User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 193 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 193

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 30, 2018
    10
    A step beyond everything that was good in Forza Horizon 3 while fixing a lot of the aches and pains. Online events are seamless with the open world, loading screens are shorter than FH3, graphics are are smooth 60fps on all ultra with a 980ti at 1080p. It's clear a lot of passion went into this iteration.
  2. Sep 29, 2018
    10
    PC review here - all settings on ultra 2 year old pc hardware runs like a dream no crash's played 4 hours straight.

    This graphics are photo realistic in parts - its an open world arcade racer and its very good at making you feel apart of its world. I have stopped several times to pause and go into photo mode to see if i can get some amazing shots to share online with everyone in
    PC review here - all settings on ultra 2 year old pc hardware runs like a dream no crash's played 4 hours straight.

    This graphics are photo realistic in parts - its an open world arcade racer and its very good at making you feel apart of its world.

    I have stopped several times to pause and go into photo mode to see if i can get some amazing shots to share online with everyone in game , its truly magical!

    Music is great and the sound of the cars are not bad either - i google the real sound of a dodge viper and to my surprise was pretty accurate.

    There is a market place to buy and sell cars, buy parts and tune them up, the best thing i found was i can buy other peoples tuned up kits to apply to my car - brilliant !

    Customize a paint job is amazing! wow there is hundreds of incredible designs people are making all shared and can be applied too your car online free- from spongebob to fallout its all here

    i was skeptical of arcade racers i usually get bored in couple hours but this has me coming back for sure an easy 20 to 30 hours prob more
    Expand
  3. Oct 5, 2018
    10
    I have this game on both PC and XboxX. Obviously, with a 108Ti and an i7-7700k is going to knock the quality to bits in comparison to Xbox, but both are very playable and both look amazing. Starting out in FH4 seems like they cut lots of stuff out from the previous game, but mostly it just needs unlocking in a different way. The character customization is a bit like OnRush (if you haveI have this game on both PC and XboxX. Obviously, with a 108Ti and an i7-7700k is going to knock the quality to bits in comparison to Xbox, but both are very playable and both look amazing. Starting out in FH4 seems like they cut lots of stuff out from the previous game, but mostly it just needs unlocking in a different way. The character customization is a bit like OnRush (if you have played it) where you win items or buy items in the store, and whilst its a bit gimmicky, I am having fun dressing my male character in the most feminine way. I do this because I thinks it's crazy that I can spend hard earned Forzathon points to win pink high heels and a skirt....As for the driving, being a citizen of the UK I am enjoying the scenery I am used to when I visit 'Up North'. The handling is pretty much the same as FH3 and there is in no way a shortage of stuff to do in the game.....One thing I am annoyed with so far is the idiots who still insist on ramming you at corners instead of slowing down without any penalty. I am yet to play in online adventure with my club so I'm hoping that will make some difference....I have to give this game 10/10, I just wish it had come out a few months ago because now I have no time to play this alongside AC:Odyssey! ….Looking forward to everything that is to come from the Ultimate Edition and really can't wait to play the Goliath equivalent once I rank 20 in racing series. Expand
  4. Oct 8, 2018
    9
    Amazing arcade racing game. Absolutely beautiful in 4k at 60fps. Took away one point because of the weird decision to not let people quit online team mode. After one match ends, the next one begins immediately and nobody has a chance to leave if they want to. They're forced to leave after the next one starts, causing their team to be down a person.
  5. Oct 14, 2018
    7
    Game great but very repetitive. To be honest, it could easily have been UK DLC for Horizon 3.

    Horizon 4 could easily be a 10/10 but it lacks social features and it's still a buggy mess from launch. Pros: - Game is on Game Pass, you don't have to spend $60 on this. -- I feel like every Forza game should be on Game Pass. - The seasons are pretty great, each have different races and
    Game great but very repetitive. To be honest, it could easily have been UK DLC for Horizon 3.

