Universal Pictures | Release Date: November 16, 2018
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 54 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
44
Mixed:
6
Negative:
4
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
GinaKNov 22, 2018
It’s been a very long time since I have heard an audience applaud spontaneously after a film in an ordinary local theater, but it happened today after a screening of Green Book. And I must admit I had to agree with the audience verdict aboutIt’s been a very long time since I have heard an audience applaud spontaneously after a film in an ordinary local theater, but it happened today after a screening of Green Book. And I must admit I had to agree with the audience verdict about this one. Perhaps the “message” was obvious, but the commitment, believability, and humanity of the two main actors (Viggo Mortensen and Mahershala Ali) was extraordinary. I really felt like I took the journey with them. This is definitely one of the best films I have seen this year – beautifully written, directed, and acted. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
LamontRaymondNov 28, 2018
Easily one of my favorite movies of 2018. I can see why cynical movie critics can't embrace it, but it's got all the ingredients of a feel-good movie, with some harsh realities, and what it takes to be a good friend. I loved every minute of it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
TVJerryNov 29, 2018
This charmer is based on the real relationship between a rough-edged, Italian-American bouncer (Viggo Mortensen) and the refined African-American jazz pianist Don Shirley (Mahershala Ali). Lip is hired to drive Shirley on a concert tour thruThis charmer is based on the real relationship between a rough-edged, Italian-American bouncer (Viggo Mortensen) and the refined African-American jazz pianist Don Shirley (Mahershala Ali). Lip is hired to drive Shirley on a concert tour thru the Deep South in the 60s. As expected, they go from contrary attitudes to an endearing, mutually-beneficial friendship, so it's up to the filmmaking to create something special. Both of the lead actors give deep and affecting performances. Director Peter Farrelly (best known for silly comedies) has maneuvered between racial discord and human interaction with skill, assurance and a few laffs. The script, while predictable, still manages to create an involving narrative. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
tropicAcesNov 21, 2018
Funny, breezy, emotional and impactful. Great performances and screenplay. Just an enjoyable movie with a tiny bit of a message (even if it doesn’t get as deep as it maybe could have).
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticNov 23, 2018
A film that tended to by to glossy on some of its subject matters, but because of the phenomenal chemistry and performances by Viggo and Mahershala you can't help but laugh and cry. Definitely the feel good film of the year. Overall a low 9 an A.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
shpostalNov 23, 2018
"Green Book" is a fairly true story of a gifted concert pianist and his hired Italian driver making a swing through the Deep South in 1962 at the height of Jim Crow before the civil rights battles really started. The actual "green books""Green Book" is a fairly true story of a gifted concert pianist and his hired Italian driver making a swing through the Deep South in 1962 at the height of Jim Crow before the civil rights battles really started. The actual "green books" were indeed real, and were handed out at gas stations or other locations to help African Americans find locations to eat, sleep and otherwise be entertained without being harassed by the ignoramus separatist white racist idiots especially in the South. Viggo Mortenson plays a Bronx semi-wise guy Italian who needs a few months employment as his club where he is employed as a bouncer, the famous Copacabana is undergoing renovations, and lands a job as a driver for Dr. Don Shirley, brilliantly played by Mahershala Ali. Both men are absolutely genius in their respective roles, as Shirley, a gifted and very erudite and intelligent concert pianist play off each other during this two month tour of the Deep South. It's a shock to the system of the time with a white man driving the affluent and privileged African American around between gigs, and the film carefully examines the strife and attitudes of the day and age without getting into some of the truly horrendous events that also happened. The film doesn't really cover a lot of new ground here, and has its similarities with "Hidden Figures", the blockbuster from a few years ago without being a derivative. Without being a spoiler, we are witnessing the gradual closing of the gap of understanding the world as both men know it, including Dr. Shirley's own unawareness of the awful poverty he witnesses during the trip of his fellow African Americans, and learns that Tony, his driver lives in very modest circumstances of his own in the Bronx. This is a movie where we don't really see a cataclysmic event, but rather the common behaviors of a Jim Crow south, where patrons in cities like Memphis and Birmingham want to be seen as "cultured" and have no problem with Shirley performing at their private swanky parties, but that tolerance stops obviously the second the show's over. "Green Book" serves a duel purpose: the enormous racial divide, class divisions and the courage it took for more open minded people of all races to begin to stand up and unite against the profound hate that sadly still exists today, but was a genuine threat to life and limb back then. It's a great movie and highly recommended. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Brent_MarchantNov 28, 2018
