User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 59
  2. Negative: 32 out of 59
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 13, 2018
    9
    I really enjoyed what the presentation side of the game had to offer because both the visuals and sound design enhanced the gameplay quite considerably in my opinion. In terms of content the game has a huge amount for you to get to grips with and the variety present in the content will no doubt keep you satisfied for ages. Exploring the huge areas in the game always feels rewarding andI really enjoyed what the presentation side of the game had to offer because both the visuals and sound design enhanced the gameplay quite considerably in my opinion. In terms of content the game has a huge amount for you to get to grips with and the variety present in the content will no doubt keep you satisfied for ages. Exploring the huge areas in the game always feels rewarding and this in turn gives the game even more when it comes to replay ability. There is an array of different challenges for you to undertake in the game and pretty much all of them are fun due to the amount of thought and effort that’s gone into them. Each different mechanic in the game works well and even though it can be quite difficult every now and then I didn’t get frustrated very often. I was a little disappointed with the story because nothing much stood out here. Sometimes the AI can respond unusual which can harm the immersion and feel of the levels a little bit. The Hitman franchise has had a special place in my heart for quite a while now and even though I had some reservations of the episodic direction they went with in regards to Hitman I thought they did the series a lot of justice. As you can imagine then I was chomping at the bit to get to grips with Hitman 2 and thankfully I’m pleased to say that once again they’ve done this fantastic series justice. This time around there’s a lot more content for you to get to grips with straight away and if you’re a fan of Hitman then you’ll no doubt enjoy what the content delivers to you. This game will without a doubt keep you satisfied for ages because there’s a number of different and very varied challenges for you to undertake and whilst the story could’ve been better this aspect doesn’t hold the game back much at all. Instead you forget about this small issue quickly because exploring the vast areas is very satisfying and always rewarding. In terms of problems the game has very few and you’ll be pleased to know that each different mechanic has been pretty much done to perfection. At the end of the day then recommending Hitman 2 is very easy indeed and if you’ve never played a game in this franchise before then I thoroughly recommend that you try this game out because the stealth action has never been better. Expand
  2. Nov 9, 2018
    10
    If you love Hitman 2 this game is for you. Its one of the best Hitman game's ever made
  3. Nov 10, 2018
    10
    Hitman isn't for everybody, if you didn't enjoy the first season then you're definitely not going to enjoy this one. However if like me you absolutely loved the first season then you're going to love this one even more. It's essentially the same amazing gameplay from season one but now there are six huge brand new levels to explore and murder people in. However this time, better attentionHitman isn't for everybody, if you didn't enjoy the first season then you're definitely not going to enjoy this one. However if like me you absolutely loved the first season then you're going to love this one even more. It's essentially the same amazing gameplay from season one but now there are six huge brand new levels to explore and murder people in. However this time, better attention has been paid to level design and the levels are more consistent in quality, whereas in the first some levels were great but others were lacking. If you love Hitman then this developer deserves all your support. They're one of the few developers left who make game like this. Buy this game, it's worth it. Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2018
    8
    The first game was to be from the beginning with io interactive, not with square enix and this policy of playing in episodes full of microtransactions. excellent game but with little change compared to the previous one. 8/10
  5. Nov 13, 2018
    0
    Purchased a physical copy of the game but can't even get to play it! You put the game disc in start it up but all the content is locked. When trying to click on any of the content it tells me that i don't have the content required and to go to the Xbox Store. However, when i go to the Xbox Store it tells me that i own the game and that it's is ready to play, despite the game telling me iPurchased a physical copy of the game but can't even get to play it! You put the game disc in start it up but all the content is locked. When trying to click on any of the content it tells me that i don't have the content required and to go to the Xbox Store. However, when i go to the Xbox Store it tells me that i own the game and that it's is ready to play, despite the game telling me i don't have the required content. So i've spent the past hour just trying to get the game to work! Going to be taking it back and getting a refund on it. Expand
