Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 45
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 45
  3. Negative: 0 out of 45
Buy On
  1. Sep 14, 2018
    100
    Yet another magnificent upgrade from Larian to an already spectacular game. It just begs the question of where this team will go next.
  2. Sep 5, 2018
    100
    From lonely farmhouses through pitched battles with gods in far-flung dimensions, Divinity: Original Sin II is one of the most captivating role-playing games ever made in both its original and Definitive incarnations, with the latter proving that even the most complicated role-players can be ported successfully to gamepad-limited consoles. This immaculately conceived and emotion-wrought fantasy world, topped by brilliant tactical combat, make it one of the finest games of recent years, and it remains an instant classic in the pantheon of RPG greats.
  3. Sep 4, 2018
    100
    Divinity: Original Sin II - Definitive Edition is absolutely phenomenal; almost perfect in every way and easily one of the greatest RPGs of not just recent years but all time - easily able to stand alongside the greats not just in this style, like Knights of the Old Republic, but alongside any RPG. It puts Bioware's recent efforts to shame. It's fantastic that it's coming to console and that more people will have an opportunity to play this magnificent masterpiece.
  4. Aug 30, 2018
    100
    Last year I named Divinity Original Sin II the best game I had played this millennium. This year I need to amend that statement. Divinity Original Sin II – The Definitive Edition the best RPG I have ever played. Its transition to console might not be a smooth as I would have liked, but there are a slew of improvements and welcome additions that make it more than it was, and the exceptional quality of the game is undeniable.
  5. Aug 29, 2018
    100
    Divinity: Original Sin 2 Definitive Edition is, frankly, a better version of an already tremendous game. The fact that console players can finally immerse themselves in this fantasy world is a wonderful thing, the fact that it has been done with so few issues puts that achievement on a completely different level.
  6. Aug 29, 2018
    100
    One of the best computer role-playing games ever made works just as well on consoles, with a staggering level of complexity and flexibility but still a very accessible sense of fun.
  7. Aug 31, 2018
    96
    Divinity: Original Sin 2 Definitive Edition is a new way to play one of the absolute best RPGs in years...It’s flexibility, personality, and charm make for an amazing adventure.
  8. Aug 31, 2018
    96
    Divinity: Original Sin II – Definitive Edition is the best way for PC, PS4 and Xbox One players to experience Larian Studios’ masterpiece. The transition to consoles has been a smooth one, and PC players who own the original get rewarded with a free upgrade – meaning there’s no excuse to not jump into Rivellon for another playthrough. The Definitive Edition adds so much more content and quality-of-live improvements to an already great base game, it’s a must-play for isometric RPG aficionados everywhere who value a crazy amount of complexity, interactivity and replayability in their role-play.
  9. Sep 19, 2018
    95
    Divinity Original Sin II Definitive Edition is a near perfect RPG. It does everything well, from story, characters, combat, dialog and of course co-op. The refinements also make the game accessible for a much broader audience that need to play this game.
  10. Sep 10, 2018
    95
    Divinity: Original Sin 2 – Definitive Edition is a very touching game. It pulls at your heartstrings with its charm and pushes you headfirst into its world, slowly drawing you into its core. The extra polishing on display helps a shining star burn even brighter, as this game will offer players one of the greatest RPG experiences of all time the way it was meant to be played.
  11. Sep 6, 2018
    95
    Divinity Original Sin 2 was one of the best RPGs released in recent years. This Definitive Edition doesn’t change that fact. Loaded with content, it also features a good controler’s compatibility, allowing all console players to enjoy this gem.
  12. Sep 3, 2018
    95
    This game is one of those RPGs fans of the genre can’t miss, and now arrives on more platforms for everyone to enjoy with all the content and some enhancements.
  13. Aug 29, 2018
    94
    Divinity: Original Sin 2 - Definitive Edition is one of the best hardcore RPGs of the last few years, and it arrives on consoles more fit and handsome than ever.