A superb fact-based road trip buddy film featuring two of the unlikeliest of travel companions. This tale of an African-American pianist and his New York Italian driver on a concert tour of the American South in 1962 hits all the right notesA superb fact-based road trip buddy film featuring two of the unlikeliest of travel companions. This tale of an African-American pianist and his New York Italian driver on a concert tour of the American South in 1962 hits all the right notes without belaboring its message while effectively capturing the unusual friendship that grows between the film's two protagonists. Excellent performances by Viggo Mortensen and Mahershala Ali are punctuated by a script that's full of laughs, poignancy and heart. An underrated gem that deserves high marks and well-earned accolades. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
AcaciaDec 2, 2018
Fabulous movie! Go see it. You won’t be disappointed. My review ended up under Green Room! Did not realize that Green Book didn’t come up.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
votingNov 27, 2018
One of the best movies of the year. Both performances are fantastic. Inspiring and heartfelt.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
consumerguyDec 6, 2018
"This based on a true story" film is an unexpected surprise. Few films are able to combine compelling drama and comedy without stretching one genre or the other. If you had given me a list of one hundred candidates for the role of a"This based on a true story" film is an unexpected surprise. Few films are able to combine compelling drama and comedy without stretching one genre or the other. If you had given me a list of one hundred candidates for the role of a semi-educated 1960s nightclub bouncer from the Bronx, I probably would have placed Vigo Mortenson I at the bottom of that list as a likely candidate for the role. And he knocks the role of Tony Lip outta the park. Mahershala Ali, who won an Oscar for his role as the ominous drug dealer in Moonlighting is no less a surprise as the somewhat prissy and bottled-up jazz pianist
Don Shirley.
In balancing issues of racism and violence with laugh-out-loud humor, director Peter Farrelly is this film's third surprise. Along with brother Bobby, Farrelly is most famous for dopey and base comedies like the "Dumb and Dumber" flicks.
I was amazed by Farrelly's deft handling of transitions that move from Tony's knuckle-headed ignorant insights to the humiliations heaped upon a refined black man in the mid-twentieth century Deep South by hypocritical sophisticates.
Green book is an emotional, artistic and fulfilling gem.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
GiuliusNov 24, 2018
Prepare to sit through a very long "before" as the movie explores Tony's thuggish, comic-book background. (Cross a Mafiosi and a New Yoaker, that's Tony!) Then sit through a well-meaning but laborious exposition of how he and a self-centered,Prepare to sit through a very long "before" as the movie explores Tony's thuggish, comic-book background. (Cross a Mafiosi and a New Yoaker, that's Tony!) Then sit through a well-meaning but laborious exposition of how he and a self-centered, judgmental black musical genius develop a (dare we say it) quasi-affectionate relationship. After one hour I took my leave, but maybe you'l stay longer and tell me how it ends... Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
BHBarryNov 26, 2018
"Green Book" is the true story of Dr. Don Shirley, the great classical/jazz pianist and his famous 1960's tour of the deep south accompanied by his driver, Tony Lip Villelonga, as they travel together using the infamous Green Book which"Green Book" is the true story of Dr. Don Shirley, the great classical/jazz pianist and his famous 1960's tour of the deep south accompanied by his driver, Tony Lip Villelonga, as they travel together using the infamous Green Book which served as a guide for African American travelers as to where they could and could not find accommodations in the southern part of our nation. As the book so brutally states in its logo "avoid aggravation on your vacation".
The film stars Mahershala Ali as Dr. Shirley and Viggo Mortensen as Tony Lip Villelonga. Directed by Peter Farrelly who co-wrote the screenplay with Bruce Currie and Nick Villelonga, this is a warm and deeply moving story of the plight of a talented world class musician who, like most black entertainers in that era, could perform and entertain in the "white only" establishments but could neither sleep nor eat there. The film serves as a great reminder of how demeaning and wrong the culture was in all too many parts of our country and how so many of its citizens were robbed of the dignity and rights they were otherwise entitled to have and enjoy. Although Mr. Ali's performance was noteworthy, the true star of the film is Mr. Mortensen who, deviating from his normal "leading man" role, portrays the Bronx born and raised Tony Lip Villelonga with sensitivity and caring in spite of, and perhaps maybe because of, his Italian American heritage and upbringing.
I give this film an 8.0 rating and suggest that it be seen by all who wish to understand where we were as a nation 56 years ago, where we are now and how far we still have to go.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GreatMartinNov 23, 2018
A treat!