  6. Nov 13, 2018
    0
    The game disc just acts as a posh download key! When you put the disc in it won't allow you to play anything. It tells you that you don't have the required content and to go to the store, but when you go to the store it tells you that you own the game and that it is installed ready to play!? After 30 minutes back and forth trying to work it out i finally discovered that you have to findThe game disc just acts as a posh download key! When you put the disc in it won't allow you to play anything. It tells you that you don't have the required content and to go to the store, but when you go to the store it tells you that you own the game and that it is installed ready to play!? After 30 minutes back and forth trying to work it out i finally discovered that you have to find each individual mission and download each one individually!! It doesn't even tell you this! To make things worse i can only select some of the missions to download them. For some bizarre reason it won't allow me to select certain missions of the main game to download. And because you have to search for each mission on the store and download them individually it meant i had to search online for what missions the game has so i knew exactly what missions i was looking for! IOI Interactive has done some really silly things in its time but this one really does take the cake. They have a bizarre habit of making things unnecessarily complicated for themselves and for their fans. Like how Season 1 had about 3 or 4 different release models as they kept scrapping and changing them and confusing everyone. It's as if they enjoy annoying us or something. Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2018
    9
    Semi-derisively labeled "Hitman Season 2" rather than a true sequel, with Hitman 2 it feels as though the episodic experiment IO began in 2016 is finally a complete game. The fact that all of the content from the previous entry can be ported over reinforces the fact that Hitman 2 is simply the latest build of IO's Hitman client, now filled with a robust library of assassinationSemi-derisively labeled "Hitman Season 2" rather than a true sequel, with Hitman 2 it feels as though the episodic experiment IO began in 2016 is finally a complete game. The fact that all of the content from the previous entry can be ported over reinforces the fact that Hitman 2 is simply the latest build of IO's Hitman client, now filled with a robust library of assassination playgrounds. Whether this is worth the price tag of a whole new game ultimately depends on how serious of a devotee to the series you are. As a die-hard Agent 47 aficionado, Hitman 2 delivers. All the missions are solid and the suburban episode "Another Life" ranks highly in the canon of great Hitman environments. Hitman Blood Money is still the best overall entry in the series and 2016 HItman's Sapienza still wears the crown of best individual mission, but Hitman 2 is a great continuation of the franchise's legacy. My only fear is that WB will pressure the studio to start cranking out sequels every year and dilute the quality (a la Assassin's Creed or Call of Duty). Expand
  8. Nov 13, 2018
    2
    As a Hitman veteran who has been with the franchise since it began this pains me to say this. Hitman 2 isn't very good. The original Hitman dev team left IO Interactive after Hitman Blood Money in 2006. Hitman Absolution, Hitman series 1 and now Hitman series 2 were made by the Kane & Lynch team. This team are still failing to workout what made Hitman such a great Franchise. Proof thatAs a Hitman veteran who has been with the franchise since it began this pains me to say this. Hitman 2 isn't very good. The original Hitman dev team left IO Interactive after Hitman Blood Money in 2006. Hitman Absolution, Hitman series 1 and now Hitman series 2 were made by the Kane & Lynch team. This team are still failing to workout what made Hitman such a great Franchise. Proof that they fail to realise what makes Hitman a great franchise are....Hitman Absolution wasn't even a Hitman game. It took everything that made Hitman, Hitman and chucked it out the window. The developers even apologised for it and said looking back on it is wasn't very good. Neither Hitman Absolution or Hitman Series 1 had Agent 47's signature briefcase. Not having his signature briefcase is like making a Bond movie without a Bond car. Fans demanded the briefcase back and its taken 12yrs to get it back! Not asking composer Jesper Kyd back to do the soundtrack despite fans asking for it and signing petitions to get him back. Jesper Kyd said he has no idea why they never asked him back. This shows the devs have no clue. Anyway, what makes Hitman 2 stupid. I just played a mission where i had to steal a famous British tattoo artist and reality stars clothes and pretend to be him so i could meet and give a Columbian drug lord and his wife a tattoo. Both the drug lord and his wife say they are massive fans of yours. The problem is Agent 47 looks nothing like the famous tattoo artist, he doesn't even resemble him one bit. And he has a thick British accent and Agent 47 has an American one. You just wear his clothes and that's it you are now a famous British tattoo artist and reality star and the Columbian drug lord and his wife are none the wiser, despite the fact that are massive fans of yours! (Maybe they have real bad eyesight and hearing? lol) But then on the other hand when you steal and wear an enemy disguise that has a full face mask and balaclava, other enemies can recognise you despite having your face fully covered! Fans gave IO Interactive so much stick for this in Hitman Absolution way back in 2012. It was one of the fans biggest annoyances with that game. Yet they've done it again for Hitman 2! Enforcers are more annoying than ever. Enforcers have a little white circle above their heads and you can't go near these people as they recognise you and blow your cover. There are lots of them in this game and they are all placed in stupid places. Some of them don't even move and just stay in one spot so you find yourself just having sprint away and quickly get around a corner before your detected and cover is blown. As a Hitman your not supposed to act suspicious. But suddenly being forced to sprint around a corner to avoid having your cover blown just makes you look very suspicious and is stupid. Especially when playing the story and having to follow a main character on a certain path and they walk down a path full of enforcers that recognise you and blow your cover. Other guards are also placed in stupid places so you don't get time to breath. Like 1 at every entry point. And none of the targets seem to be left alone, not even for a brief second. They all have bodyguards glued to them. This means the game forces you to follow set paths and kill the targets via IO Interactives set staged kills. You kinda have to play the game how THEY want not how YOU want. In previous Hitman's, Like Blood Money, targets would often be alone for a brief moment and give you opportunities to whack them how you wanted, with silverballers, whatever, before someone came back and caught you. You could play around and experiment, have fun, you had the time to do so. But this game doesn't really allow that because of all the bodyguards, enforcers and their poor placement within the maps. So what should be fun just becomes super annoying. If you buy the physical version you should be warned there is no game on the actual disc. The disc just serves and a verification key that allows you to download the game. So if you have no internet or poor internet stay well away as the disc version has to be downloaded removing the whole point of a disc version. I really wanted to enjoy this game. I did enjoy the first level in New Zealand, that was genuinely good if very short and small. It's just a house on beach but looks cool with a great atmosphere and was almost made right. But other levels simply aren't. Graphis are probably a little worse than Hitman Season 1, but not far off. Cutscenes are now still images which isn't great. Also, if you own Hitman Season 1 you can download a remastered Season 1 for free. But bare in mind you lose all saves and unlocks and have to start again. And some of the remastered levels look worse because of changes to lighting etc. And some levels are removed altogether like the Christmas Holiday Hoarders Paris mission. Expand
  9. Nov 13, 2018
    10
    Excellent game, improves on the last installment in many ways. Massive amount of things to do if you want to complete all the challenges.
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Nov 11, 2018
    85
    Despite IO’s assertion that Hitman 2 has improved AI, I don’t see it – this simply feels like new content for Hitman — and as I said, I’m very okay with that.
  2. Nov 9, 2018
    80
    Hitman 2 feels like a slightly improved content pack over the previous game, with new missions and locations but not enough innovation or meaningful changes in gameplay. If you liked the previous game, though, it won't disappoint you providing many hours in its quality stealth sandbox experience.
  3. Nov 9, 2018
    77
    Hitman 2 repeats the successful first chapter formula, but in this case, with some improvements and all the content at once. However, the feeling of being the same game, with more content, is here. New scenarios, more options, the same approach to challenging missions, multiplayer mode and more doesn’t seem to be enough to define it as a sequel. You can even play the first game directly, and also, you can buy it from the game itself. Maybe Hitman 2 seems to be an expansion more than a complete game.