    Horizon 4 could easily be a 10/10 but it lacks social features and it's still a buggy mess from launch.

    Pros:
    - Game is on Game Pass, you don't have to spend $60 on this.
    -- I feel like every Forza game should be on Game Pass.
    - The seasons are pretty great, each have different races and set barn finds.

    Major flaws:
    - In your 'FH4 Group' that you join. There isn't a button in that tab that say's "Join group's session."
    - Buggy mess. Contacted developers on both forums and Twitter but issues aren't being fixed. They would rather fix in-game credit glitches then the actual game.
    -- Bugs? Crashes to desktop, lag spikes, freezes and more.
    - Limited songs on radio stations, after while, you hear the same song multiple times throughout a play session.
    Expand
  6. Oct 7, 2018
    9
    Yes, Microsoft store suck, but don't spill your anger on game because of it. Game is great and it's hard to find a better arcade racing game than forza horizon. It doesn't take self too seriously, but also not to absurd levels (yes, the driving physics are extremely good for arcade racing game), aims for fun factor and it delivers.

    4th installment in the series is an improvement over
    Yes, Microsoft store suck, but don't spill your anger on game because of it. Game is great and it's hard to find a better arcade racing game than forza horizon. It doesn't take self too seriously, but also not to absurd levels (yes, the driving physics are extremely good for arcade racing game), aims for fun factor and it delivers.

    4th installment in the series is an improvement over predecessor in every single way - first of all, seasons are game changer. It not only adds diversity and vibe to the game, but also changes a lot how the game plays and how individual cars handle during each season. Next, they changed how you progress thru the game - no more unlocking festival sites, you can now stick with your favorite race time without necessity to do various race types to unlock next festival chapters - basically each race type operates now individually. The also added few new race types / story episodes. It's now a proper sandbox where you do what you want at any time.

    Online component got also improvements, basically clubs, more ways for pvp interaction - and I didn't even fully explore online features yet (because the game is massive with lots of different things to do.

    The game also runs a lot better than predecessor while looking absolutely stellar overall, however there some minor issues with texture streaming (mainly ground and foliage) - they don't affect performance, but they hinder visual fidelity when textures streaming lags and you get it popping up in your face basically. The other issue is the sound of certain cars being a bit off, but someone who is not car enthusiast in real life probably will not even notice it. Lastly - the implementation o wheel support is not great - I can't speak for myself, since I only play with controller, but that's the complaint I've heard from friends that have tried a wheel.

    All in all - this very fun and engaging arcade racing game. It's all about fun and it delivers. If you don't wish to own game permanently, you can just use game pass and pay for as much as you need - and for 10bucks/month - it's a steal basically (plus if you never used game pass service, you get 14day free trial).
    Expand
  7. Oct 9, 2018
    10
    More than enough cars, countless modes and races, unlocking all modes takes a little too long.
  8. Oct 27, 2018
    3
    its a good game but its a freaking expencive game. 27,99€ for the ViP Car Pass or u wont get some cars after paying 60€ for the Game. F*** u Microsoft and bc thats not enough uu put this on the crap Microsoft Store... the game itself makes a lot of fun and the gameplay is great but these 2 points are killing the game...
  9. Nov 2, 2018
    0
    Bought this game for PC on Win 10. After a long download and install it wouldn't play. 2 error messages; You need to log into an Xbox account (Not only was I logged in, to be sure I even downloaded an app. to be sure). Also an error saying I didn't have my latest graphics drivers? I made absolutely sure without any question they were up to date. I troubleshooted the game for 6 hrs. ReadBought this game for PC on Win 10. After a long download and install it wouldn't play. 2 error messages; You need to log into an Xbox account (Not only was I logged in, to be sure I even downloaded an app. to be sure). Also an error saying I didn't have my latest graphics drivers? I made absolutely sure without any question they were up to date. I troubleshooted the game for 6 hrs. Read tons of forums (lots of people are having the same issues without any solution from MS). I reinstalled the game from scratch. That also didn't help. Finally I had to ask for a refund. That was not as easy as it should have been. It was a nightmare! When I buy STEAM games, they simply work. I have about 100 STEAM games and about 10 AAA titles loaded on my PC right now without any issues. This is 100% proof that Microsoft really hates PC gamer's and wants us all to be Xbox slaves. I would never buy a console though. Ever. The fact they wouldn't and or couldn't fix these seemingly simple errors says "we dont care". I will NEVER buy another MS game. The support was beyond bad. One support tech openly lied to me over and over via chat. It was eye opening as I am an IT tech as well and his behavior was anything but professional. I complained about him and guess what? They sent me back to him where he openly insulted me. I'm 49. I don't take well to some 18 yr old kid from India who cant ever write in proper English, insult me. Microsoft must think they are too big to fail? Pathetic. Expand
  10. Oct 6, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is a pity there are several brands of cars, such as Mitsubishi and Toyota Expand
  11. Oct 24, 2018
    2
    As much as I'd like to give the game a positive rating because the driving is actually fun, I just can't due to the lack of multiplayer racing. In its current form, I'm forced to give this title a 3/10 in terms of its multiplayer experience. The only reliable method of racing other players is "team adventure" mode, where you are forced into a team and have no control over winning orAs much as I'd like to give the game a positive rating because the driving is actually fun, I just can't due to the lack of multiplayer racing. In its current form, I'm forced to give this title a 3/10 in terms of its multiplayer experience. The only reliable method of racing other players is "team adventure" mode, where you are forced into a team and have no control over winning or losing. The addition of a "solo adventure" mode where you race pvp 1 v 11 instead of 6 v 6 pvp would fix this problem. Until this is done, I've stopped playing for the most part. Expand
  12. Oct 3, 2018
    10
    forza horizon 4 é o auge da saga, consegue melhorar oq tinha de bom no fantástico fh3, conseguindo se tornar o melhor jogo de corrida dessa geração, o trabalho da playground é espetacular e acima da média, ainda tem espaços para melhorias, entretanto oq é apresentado aqui já é bem impressionante
  13. Oct 6, 2018
    10
    FORZA HORIZON 4 10/10
    Only Halloween is missing in this game 10/10.There is no race in a ghostly forest.
  14. Oct 6, 2018
    10
    I *may* be a little biased as a reviewer but I thought this game was the best entry in the Horizon spin-offs. It is at least equal to, if not better than FH3 in most ways. (I pre-ordered both on launch and FH3 is regarded as the best entry so I'm comparing this game to FH3)
    The last racing game I played was the Crew 2 so this is leaps and bounds better than that game, which made this
    I *may* be a little biased as a reviewer but I thought this game was the best entry in the Horizon spin-offs. It is at least equal to, if not better than FH3 in most ways. (I pre-ordered both on launch and FH3 is regarded as the best entry so I'm comparing this game to FH3)
    The last racing game I played was the Crew 2 so this is leaps and bounds better than that game, which made this even more exhilarating.
    The Story:
    Good for a racing game, as racing games are mostly focused on gameplay and having fun driving.
    Better that FH3 in my opinion, as FH3 had a lackluster and boring story to me.
    The Gameplay:
    Absolutely stellar. Handling controls amazingly with a keyboard (because PC Master Race) and I haven't had any issues with it being too tight or too loose.
    FH3 had mostly the same gameplay so I would say they are equal on these fronts.
    Game Feel:
    This game... I don't know what to say. The environment is fantastic (on ultra settings of course), the map makes you feel like you're in Britain, and overall the game makes me want to hitch a flight to Britain and race on the streets of Edinburgh.
    FH3 didn't really do this for me. I don't know why, but the game didn't make me *feel* like I was having fun. Sure, the experience was fun for a couple hours, but I dreaded finishing FH3.
    User Experience/Microsoft Store/Crashes/Etc.:
    I didn't have *bad* experiences in the game, although there were some things that happened that I didn't care for, like me having to look up how to redeem a code on Microsoft Store. My biggest problem with the game is that it wouldn't let me connect to servers. This didn't matter that much to me, as I usually play racing games singleplayer as that is what I grew up with, playing Need for Speed and Midnight Club.