I was very hesitant about going to see "Green Book" starting with it being directed by Peter Farrelly who was known for such 'low' films as "Dumb and Dumber" and "There's Something About Mary" which dealt with obscene language and
A treat!

I was very hesitant about going to see "Green Book" starting with it being directed by Peter Farrelly who was known for such 'low' films as "Dumb and Dumber" and "There's Something About Mary" which dealt with obscene language and scenes though big hits. It also sounded to me like a takeoff of "Driving Miss Daisy" only with a white driver and a black passenger which would probably be 'Hollywoodized" and "the Odd Couple" thrown in as the arc of the movie and it is..

I went only because I am a long time fan of Viggo Mortensen and was impressed with Mahershala Ali in "Moonlight". I expected to see a so-so film with good performances and we certainly saw the latter but it won me over showing the Carnegie Hall apartments, though I never did see one like Ali had. Also the scenes supposedly filmed in the Bronx was not a Bronx I was raised in but all of a sudden I was laughing and then being touched and going through layers of emotions.

Yes Viggo Mortensen as Tony Vallelonga and Mahershala Ali as Dr. Don Shirley are cliches in many scenes but they are both such good actors you believe what they are saying and doing not to forget the touch of family that Linda Cardellini as Tony's wife brings to an Italian Bronx thug who does love his wife and 2 sons, along with other family members.

Based on a true story I must admit I had never heard of Dr. Don Shirley but his story of being a black entertainer who is going to travel through the south in 1962 it is reasonable that he would hire a Tony 'type' to be his chauffer and, in a sense, protector. A lot of cliches are nothing more than stereotypes and much what we see and hear of Shirley and Vallelonga sound and seem familiar which is sad because we aren't surprised.

"Green Book" is being sold as 'a true story of a friendship' and it is just that with many laughs and tears supplied by two brilliant actors who bring more to the script than the script brings to them. There are a couple of scenes that took me by surprise which if talked about would mean spoilers and should be discovered on their own but one question I would love if anyone knows if Mahershala does his own piano playing or is it Hollywood magic?