  14. Sep 4, 2018
    91
    One of the greatest classic RPG of the generation. Story, setting and freedom of action seems unparalleled, although controls and menu navigation for consoles version still feel a bit rough.
  15. Oct 10, 2018
    90
    Overall, Divinity: Original Sin II is still an excellent RPG experience that uses intuitive mechanics and player choice to an incredible degree to make every encounter challenging and interesting. Divinity II is a beast of an RPG that does many different things incredibly well. It's not perfect from a technical standpoint, and fights and leveling can be frustrating at times, but these are minor quibbles when compared to all of the good stuff that's in the game and works well. If you're in the market for a new RPG with interesting storytelling and an appropriate amount of freedom, make Divinity II your next adventure.
  16. Oct 1, 2018
    90
    The PlayStation 4 version is an excellent conversion from an already great PC game. Very engaging gameplay with plenty of lore to discover. Great humor, lots of challenge and we could go on and on about its qualities. The graphical performance isn't consistent however but that shouldn't detract you from what is a fantastic game. You need to play this game.
  17. Oct 1, 2018
    90
    Divinity Original Sin is a very loved game among fans of strategic RPG's. Larian Studios sets the bar even higher with this game, as you have even more races and classes to choose from, without losing the atmosphere of the original.
  18. Sep 23, 2018
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  19. Sep 23, 2018
    90
    It successfully evokes the feel of playing a classic table-top RPG like no other game before. It encourages you to be imaginative, and rewards your curiosity with appropriate depths and details. This game is a masterpiece you shouldn’t miss.
  20. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Sep 21, 2018
    90
    You’ll feel lost, and you’ll definitely feel frustrated. But if you didn’t, the moment of controller-dropping revelation and last-gasp victory wouldn’t feel so precious. A brave and singular RPG. [Issue#154, p.78]
  21. 90
    Divinity: Original Sin 2 - Definitive Edition is an expertly crafted CRPG that has survived the port to console nigh on perfectly. The amount of player choice in every facet of gameplay is superb and the amount of content, combined with the replayability, could easily keep you busy for hundreds of hours.
  22. 90
    Divinity Original Sin 2 is the same great RPG that fans of the original remember, just made better.
  23. Sep 7, 2018
    90
    This singular vision is perfectly at home on consoles. The experience is mirrored more or less perfectly on the controller and the addition of split-screen is a welcome one. Its characters, world and combat are a breath of fresh air in a stale genre. Though new content would not have hurt this supposed Definitive Edition, Original Sin 2 is perhaps the most compelling Role-Playing Game in a decade.
  24. 90
    Divinity: Original Sin 2 is very much a love letter to the RPGs of yesteryear, and it's a proof of how enjoyable those games can still be.
  25. Sep 2, 2018
    90
    With the addition of new moves and abilities, and with plot changes, this Definitive Edition perfects an already stunning RPG. Also on consoles, Divinity: Original Sin II entertains and amazes.
  26. Aug 31, 2018
    90
    The final version of the title, in fact, is not just a collection of the content published until now, but is something more: a gargantuan dish, enriched and improved.
  27. Aug 31, 2018
    90
    This is how role-playing games must be ported from PC to consoles. Content-rich and with a well conceived as well as executed control scheme you will get more than 80 hours of exceptional entertainment.
  28. Aug 30, 2018
    90
    Divinity: Original Sin II is the perfect definition of freedom in the role-playing genre. What Larian Studios has achieved here exceeds all expectations. It’s inspired by the classics, but it wants to innovate. It picks up elements from the original, but improves on them and expands them. Few RPGs can carry their acronym more proudly than the game we have here.
  29. Aug 29, 2018
    90
    The control scheme may take some getting used to, and you may find yourself getting bogged down in some of the grittier details of the game. But once you get used to it, you may just have the role-playing experience of your life.