    Overall, absolutely adored this game and would recommend it for anyone who likes racing games, wants to get into racing games, or just likes playing great games in general.
    Expand
  15. Dec 2, 2018
    7
    It's a great game but a bad sequel. I wish i could give a higher vote and i maybe will be able to in future, playground seems reactive to our feedback this time around. The main issue i have with this game is the multiplayer, the social component was kind of broken. Ghosting, lack of global waypoints and similar things caused player interactions to become irrelevant. In FH3 i had 3 mainIt's a great game but a bad sequel. I wish i could give a higher vote and i maybe will be able to in future, playground seems reactive to our feedback this time around. The main issue i have with this game is the multiplayer, the social component was kind of broken. Ghosting, lack of global waypoints and similar things caused player interactions to become irrelevant. In FH3 i had 3 main activities i liked to commit: drifting (meetings spots at the parking lot and around some hills), drag racing (airport) and normal cruising (you would just see people forming convoys which you could join). Now everyone is minding their own business, people literally drive through you because you don't even have a reason to acknowledge othter's existence.. Another issue are the drivavatars, they do really stupid car choices. They will only choose certain cars and often end up having all the same, sometimes they don't make no sense at all and you end up racing in a super car against a horde of engine swapped ford focus and it just looks dumb. Rubber-banding is also still a big problem and the map is quite boring to drive even if incredibly beautiful. I also wish they would add more everyday cars instead of so many super/hyper cars. Expand
  16. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    Incredible graphics, sound, gameplay depth and engine! The open world is the best out there! Outstanding!
  17. Oct 1, 2018
    10
    10/10 to counter the cuck who put it as 0/10 because he was mad that he couldnt figure out how to make his ps4 controller work on windows. Google it my guy, it can be done with third party software.
  18. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    Playground Games have consistently proven that they are the best racing game developers out there and they continue this with Forza Horizon 4 which is simply the best arcade racer of the past decade. I really hope the talent of this developer shows again with the next Fable game that Playground Games is supposedly developing.
  19. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    It is a good game and contains everything a game needs, physics, graphics, gameplay, sound, etc.
  20. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    Looks and runs great, no complaints here. This is going to keep my entertained for hours on end. Not to mention it looks absolutely gorgeous on my 4K HDR TV
  21. Sep 30, 2018
    10
    This is the best racing game series I have ever played in my whole life I highly suggest you even if you are not a racing fan I assure you that you'll enjoy this one for sure
  22. Sep 28, 2018
    10
    Forza Horizon is the Disney World of video games, and this is the best entry to date. Performance is good and I'm not getting any crashes like in Forza Horizon 3.
  23. Sep 30, 2018
    10
    Better than Horizon 3! Love everything and the gameplay is great. Great graphics, great cars, some missions are great and the weather change is amazing.
  24. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    the best horizon to date, graphics, physics and other technical aspects to a level hitherto never seen in the saga ..
  25. Sep 28, 2018
    10
    Excelente juego! mucho contenido y el plus de cambio de estaciones es perfecto!
  26. Oct 4, 2018
    7
    The good: Can get with a 14-day trial of xbox gamepass for free. The game is beautiful. Amazing graphics, great art, fantastic music. There are lots of cars to chose from many races and lots of things to do. Car physics are also very good. Also, the game runs perfectly on PC.