Both "Green Book" and "The Hate U Give" are two of the best films I have seen this autumn and though both deal with race they are completely different and also have leading performances that should get nominations , if not actual wins, for their performances.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 30, 2018
Though its softened edges and cautious approach might irk some of the more discerning viewers in the audience, its "Green Book's" benevolent nature and engaging thematic material that should be commended above all. Generally more of a comedicThough its softened edges and cautious approach might irk some of the more discerning viewers in the audience, its "Green Book's" benevolent nature and engaging thematic material that should be commended above all. Generally more of a comedic filmmaker, director Peter Farrelly handles the story behind Don Shirley and Tony Vallelonga's true-to-life friendship with a surprising patience and care, ultimately lending a tremendously feel-good experience. Spearhead all of that with some unsurprisingly magnificent performance work from both Mahershala Ali and Viggo Mortensen, and you've got yourself one of the better movies of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
moviemitch96Nov 22, 2018
This was a simple yet culturally significant, funny, and often times very heartwarming and crowd-pleasing film while also providing important social commentary regarding race and discrimination. The film follows an Italian-American bouncerThis was a simple yet culturally significant, funny, and often times very heartwarming and crowd-pleasing film while also providing important social commentary regarding race and discrimination. The film follows an Italian-American bouncer (Viggo Mortensen) who is hired to drive an African American pianist with a Doctorate in music (Mahershala Ali) on his musical tour through the American South in the 1960s. From the film's opening moments, I knew I was in for a charming and great time, cause despite the serious historical subject matter and depiction of racism throughout the film, every moment in the film is played out surprisingly light-hearted but never too much so as to remind us of the important cultural and historical significance of these different and difficult times in America. In addition, Mortensen and Ali play off each other perfectly from start to finish, seemingly forming a genuine bond and friendship as the film progressed. I was especially impressed with Mortensen however, who not only had so many great and funny moments and lines, but also showed serious commitment, gaining approximately 40 lbs or so for his role. Overall, despite the film's rather safe and restrained depiction of racism and prejudice, it nonetheless remains very mature and insightful regarding these themes and depictions, and the performances and chemistry between Mortensen and Ali are undoubtedly the film's biggest charm, with all of these elements coming together to make the film a mostly smooth yet satisfying ride. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
moviecritic68Dec 12, 2018
Easily in the running for Best Picture. The theater was filled with laughing outburst throughout and the audience left with a gleeful buzz. The 3 negative critiques should be banned from the site. 9.75 is my final tally because I'm old enoughEasily in the running for Best Picture. The theater was filled with laughing outburst throughout and the audience left with a gleeful buzz. The 3 negative critiques should be banned from the site. 9.75 is my final tally because I'm old enough to remember the racial divide in the 60's and I grew up in one of the southern cities displayed in the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
darkbloodshed13Dec 4, 2018
Green Book is directed by Peter Fairly and is about the journey and friendship between Tony Vallelonga, an Italian driver played by Viggo Mortensen, and Dr. Don Shirley, a black pianist played by Mahershala Ali, as they journey though theGreen Book is directed by Peter Fairly and is about the journey and friendship between Tony Vallelonga, an Italian driver played by Viggo Mortensen, and Dr. Don Shirley, a black pianist played by Mahershala Ali, as they journey though the south in the 60's. That concept sounds pretty simplistic but this film executes it so well that you don't think that. The relationship between our two leads is portrayed excellently. The film is at it's best when it's just the two of them having a simple conversation. Viggo Mortensen plays Tony Vallelonga perfectly as the typical Italian during the 60's, his comedic timing and delivery makes him hilarious but relate able and is balanced excellently Mahershala Ali's stoic and dramatic portrayal as Dr. Don Shirley. Peter Fairly has established him self as good comedy director with the Dumb and Dumber movies, but this the first time that I have felt like he has hit that perfect balance of drama and comedy. In conclusion this is the best film of the year so far and if you haven't seen it yet then see it immediately. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MetaflixNov 29, 2018
'Green Book' barrels past some initial hokeyness to take us on a poignant journey through the deep south ... and into the heart of America's persistent deficiency in overcoming racial inequality.

Mahershala Ali and Viggo Mortensen both
'Green Book' barrels past some initial hokeyness to take us on a poignant journey through the deep south ... and into the heart of America's persistent deficiency in overcoming racial inequality.

Mahershala Ali and Viggo Mortensen both disappear into their roles as only actors of their caliber can, making every scene so captivating that the movie's 130-minute run time feels half as long. There's plenty of contemplation and outrage to go around. However, it's the genuine laughs that truly round out the film, providing a full range of delightful (and sometimes dizzying) emotions that quickly come and pass like mile markers on the side of a highway.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AceZachRocks2Nov 21, 2018
I was shocked how much I liked this movie, It has a heart of gold. It's always sweet and funny and you love the two leads despite some of there opinions and weird charms. This is one of the best Comedy Dramas I have seen in a while. I hopeI was shocked how much I liked this movie, It has a heart of gold. It's always sweet and funny and you love the two leads despite some of there opinions and weird charms. This is one of the best Comedy Dramas I have seen in a while. I hope either of the leads will win some award because without them this movie would be bland. 8/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MarkHReviewsDec 13, 2018
“The Green Book” derives its name from The Negro Motorist Green Book, an annual publication from 1936-1966 designed to help people traveling while black to find friendly lodging, restaurants and gas stations and to keep from running afoul of“The Green Book” derives its name from The Negro Motorist Green Book, an annual publication from 1936-1966 designed to help people traveling while black to find friendly lodging, restaurants and gas stations and to keep from running afoul of a variety of arcane local laws (if you’re interested, learn about “sunset towns”).

In 1962, Dr. Don Shirley, a classically trained pianist, left his opulent apartment above Carnegie Hall in NYC to tour the Midwest and Deep South. The record company sponsoring his tour had the good sense to hire a driver/bodyguard/valet to help him navigate the perils of the South in the period just before the Civil Rights Act. Tony (Lip) Vallelonga was hired for those roles and worked with Shirley during his two-month tour. The challenges faced and overcome by Shirley are entirely predictable – overt racism, harassing cops, etc. But “The Green Book” is not intended to be a history lesson. It’s a story about enduring friendship.

As the two lead characters, Mahershala Ali (House of Cards, Oscar for Moonlight in 2016, a can’t-wait upcoming role in True Detective, Season 3) and Viggo Mortensen (Lord of the Rings series, A History of Violence, Eastern Promises) perform a series of memorable duets. Unable to rely on his Danish-American heritage for this role, Mortensen (Tony) adopts a Bronx accent that would fit right in on The Sopranos. This makes perfect sense, given that the real Tony Lip had a recurring role in the series. (Regrettably, for all his talking, our Tony never lets loose with “Ba-Da-Boom, Ba-Da-Bing.”) His rough-and-tumble, street-smart approach to the world stands in stark contrast to the well-educated Dr. Shirley (Ali), who struggles mightily because he is neither black enough not white enough to fit in anywhere. Dr. Shirley’s struggles to teach Tony diction, manners and Oxford English (Oxford, England, not Oxford, Mississippi) are highlights of the film.

What drives the narrative, though, is the bond built between the two men. Tony is in awe of Dr. Shirley’s regal bearing and erudition (Shirley earned a doctorate in Music, Psychology and Liturgical Arts). Shirley, in turn, sees Tony’s good heart and envies the passion and wonder through which he views the world. Spying a road sign announcing a KFC up the road, Tony enthuses, “Kentucky Fried Chicken in Kentucky – when’s that gunna happen?” The chemistry between the two is funny, touching and the glue that holds this film together.
Director Peter Farrelly (There’s Something about Mary, Dumb and Dumber, Stuck on You) has reined in his slapstick impulses and over-reliance on visual humor. The result is thoughtful, honest and memorable.

“The Green Book” does not offer its audience profound insights into the human condition. But it does suggest, as Shirley’s character discovers, that occasional human interaction, in small controlled doses, might actually be worthwhile.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DrSancochoDec 14, 2018
Two of the year's most engaging performances lead this biopic about clashing personalities coming to understand each through intimate conversations and sincere empathy. Green Book made me laugh as it made me reflect about the society its era,Two of the year's most engaging performances lead this biopic about clashing personalities coming to understand each through intimate conversations and sincere empathy. Green Book made me laugh as it made me reflect about the society its era, a time where empathy and culture were defined by shallow preconceptions about each other. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews