User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 12, 2018
    9
    This newest additiion to the Larry series is great. IT finally goes back to the roots and delivers a charming and funny game.
    It's hard not to laugh with all the subtle and more often not so subtle hints to existing persons, companys, apps
    Everyone who likes point and click adventures should be playing this. It's not like humor filled ones are abundant these days.
  2. Nov 13, 2018
    8
    Although sometimes the humor is less sophisticated than the original games, this new Leisure Suit Larry adventure is a return to form for the character. A thoroughly enjoyable adventure game that is full of clever puzzles and funny characters. If you are a fan of the old adventure games, give this game a go, you wont regret it. If you are a new fan... jump in both feet at a time, you'llAlthough sometimes the humor is less sophisticated than the original games, this new Leisure Suit Larry adventure is a return to form for the character. A thoroughly enjoyable adventure game that is full of clever puzzles and funny characters. If you are a fan of the old adventure games, give this game a go, you wont regret it. If you are a new fan... jump in both feet at a time, you'll have a blast. Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2018
    10
    So far I love it. It's funny, challenging and it feels exactly like playing the old games outside of some modern gameplay improvements (ie: fast travel, better controls, graphics, etc) which are a welcome improvement. Easily my favorite one.
  4. Nov 7, 2018
    9
    And here we have Larry again. Wet dreams don't dry and wet brands are milked forever. Let's get this straight - it's a rip-off. But who cares if it's great? I love it, I've just played 7th and to be honest, this one makes me laugh louder (I don't laugh to a computer, I'm not some kind of a weirdo, let's say I've just smiled). Great job, 2/10. I got you! I don't like a few puns and theAnd here we have Larry again. Wet dreams don't dry and wet brands are milked forever. Let's get this straight - it's a rip-off. But who cares if it's great? I love it, I've just played 7th and to be honest, this one makes me laugh louder (I don't laugh to a computer, I'm not some kind of a weirdo, let's say I've just smiled). Great job, 2/10. I got you! I don't like a few puns and the humour is from recent times which isn't a minus, but I just miss the old times like a grandpa or something. I have a great time but I can't rate it 10 because it's Larry and he is a legend. You can't rate 10/10 on a rip-off ok? But it's awesome to feel like a child again. (I definitely didn't play Larry when I was a kid ok? Definitely.) Expand
  5. Fuz
    Nov 12, 2018
    3
    - Looks like a flash game
    - That's not Larry
    - No Al Lowe
    - Bad writing and joke that try to monkey the original but don't come even close

    = trash
  6. Nov 12, 2018
    7
    Leisure Suite Larry: Wet Dreams don't dry is not the best point-to-click adventure I've played. But voices and jokes are well done.
    The progress while playing is however new and annoying for adventure games. You'll find far too many items that you won't be able to use until much later. In addition, at the same time you are confronted with far too many puzzles that require items that you
    Leisure Suite Larry: Wet Dreams don't dry is not the best point-to-click adventure I've played. But voices and jokes are well done.
    The progress while playing is however new and annoying for adventure games. You'll find far too many items that you won't be able to use until much later. In addition, at the same time you are confronted with far too many puzzles that require items that you can't find yet. This always leads to frustrating moments when you combine all kinds of items only to find out that you can't find the required items yet and as soon as you finally get into a new area, the required items literally fly towards you without any enjoyable effort. This way the once stubborn puzzles are mastered far too easily and without any fun in puzzling or combining.
    Expand
  7. Nov 17, 2018
    9
    The negative 3 point user review is completely prejudiced and without merit, as the writer hasn’t even tried the game (I know this for a fact from a gaming forum) but just dismisses it altogether because it isn’t by Al Lowe and he (imo unfoundedly) doesn’t like its "flash-like" visual style he only knows from trailers. Apropos trailers, after seeing one months before release (!) this userThe negative 3 point user review is completely prejudiced and without merit, as the writer hasn’t even tried the game (I know this for a fact from a gaming forum) but just dismisses it altogether because it isn’t by Al Lowe and he (imo unfoundedly) doesn’t like its "flash-like" visual style he only knows from trailers. Apropos trailers, after seeing one months before release (!) this user already said he will hate the game beyond reason because the graphics were "just wrong". I hope this shows how serious one can take this negative “review”.

