Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
Buy On
  1. Nov 6, 2018
    82
    Call of Cthulhu offers one of the best experiences based on Cthulhu Mythos. Cyanide Studio has made an incredible job with the game's environment and story. As some of Focus Home Interactive games, Call of Cthulhu has some technical issues. However, its story, setting and characters shine and manage to bring us a totally recommended game.
  2. Nov 7, 2018
    80
    If you’re a fan of H.P. Lovecraft’s work then I feel this is one of the best experiences out there, simply because it loves its source material.
  3. Nov 5, 2018
    80
    Call of Cthulhu is such a dark game that if you turned off the lights while playing it, you might get sucked into the void.
  4. Nov 5, 2018
    70
    Call of Cthulhu won't set new standards or be recalled like one of the greatest Lovecraftian games, but it manages to deliver an interesting story (even if with a bit too many plot holes) and a very atmospheric investigative adventure.
  5. 70
    Call of Cthulu is one of the better games based on the works of H.P. Lovecraft, and despite its visual shortcomings does a great job at commanding your attention from start to finish.
  6. Oct 30, 2018
    65
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Nov 7, 2018
    64
    If you’re in the market for a first person horror game, you can go much worse than Call of Cthulhu, but be prepared for a lack of any real scares. The game leans heavily on the story and exploration of environments, so much so that when it does attempt the creepy stuff, it mostly comes off underdeveloped and a bit out of place. Go along with it though, and there’s something strangely compelling within.
  8. Nov 5, 2018
    60
    Fans of H.P. Lovecraft are going to enjoy this game more than most as it brings to life his weird and memorable world to an extent few games, if any, have ever done. Every character and setting feels pulled from the pages in a way that is definitely admirable. It's just too bad much else that surrounds it doesn't impress as much. With a lack of polish in every way, diluted investigations, and rigid stealth sections, Call of Cthulhu isn't the investigative adventure-RPG most will want it to be. If you adore the author, this adaptation is worth a look. Otherwise, you can toss it back into the ocean.
  9. Nov 1, 2018
    50
    Dwelling on these few low points may seem overly harsh--they account for no more than a small portion of the whole game, after all. But they are not merely poor moments in an otherwise solid game; they're awful pieces of game design utterly inconsistent with the rest of the game.
  10. Nov 5, 2018
    40
    Call of Cthulhu wants to be scary. But instead of invoking a sense of fear in the player, Call of Cthulhu is almost relaxing to play, especially during the detective sequences, which is the exact opposite way a horror game should make players feel. Fans of the genre shouldn’t bother seeking it out for that reason alone, but for many other reasons, it’s not worth playing in general, horror fan or not.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 28
  2. Negative: 12 out of 28
  1. Oct 30, 2018
    10
    Very atmospheric game. For lovers of creativity Lovecraft the most it. The graphics are not at an ideal level, but for me this is not the main thing.
  2. Nov 1, 2018
    7
    The story was gripping and interesting from start to finish and the characters that were present had a lot of diversity which in turn made theThe story was gripping and interesting from start to finish and the characters that were present had a lot of diversity which in turn made the story come alive. The presentation side of the game has a few shortcomings on the whole I enjoyed what both the visuals and sound design brought to the table.
    In terms of content the game has a decent amount for you to sink your teeth into and it also has a decent amount of replayability present as well. I enjoyed most of the puzzles in the game because they combined with the different environments extremely well which in turn made the game scary at times. The stealth and shooting sequences in the game failed to pack a punch and on the whole they weren’t very enjoyable. I would’ve liked to have been able to have more freedom because doing certain things carries with it a lot of limitations. In my opinion the gameplay is too simplistic for its own good and this does make the immersion levels dwindle a little. I’ve been following the development progress of Call of Cthulhu for a while now and everything I saw during this process made me become even more interested and excited with how the final phase of the game would play out. After sinking quite a few hours into the game it became clear that it wasn’t going to reach my lofty expectations but thankfully even though it didn’t reach these expectations it’s still a pretty decent game. One of my favourite things about this game was its story and that’s mainly because it remains gripping at all times and the characters did a wonderful job of bringing the story to life. In terms of the gameplay it’s a bit of a mixed bag. On the one hand you have some decent puzzles that connect with the story really well but on the other you have poor shooting and stealth sequences that ultimately hold the game back a little. I would also have liked a little more freedom when it came to certain aspects as well because it does make the gameplay more simplistic than it needs to be. That being said despite its shortcomings Call of Cthulhu still does enough to get a recommendation from me because it has a uniqueness that is worth experiencing in the end.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 31, 2018
    0
    I’m so irritated that I fell for the hype and bought this overpriced, terrible game. Graphics are amateur, voice acting bad, levels are filledI’m so irritated that I fell for the hype and bought this overpriced, terrible game. Graphics are amateur, voice acting bad, levels are filled with invisible walls, investigation is tedious. I bought a digital copy so I can’t even return it. Maybe worth 10$, six months from now in the discount bin. Full Review »