’s that, simultaneously to be generic, missing out the real depiction of Nazis are only human who could do everything, the title ! Trapped to the undead that is already overused. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Spina_FlaNov 15, 2018
São três atos bem distintos, uma excelente mixagem de som ajuda o clima. No final um divertimento apenas razoável.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
raaaaaaaaarterNov 12, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was really good, from the beginning to the end this movie had me at the edge of my seat. The characters were really well put together, and the action/war and horror were put together really well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
saturnoprezziNov 16, 2018
A me ricorda tanto castle Wolfestein ..il videogioco,mi sbaglio però devo dire che quest'anno è uno dei pochi titoli horror che almeno dal trailer sembra meritare la visione,sono appassionato di film horror e ho trovato questo streaming itaA me ricorda tanto castle Wolfestein ..il videogioco,mi sbaglio però devo dire che quest'anno è uno dei pochi titoli horror che almeno dal trailer sembra meritare la visione,sono appassionato di film horror e ho trovato questo streaming ita http://bit.ly/2DczCPv OVERLORD​
Se qualcuno vuole vederlo prima di andare al cinema x valutare se ne vale la pena io faccio sempre cosi,oppure dopo li noleggio online.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Daggett79Nov 17, 2018
Loved this movie. It felt like it was right out of call of duty zombies. It was a tad slow in the mid part, but picked up fast and took off. If you love zombies and WWII movies combine them and watch this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews