Netflix | Release Date: November 9, 2018
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 64 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
38
Mixed:
22
Negative:
4
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
OthrandurNov 11, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While it isn't a bad movie, it's extremely derivative and barely has a passing acquaintance with historical accuracy. The real Robert de Brus mounted a ravaging campaign against England. This movie would have him a desperate underdog with a handful of men, but the real Robert led thousands of men on raids as deep into the England as Carlisle. The movie has him with only 500 men at the Battle of Bannockburn when he had around 6000. Robert is a kind and gentle man of the people in the movie, but the real Robert was a snobbish noble of many generations who preferred the company of the royal court in London to that of the plebs. And then, there's the usual Hollywood nonsense, like men in chain mail swimming in a lake, the inevitable Disney-like villainous son of the king, gutted men riding horses for comfort and rest.

So what's good? The movie keeps a good pace. The scenery is gorgeous. Ignoring the dissonance with reality, the story that was fabricated around the real events was interesting. The actors were good, though they're the same ones who appear in every movie about Scotland. Chris Pine made a valiant effort to keep his signature smirk in check.

Ultimately, regardless of any other factor, the movie is just forgettable, which is probably worse than being bad.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
TheSpartonNov 11, 2018
I’m not sure how historically accurate it is, but as a fan of epic medieval cinema I couldn’t fault this. Great drama, action and cinematography. It looked big budget and the performances were solid. Finally we got to see what happened afterI’m not sure how historically accurate it is, but as a fan of epic medieval cinema I couldn’t fault this. Great drama, action and cinematography. It looked big budget and the performances were solid. Finally we got to see what happened after William Wallace’s story ended. Well done Netflix. Better than anything Hollywood has produced in years. Fantastic film. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
di_schnyaginNov 10, 2018
Хорошее кино, способное взять за душу, начиная от сюжета и заканчивая взаимодействиями персонажей. Крис Пайн в роли Роберта Брюса и Флоренс Пью - Елизаветы Де Бург радуют глаз, и то как они взаимодействуют между собой. Также стоит обратитьХорошее кино, способное взять за душу, начиная от сюжета и заканчивая взаимодействиями персонажей. Крис Пайн в роли Роберта Брюса и Флоренс Пью - Елизаветы Де Бург радуют глаз, и то как они взаимодействуют между собой. Также стоит обратить внимания на отличные поставленные битвы и визуализацию самого фильма. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
Voodoo123Nov 12, 2018
+Excellent cinematography
+Great attention to detail in the period setting
+Excellent cast +Fantastic use of ambient music +Entertaining fight sequences -Plot feels mostly two dimensional like a cartoon at times Overall this entertained me
+Excellent cinematography
+Great attention to detail in the period setting
+Excellent cast
+Fantastic use of ambient music
+Entertaining fight sequences
-Plot feels mostly two dimensional like a cartoon at times

Overall this entertained me far more than expected. Just goes to show there is still room for a truly epic period war film yet!
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
night4Nov 10, 2018
Some of the camera work is nauseating and the pacing is rushed. Also, some of the characters are absolutely ridiculous. But overall, it's decently enjoyable for the battle scenes and most of the acting.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
amheretojudgeNov 10, 2018
a fluent vocab..

Outlaw King Mackenzie's fight against these historical events has a quick and ferocious pace that demands attention from you from its first act itself. One can easily see the eye that Mackenzie has had to create a period
a fluent vocab..

Outlaw King

Mackenzie's fight against these historical events has a quick and ferocious pace that demands attention from you from its first act itself. One can easily see the eye that Mackenzie has had to create a period piece with all the dedication there is. He knows that the detailings can lure the audience in, since the tactics, language, ceremonies and rituals, everything can be amaze the viewers to experience it on screen. Surprisingly, it is a well choreographed movie. Not only the fight sequences, the conversations, the long one-take sequences and the structure too.

The script has a fluent vocab. The speech is researched well enough to clearly be able to speak about it. Also, the physical sequences are clean and visually comfortable to see, except for brutal blood splash on the floor that can be too much at times. But as far as the war scenes are concerned, unlike any other features, you never get confused or too busy amongst the clashes of swords, horse riding, man slaughtering burnt palaces and suffocated environment. His update on the piece, is that he had managed to make it more gripping and emotionally fueled for us to keep rooting for these characters.

The camera work itself is immensely fascinating and well handled for you to be invested in this intriguing storyline. Mackenzie uses the set pieces and locations wisely and foliates through the cinematography and camera work that offers you a much more personal experience. Aforementioned, the narration is buoyant natured, it keeps giving you back through a tightly packed screenplay and enthralling horn fights. The conversations doesn't go as anticipated, these are the most non-historical ones that I have encountered on screen. With a brisky and gritty script, the characters are aptly developed and cooked.

A King, A Knight, with a potential to wipe out the entire battlefield, at a certain point in this tale, feels vulnerable for never given the opportunity to even swing a sword and lose these many men, on that note Mackenzie and Pine both succeeds on drawing that emotion out from the screen. Pine is much more evolved in his portrayal. His protective instincts are more expressive than the rage. And with such a track that follows up the glorious life of Robert The Bruce, his performance bodes well, you do care for him and not because of the circumstances he is put on but the performances. But this wheel gets stuck more than once.

The storytelling isn't layered or thought provoking enough to push your boundaries, it doesn't make you think twice. Mackenzie isn't over chewing stuff like he did on Hell Or High Water. He doesn't take the material for granted. And even though the previous one was much more layered and poetic, personally I prefer Outlaw King over it, for all the razzle dazzle it goes through to be honest and genuinely moving. Addition to that, Outlaw King is more Pine's tale than it is Mackenzie's, he rules unequivocally with firm affirmative decisions that you can rely upon.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
kriscastanieNov 9, 2018
Back to the thick of Epic History films. For too long we have missed epics like Gladiator / Troy / Kingdom of heaven etc. Here is a very worthy epic. The locations used are beautiful the acting heartfelt and heavy but the Battle scenes wellBack to the thick of Epic History films. For too long we have missed epics like Gladiator / Troy / Kingdom of heaven etc. Here is a very worthy epic. The locations used are beautiful the acting heartfelt and heavy but the Battle scenes well just wow! Lets hope this becomes a trilogy as rumoured! Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
6
DodgerNov 9, 2018
This movie started off well but unfortunately fell away as it went on, this is due atleast in part to the fact it started to stray away from historical accuracy towards the end. This is acceptable to some degree for "cinematic effect" but notThis movie started off well but unfortunately fell away as it went on, this is due atleast in part to the fact it started to stray away from historical accuracy towards the end. This is acceptable to some degree for "cinematic effect" but not to the level where it takes you out of the film. Started off as an low 8 but ended up as a low 6/high 5.

When you start to tell me that 500 peasants with sticks beat 3000 heavy knights on horse back, my attention starts to wander. (I am aware the battle happened, but maybe have a look at the actual history of it)
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
4
OlivierPielNov 11, 2018
Just because I'm pro-Scottish independence, I cannot put this movie into the red category. However this is a story as Disney-like (untrue and dumb down) as they come. Acting and decors of course are ok. It's just a silly entertainment helpingJust because I'm pro-Scottish independence, I cannot put this movie into the red category. However this is a story as Disney-like (untrue and dumb down) as they come. Acting and decors of course are ok. It's just a silly entertainment helping you while your time away...and of course a good excuse for cursing the English along the way :) Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
BerikNov 9, 2018
This movie does not shy away from gore and brutality, nor should it. An interesting history lesson, and great acting by some excellent actors. If you are into movies about the power struggles between kings and lords in history then you'llThis movie does not shy away from gore and brutality, nor should it. An interesting history lesson, and great acting by some excellent actors. If you are into movies about the power struggles between kings and lords in history then you'll enjoy this.

Enjoyable, looks great. But i couldn't help but forget what the war was about as it is never touched upon outside the intro and outro of the movie. I give it an 8/10.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
vetal-xNov 10, 2018
I didn't see full festival version (2 hours 15 min.) "Outlaw King" but according to the current version (1 hour 55 min.) would be better if the film remained unchanged. Constant haste in the story, where invariably visible cropped dialoguesI didn't see full festival version (2 hours 15 min.) "Outlaw King" but according to the current version (1 hour 55 min.) would be better if the film remained unchanged. Constant haste in the story, where invariably visible cropped dialogues and accordingly suffers the chemistry between the characters. In particular, the desire of the director and screenwriters to tell about the whole historical event and total miscast main character (Chris Pine) logically brings a sad result. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
EtiliasNov 9, 2018
Amazing drama full of great acting and historical accuracy. Give us more of that Netflix! One of the best movies of the year. Oh, and battle sequences... Im speechless.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
dr0nzerNov 9, 2018
Finally a Netflix film that I can get behind that wasn't a total crapfest! Chris Pine delivers a great performance, storytelling is great and was rooted in history, bit brutal and made me think this was savagery several times, soundtrackFinally a Netflix film that I can get behind that wasn't a total crapfest! Chris Pine delivers a great performance, storytelling is great and was rooted in history, bit brutal and made me think this was savagery several times, soundtrack complements, its a story of little words but delivers a powerful narrative. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
AlbproNov 9, 2018
Honestly I cannot express myself more towards this movie. We need more movies like this!!!!! Great story, Great Action, Great Landscapes! Everything done right! Do not follow the critics as they dont know whats a good movie anymore. FinallyHonestly I cannot express myself more towards this movie. We need more movies like this!!!!! Great story, Great Action, Great Landscapes! Everything done right! Do not follow the critics as they dont know whats a good movie anymore. Finally a movie that brings us back to the Gladiator, Kingdom of Heaven, Brave Heart Era!!! We Want more like this cause we know what is good! Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
MovieCritic83Nov 9, 2018
Finally, an almost historically correct movie based around the Scottish wars of independence. As good as the movie was it just didn't stir up the emotions as I expected it to. The English sacking of Scottish towns seemed to be overlooked andFinally, an almost historically correct movie based around the Scottish wars of independence. As good as the movie was it just didn't stir up the emotions as I expected it to. The English sacking of Scottish towns seemed to be overlooked and the scene not as engaging as I would have liked. The same has to go for Bruce's campaign in return. Saying that though, the movie started off really well before taking a slow turn but thankfully redeemed itself towards the end. For me Aaron Taylor-Johnson stole the show with his portrayal of James Douglas and deserves much credit for doing so. A follow up to this movie with the Battle of Bannockburn would be welcomed much. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
10
CarthagoNovaNov 9, 2018
Return of the classical historical drama is finally here! This movie has everything, amazing story setting - both time and geographical, great actors, fights that feel raw, gritty and frankly real. Apparently what Netflix screens is a versionReturn of the classical historical drama is finally here! This movie has everything, amazing story setting - both time and geographical, great actors, fights that feel raw, gritty and frankly real. Apparently what Netflix screens is a version that has 20 minutes cut from it because critics found the original one "too long and boring" but I hope one day there will be an extended cut.

10/10. More movies like this please.
Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
2
UTM-Nov 11, 2018
The characters in Outlaw King are written sloppy and lazy. This means that the story is impaired because of bad character developmend.The fights in this movie were very realistic and amusing to watch but they were tentionless, because theThe characters in Outlaw King are written sloppy and lazy. This means that the story is impaired because of bad character developmend.The fights in this movie were very realistic and amusing to watch but they were tentionless, because the enemy was weak althought they were with much bigger quantity.

This is a fast paced movie for people that love gruesome fights and for people that don't care about the story.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
BaydenNov 10, 2018
Had to head to the gym after this, got me so pumped. Great effects, characters, music, story.
Not a dull moment, really enjoyed it.
Bad ass protagonist.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
waiting4vizziniNov 10, 2018
As historically accurate as you can expect from a film of this runtime. It was compelling without being obnoxious see Braveheart.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
9
movieaterNov 10, 2018
Beyond expectation. The sequel of 《Braveheart》. Though the story is old and was told by history, this movie made it. Characters were not iconic but live by blood and bones, I mean every character. The whole movie was well-made, especiallyBeyond expectation. The sequel of 《Braveheart》. Though the story is old and was told by history, this movie made it. Characters were not iconic but live by blood and bones, I mean every character. The whole movie was well-made, especially the battle scene was delicate. Love this movie. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
MoonmanDamerungNov 9, 2018
Screw what all of the incel nerds say in the comments, this is the greatest movie of all times unironically and you should go see it. Lot's of love, suspence and action.100/10
4 of 13 users found this helpful49
All this user's reviews
4
shoulderoforionNov 12, 2018
Other than filling in a bit of what happens in Scotland AFTER Braveheart, this movie was boring as heck, the only redeeming value is seeing some of the best British character actors in supporting roles. You can miss this and be none the poorer.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
NicozaNov 14, 2018
For me it was very surprising good movie. Maybe doesn't have all the theatrics movies like The Patriot, Braveheart and Gladiator has, but if you enjoyed these you won't be dissapointed. 9/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DavidTejadaNov 15, 2018
“Outlaw King might be marvellous when bowing to outfits, contextualisation, battle sequences and cast. It rightly deserved it. But if there is one thing I cannot tolerate, is the excessive use of blood and explicit-annihilation scenes”

It is
“Outlaw King might be marvellous when bowing to outfits, contextualisation, battle sequences and cast. It rightly deserved it. But if there is one thing I cannot tolerate, is the excessive use of blood and explicit-annihilation scenes”