    Some of the mixed scores don’t exactly do the game justice as well - As usual certain "professional" critics are turned off by puzzles that aren’t as plain as the nose in your face, others just dismiss it because it isn’t completely similar to older Larry titles but this is a new interpretation and not a remake or a copy of a predecessor and after having just finished the game I gotta say the devs did a very good job in bringing a slightly different version of Larry Laffer to life again.

    I for one am very positively surprised. Didn‘t expect too much when I first heard of it but in the end LSL: Wet Dreams Don‘t Dry has become a very good classic Point’n’click adventure with a neatly balanced puzzle difficulty, quirky characters and a funny story.

    I also liked the in-game time jump from 1987 to 2018 which has resulted in the game being full to the brim with witty references to our modern social media culture but also plenty of nods to the older LSL games (You can die in the game for example but without much consequences as autosave reloads you directly to the last point before Larry bit the dust).

    Pros:
    - Plenty of classic (inventory-based) puzzles with usually perfectly balanced difficulty.
    - Sure, it’s possible to get stuck from time to time but normally as long as you pay attention and revisit locations/NPCs help from a walkthrough should hardly ever be necessary.
    - Long playing time, especially for an adventure (~15 hours)
    - Easy, efficient controls
    - Great gameflow, you usually always know what has to be done next in order to further the story
    - Nice humor with lots of funny cultural references
    - World is full of positively weird and quirky NPCs
    - A lot of usable items, which speaks for the great variety in puzzles and quests. Of course the size of the game’s inventory can look intimidating as it blows up quickly at first. You sometimes have 20 items or more. It usually gets obvious what to use where and when though which is a very impressive feat imo considering the item count.
    - Story always stays interesting, as you just want to help Larry getting his "Timber" score to 90

    Cons:
    - Some errors with the English Localization. Most are just smaller spelling, grammatical errors but there are also instances where the text doesn’t match the spoken word. For example, one bouncer says Larry can only enter his club when his Timber score is at least 25. In the subtitles it says 40 though.
    - The German voice of Larry doesn’t fit at all and his lines often lack any emotion. Even though he’s the German voice of Barney Stinson of HIMYM, he didn’t do a very good job in this game and it doesn’t sound as if he felt like making a lot of effort.
    - Because of this I switched to English after a while (which is pretty rare for me with a game from a German developer). But the English speaker does a much better job, the only drawback being that his high pitched voice doesn’t fit the new taller, leaner version of Larry as much anymore. Luckily, most of the other characters are voiced fittingly and flawlessly though.
    - In rare circumstances - nearly always if one overlooks something - it’s still possible to get stuck for a bit of course and you just have to play around a little and try certain items from your inventory on other objects just to see if it leads to something. These instances are rare and far between and rather typical of a challenging, classic PnC game anyway, but some people might be deterred by it. Maybe a hint function would have helped in that regard though.
    - The humor and Larry’s sexual innuendos probably aren’t for anybody, especially today. But he’s a guy from the 80s who overslept the past 30 years after all.

    The first cons can probably be explained by limited budget and time constraints. All in all LSL: WDDD is a great classic Point’n’click adventure with very good production value, an amusing story and funny characters. The devs showed a great love for details and packed the game with challenging, yet still logical puzzles. For anybody who likes classic, puzzle-heavy Point’n’Click adventures - games in the vein of Monkey Island or some of the titles from Daedalic for example - this is a must buy.
    Expand
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Nov 16, 2018
    75
    Wet Dreams Don’t Dry feels like a fan project. Deliciously full of tribute to the source material, hardcore gameplay layout and charming ideas for the connection of the past with the present, but also hindered by low budget technical implementation and slight inability to meet the creative writing standards of its original creator. It is an entertaining effort which washes away the shame behind disasters such as Box Office Bust and we hope it can be but the start for new adventures of Larry. Maybe next time under the watchful eye of Al Lowe.
  2. Nov 16, 2018
    80
    Wet Dreams Don’t Dry is an excellent addition to the Larry brand. Fans of the original games will not be disappointed, and newcomers will find a solid series introduction playing the lovable loser updated to present day.
  3. Nov 16, 2018
    80
    The new adventure of the legend Larry Laffer is an excellent point and click graphic adventure that takes us back to the golden age of the genre. Sadly it offers an anticlimactic ending, few locations, and a somewhat obtuse logic for its puzzles.