  30. 90
    Divinity: Original Sin 2 Definitive Edition may be the best representation of a CRPG on consoles to date, and is by far one of the best role-playing experiences currently available on any platform. Larian have outdone themselves yet again, and their love shines through every outmatched encounter, every failed persuasion, and every dead Magister.
  31. Aug 29, 2018
    90
    Divinity: Original Sin II is a must-play for every RPG fan, thanks to its complete freedom and its complex-yet-satisfying gameplay.
  32. Aug 29, 2018
    90
    Not only is the story welcoming to both returning fans and newcomers to the franchise, but the various difficulty settings, specifically Story Mode, give an accessible option for beginners to experience this style of gameplay with minimal frustration.
  33. 90
    Divinity: Original Sin 2 – Definitive Edition is still the RPG dream it has been since its release. Better still, there are a few compelling reasons to own this title on PS4 this go around, and players don’t need to sacrifice how it looks or performs in order to do so. If you haven’t played Divinity: Original Sin 2 – Definitive Edition and you’re into RPGs, tabletop gaming, or sprawling narratives full of choice, now is the time to jump in.
  34. Aug 29, 2018
    90
    Almost certainly the finest RPG experience on the current generation of consoles. The sheer range and depth of the combat coupled with the interesting and well written dialogue and story produces a vast and rewarding experience that continually surprises and delights. Ironically, the only real negative aspect is that the sheer size of the game is overwhelming and many will not see it through to the end.
  35. Aug 29, 2018
    90
    With stellar writing, challenging combat, a compelling central quest, and dozens of worthwhile side activities, Divinity: Original Sin II is one of the finest role-playing games available on PlayStation 4. There’s the occasional small issue and some scant technical hiccups – particularly when playing online – but these are minor quibbles. This is a dense, engrossing adventure, packed to the hilt with stories worth hearing, conflicts you’ll want to resolve, and secret treasures just begging to be discovered.
  36. Sep 9, 2018
    89
    Fans of fantasy RPGs will absolutely love their time with Divinity: Original Sin II Definitive Edition. Its unforgiving yet rewarding campaign is one of the most satisfying adventures that you'll ever partake in.
  37. Oct 5, 2018
    88
    Original Sin 2 shakes your hand a little too hard when you first meet. It needs to relax until you get to know it better. It's endlessly surprising, with characters that lose their stiffness over time, in dialogues and battle logs that piece together a dangerous, thoughtful world. It's tough. But the reward is that you get tougher, too. It still needs to clean up some of its tactical sloppiness, though. Having a ton of options in battle is only good if its rules are fair and make sense.
  38. Sep 17, 2018
    87
    Divinity: Original Sin 2 Definitive Edition is a fantastic advancement on the original game, which was already a groundbreaking and epic experience to begin with. Enhancing the graphics and creating a more console-friendly interface are great, although the method in which the menus work feels sluggish and controls awkwardly to me. The core experience is the same and for those who love dungeon crawling or are fans of DnD, this is the closest you can possibly get to an authentic DnD tabletop experience in digital form. The actions and consequences are entirely up to the player, creating endless replayability options with your custom or in-game heroes.
  39. Aug 29, 2018
    87
    An excellent port of a true masterpiece. The only real drawback is the control system: the dualshock isn't the most streamlined means of taming an isometric RPG.
  40. Sep 24, 2018
    86
    Do you like being tactically challenged and do you love farfetched, beautifully told fantasy stories? Immerse yourself in the world of Divinity 2: Original Sin 2, because this RPG is a gift that keeps on giving, if you are the kind of gamer that likes great characters and a deep battle system over gigantic battle royale experiences or an Active Touch System with Cristiano Ronaldo.
  41. 85
    A constantly evolving game that will keep you occupied for hours and months on end. With fantastic storytelling and engaging combat there is a lot to love about Divinity Original Sin II.
  42. 85
    The control system is less comfortable and the framerate not so stable, but Divinity: Original Sin 2 remains an excellent RPG also on console, with several improvements to the pure content.
  43. Aug 29, 2018
    85
    One of the best PC RPGs of recent years loses a little of its shine on console, but remains a fantastic experience throughout.
  44. Sep 3, 2018
    84
    Divinity: Original Sin 2 comes from PC world to become one of the most complete RPG games in PlayStation 4 catalog. The freedom of action it offers will appeal to players who are more familiar with the Rol genre, but maybe the amateur players will find too much complexity in this game. The control is not accessible at all and the keyboard and mouse are missing on more than one occasion.
  45. Aug 29, 2018
    80
    Overlook these little niggles and Divinity: Original Sin 2 is the best RPG to make it to consoles since The Witcher 3. It’s vast, engaging and surprising. The willingness to accommodate many different types of play may have its drawbacks, but once you’ve understood the systems and given thought to what kind of hero you want to be, you can sink literally hundreds of hours into your life on Rivellon.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 165 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 165
  1. Aug 31, 2018
    10
    Wow, just absolutely Wow. I'm only ten hours into act 2 with a 60 hour save and I'm minblown, it's as close to perfection as I've ever seen aWow, just absolutely Wow. I'm only ten hours into act 2 with a 60 hour save and I'm minblown, it's as close to perfection as I've ever seen a game. I have little to critque that isn't nitpicking.
    I's give this an eleven out of ten if I could, it's the best RPG I've ever played and perhaps the best game of ever played even beating the witcher.
    Every aspect of this game ozzes perfect from sound, the writing and voice acting, turn based combat, the visuals, the insane depth of choice...I could go on, there is no aspect of this game that dips below anything less tha great. I absolutely love it and it was well worth the wait for the definitve edition.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 31, 2018
    10
    Divinity Original Sin 2 expands on everything that made the original great. It's a true masterpiece. Larian Studios has stepped up what itDivinity Original Sin 2 expands on everything that made the original great. It's a true masterpiece. Larian Studios has stepped up what it means to be an RPG. Full Review »
  3. Aug 31, 2018
    10
    Man, I just love Divinity Original Sin 1 and Divinity: Original Sin 2. No games after and before these has been as good as Divinity: OriginalMan, I just love Divinity Original Sin 1 and Divinity: Original Sin 2. No games after and before these has been as good as Divinity: Original Sin 1 and Divinity: Original Sin 2. There is a gaping hole in my heart that nothing but a real-life version of Sebille can fill. I may not be able to find love in a meaningful relationship, but that's okay...because Divinity: Original Sin loves me and I love it. That's why I turn into a white hot ball of untethered rage when someone dares to criticize it or say they like another game more, I mean, you're taking a dump on my love there, A-Hole.

    Saying you like any games besides Divinity: Original Sin 1 and Divinity: Original Sin 2 at this point is just a straight up lie and you know it, just like the lie I tell myself when I say I'm satisfied with where I am in life. I know there are pathetic white-knightish types of losers out there who would say games, as with other entertainment mediums, are pretty subjective...but they should go burn in Hell. Divinity: Original Sin is, objectively, the greatest thing our species has created since the moveable type printing press.

    So when I see people happy with other games, genuinely enjoying themselves, I just attribute it to them being casuals who don't understand that the AAA game industry is literally r-a-p-ing their wallets. I bet they can't even speedrun Divinity: Original Sin 1 and Divinity: Original Sin 2 with a modified Wiimote while they're blindfolded like I can.

    My friend told me that he liked Battlefield the other day, so I drowned his dog in the pool while he was on vacation and blamed it on EA. My other friend said he liked Skyrim (that casual garbage) more than Divinity: Original Sin! So let's just say it's no coincidence that his mom went missing the same night I cooked him a burger for dinner.

    I guess what I'm saying is that Divinity: Original Sin 1 and Divinty: Original Sin 2 is ISUDBWJANAHKAKDFBWJMCHRHSJASNBSJANFBSJXNDBSNSNDNHWHAHS
    CHRISTENDME
    Full Review »