It is undeniable to know that medieval epoch was bloody and savage, it is undeniable. Thus, the persecutions, decapitations, sufferings and even some other ways of protesting must be known by the time the movie is being watched. Technically, what Mr. Mackenzie did was no more to focus on these massacre and strong-detailed scenes in order to provoke entertainment. It is not that I have a problem with this type of showbiz but if we keep forgetting the main purpose of the movie, then, we will have some serious problems when criticizing it. Because, it turns out to be like Resident Evil movies: Like “We’ve got a problem, so we pass to the action scenes”. It would have been much better had director Mackenzie furthered in village-monarchy lifestyles rather than the prototypical formula of many movies developed nowadays. They just captivate us with blood and action scenes. No worries about the cast, because I had no problem when analysing them. Most of the characters showed a good detailing themselves. No one felt added forcefully. Overall, they were top-notch. Likewise, it is important to give credit for the beautifully-placed landscapes and antique recreation of (probably) some villages, the castle, etc. Finally, in spite of not liking it, I felt that the actions sequences (apart of being terrifically explicit) were actually good. To the point that, according to my experience, I have not seen such a well representation of real-life battles. (63/100)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
insicknessNov 16, 2018
The writing in this movie is boring and unrealistic. They depict Robert the Bruce as a wholesome, #metoo-era nice guy who does not sleep with his wife on the first night of their marriage because he doesn't know her well enough. Tired of allThe writing in this movie is boring and unrealistic. They depict Robert the Bruce as a wholesome, #metoo-era nice guy who does not sleep with his wife on the first night of their marriage because he doesn't know her well enough. Tired of all the Netflix white-washing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JLuis_001Nov 15, 2018
I had high expectations for this film but the truth is that it fell quite short. If weren't for the battle sequences this story would have been very boring. And it's not that I'm against a story with its respective doses of betrayals andI had high expectations for this film but the truth is that it fell quite short. If weren't for the battle sequences this story would have been very boring. And it's not that I'm against a story with its respective doses of betrayals and fights for thrones between kings and princes but honestly Outlaw King is simply a film unable to respond with sufficient quality to the size and ambition of its production.

Chris Pine is not up to a role like this, while Aaron Taylor-Johnson overacts too much. Those who deserve a mention despite the short screen time they have are the young Florence Pugh and the veteran Stephen Dillane after that, the film doesn't really have anything more memorable to mention.

The production shows that they invested a lot but seeing it well it would have been a colossal failure at the box office.
Incredibly respectable that Netflix is distributing it but one must wonder how many more risks will they be taken with productions of this caliber that don't deliver the expected dividends.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GabaguNov 13, 2018
Greatly acted, has a great color grading, that not washes out all color as the usual medieval/ancient setting movie does, uses deep blacks but maintains a good variety of colors, which gives you a more realistic feel, because doesn't matterGreatly acted, has a great color grading, that not washes out all color as the usual medieval/ancient setting movie does, uses deep blacks but maintains a good variety of colors, which gives you a more realistic feel, because doesn't matter how dark and horrible the period of time is, color is still there, the movie understands that. The soundtrack might sound dull, but give some extra attention, it will grow on you. The action works really well, visceral, raw, but at the same time clean to your eyes, it's weird how beautiful is numerous horses and men falling in the dirt in the middle of the battlefield. Beautifully crafted, fast paced and providing a lot of authenticity, Outlaw King is one of the best medieval'like setting films in years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NagginnogginNov 14, 2018
It's hard not to compare a film of this genre to Game of Thrones, yet an intimate pace is established early, and it becomes difficult not to become entwined. A brilliant performance by Aaron Taylor Johnson and an ingenious way to cast ChrisIt's hard not to compare a film of this genre to Game of Thrones, yet an intimate pace is established early, and it becomes difficult not to become entwined. A brilliant performance by Aaron Taylor Johnson and an ingenious way to cast Chris Pine as the leading man. The nudity in this movie makes it all that much more relatable and pushes the wold of film to a new artistic level. Thank you for bringing history to life. This movie takes a spot near and dear to the beloved braveheart and the GOT series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
soysauce93Nov 15, 2018
If, like me, you find the minor details of medieval British history fascinating, and have some prior knowledge or interest in Robert the Bruce, you will enjoy this film. It is apparently nearly completely accurate insofar as it is possible toIf, like me, you find the minor details of medieval British history fascinating, and have some prior knowledge or interest in Robert the Bruce, you will enjoy this film. It is apparently nearly completely accurate insofar as it is possible to know, and the realism of the battle scenes means you can almost imagine being there. But I understand the critics' opinions that there isn't enough drama, pace or character development to satisfy those who don't already find the subject matter interesting. Think of it as more a docudrama. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews