User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 57
  2. Negative: 8 out of 57

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 27, 2018
    10
    Wonderful game that finally came to PS4. Must buy for everyone who are at least a bit interested in metrovania style games. Gem in EA filled **** franchise-game industry.
  2. Nov 23, 2018
    10
    Um dos melhores metroidvania se não for o melhor com lore de dark souls e um mapa extremamente grande cheio de conteúdos e desafios com vários finais diferentes esse jogo merecia ta concorrendo como melhor indie do ano por que pra me é o melhor jogo indie de todos os tempos
  3. Nov 29, 2018
    1
    My 1/10 rating isn't that it was bad, it just wasn't good. The graphics do not have enough variety, soundtrack forgettable, not much fun. Giana Sisters Twisted Dreams is way better than this and cheaper at the moment. Platform games have had some great entries over the years. Mario, Sonic and Rayman are all better by miles. I have to question the scores on these reviews. This game is justMy 1/10 rating isn't that it was bad, it just wasn't good. The graphics do not have enough variety, soundtrack forgettable, not much fun. Giana Sisters Twisted Dreams is way better than this and cheaper at the moment. Platform games have had some great entries over the years. Mario, Sonic and Rayman are all better by miles. I have to question the scores on these reviews. This game is just hugely out classed in its genre by old and new games. I just don't thiink there is a reason to buy this game unless you are really in to platformers and have exhausted your other options. It is just completely uninspiring and boring. I gave it 1 for the nice controls but responsive controls won't make me play a game that isn't fun. Expand
  4. Oct 11, 2018
    10
    This is a very high quality, very difficult, Souls-Like platformer. There is a fine attention to detail present in this game that veteran gamers will appreciate. The controls are very tight, the enemies are charming, and the vocals are just dear.
  5. Nov 29, 2018
    9
    One of the things I enjoy most in games in hunting for secrets. This enigmatic 2D platformer has those in spades. Add these to great gameplay, a fantastic art-style, interesting characters, and an atmospheric soundtrack, and Hollow Knight is a top-of-the-line metroidvania/Soulslike. A very high-quality game.
  6. Nov 20, 2018
    10
    es el juego mas hermoso que vi si primero fue cuphead ahora es esta belleza graficos estupendos y un sistema de combate maravilloso excelente
  7. Oct 12, 2018
    10
    Fantastic, wonderful adventure. 2d platformer which is strongly connected with Dark Souls spirit and weird bugs world. Amazing experience.
  8. Oct 30, 2018
    9
    Hollow Knight is one of my favorite indie games. It's a masterpiece and definitely worth your time and money. If you enjoy soulslike games like Salt and Sanctuary you will love this little gem.

    The gameplay, artwork and soundtrack are top-notch. The controls are very intuitive and highly responsive. This is important because as I mentioned above it's a soulslike game and the difficulty
    Hollow Knight is one of my favorite indie games. It's a masterpiece and definitely worth your time and money. If you enjoy soulslike games like Salt and Sanctuary you will love this little gem.

    The gameplay, artwork and soundtrack are top-notch. The controls are very intuitive and highly responsive. This is important because as I mentioned above it's a soulslike game and the difficulty increases as you progress in the story.

    YES, you will die many, many times but that's the nature of the game desgin. If you hate dying over and over again you should just skip it. But if you are willing to get better and learn the attack patterns of your enemies, believe me, the satisfaction will be immense after defeating one of your most hated bosses. I once spent 4 days trying to defeat a boss (SPOILER: Nightmare King Grimm). At first, I thought the fight was impossible to win because the enemy was moving too fast for my eyes even to visualize. But after learning his patterns by heart and making a plan how to respond I finally did.

    So in short, yes some parts are very frustrating but also rewarding because you are forced to get better and better and actually feel the progress and the hard work you put in. The game never gets boring because you learn a variety of skills and new moves and are confronted with different types of enemies.

    But to be honest this game isn't perfect. It won't take you by the hand and guide you. You yourself have to discover the whole huge map alone. Because there is acutally no "real" story you don't know where to go first and what's even going on. As you progress you will learn more and more about the lore.
    So sometimes if you are stuck it's not a shame to look up a gamer's guide and find inspiration how to move on.

    Conclusion: It's a truly beautiful game, making it a must-play. The lovely scenery and fitting soundtrack suck you in. The gameplay is very challenging and never gets boring.
    Expand
  9. Nov 15, 2018
    10
    A Masterpiece, loved everything about this game, it is definitely a must play!
  10. Nov 15, 2018
    10
    Finally got to play it and its good from start to end. I recomend the game, if you have a taste for little dungeon like adventures with simple but charming art styles.
  11. Dec 13, 2018
    10
    Absolute masterpiece. Great game to play while listening to something else, but I wouldn't as the sound in this game is incredible.
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Oct 28, 2018
    90
    Visually stunning, mechanically rewarding – Hollow Knight is a game that works on just about every level. It presents challenge, but always fairly, with plentiful options to explore new pathways. [Issue#155, p.92]
  2. Oct 18, 2018
    80
    Hollow Knight: Voidheart Edition shakes up the MetroidVania space with excellent worldbuilding and the challenge to match. Though the game does not hold your hand, those willing to face the world of Hallownest will find a game with a lot of “Soul.”
  3. Oct 9, 2018
    90
    Hollow Knight: Voidheart Edition shines bright, which is ironic considering its solemn presentation and challenging gameplay. Offering a plethora of collectibles and content to explore as well as unrelenting confrontations, the game delivers a sensational, mysterious journey which will undoubtedly test your platforming skills.