    The bad: The race design is dull and boring. The checkpoint system is extremely outdated. The world is beautiful
    The good: Can get with a 14-day trial of xbox gamepass for free. The game is beautiful. Amazing graphics, great art, fantastic music. There are lots of cars to chose from many races and lots of things to do. Car physics are also very good. Also, the game runs perfectly on PC.

    The bad: The race design is dull and boring. The checkpoint system is extremely outdated. The world is beautiful but feels empty and small. The game, in general, is very repetitive and feels dated in some aspects. Long loading screens on switching cars, breaking bulletin boards around the map, boring challenges.
    Expand
  27. Sep 28, 2018
    10
    This is one of the best games, let alone racing games, I have ever played. Don't tell PS4 that...
  28. Sep 29, 2018
    10
    Just amazing, best graphics hands down, best gameplay, best story...wow. +450 cars... holy ****
  29. Oct 12, 2018
    0
    The game itself is good, but the update 1.197.899.2 just bricked the game.
    Simply can't run a game I ran days ago smoothly. Crashes, no error message, nothing.

    Also, Microsoft Store is horrible. Had to download the full game 3 times due to download errors, and it looks my solution will be..... guess what, uninstall and download again.
  30. Oct 2, 2018
    3
    Ok let me say this is a great game, and it's so beautiful and optimized for PC that it's close to unbelievable, too good to be true. So Microsoft thought yes, this might indeed too good to be true, so lets screw up the whole experience with... drumroll... Microsoft Store! Oh god this is the worst user experience I have ever faced when simply trying to install a product.

    I literally
    Ok let me say this is a great game, and it's so beautiful and optimized for PC that it's close to unbelievable, too good to be true. So Microsoft thought yes, this might indeed too good to be true, so lets screw up the whole experience with... drumroll... Microsoft Store! Oh god this is the worst user experience I have ever faced when simply trying to install a product.

    I literally spent hours fighting through stuff like the store simply not letting me to sign in and therefore play the game at all. Turns out, if your local windows profile is NOT a microsoft profile but IS linked to one, you'll need to detach this first, otherwise Microsoft Store login will simply fail with a generic error (and you can't play without being logged into Store).

    Then it turns out that the 60GB game can't be played from under 2 windows profiles (family members have separate profiles), no, it needs to be installed for every single profile!!! Welcome to 2018 eh?

    Then you still need to log in to an XBOX account, which is confusing but at least great because I can have multiple XBOX profiles under my Microsoft Store profile so my wife actually can play. Installing and starting this game for the first time is like installing Windows 95 in the 90s, ridiculously unstable process with arcane, unwritten rules that can fail without warning any given time.

    Please look what ANY OTHER COMPANY does, who lets you install games for multiple profiles, and lets you change accounts easily. It's not rocket science. Microsoft Store is the perfect way to screw up your otherwise great game and the whole experience.
    Expand
  31. Oct 2, 2018
    0
    Full of Technical Problems.

    Let me start by saying that the game is probably good. But i cannot play it. I've got modern hardware (8600k, 1070ti) with latest drivers and windows updates. Problem 1 - Faulty installation. Had to reinstall three times before it actually finished once. Problem 2 - Faulty updates. Update loads, but is not being installed. Stuck in a loop because game
    Full of Technical Problems.

    Let me start by saying that the game is probably good. But i cannot play it. I've got modern hardware (8600k, 1070ti) with latest drivers and windows updates.

    Problem 1 - Faulty installation. Had to reinstall three times before it actually finished once.
    Problem 2 - Faulty updates. Update loads, but is not being installed. Stuck in a loop because game tells me to update and microsoft store says - i don't want to.
    Problem 3 - Crash Startup. Loads of people have that problem. Solution was to remove Windows Mixed Reality. It was causing the crash. A windows product on a windows platform.
    Problem 4 - Huge input lag when playing with a wheel. 2 Seconds delay when steering. Wrong placement of gas and clutch.

    This was my experience so far. Hours of troubleshooting, for a game i payed 70 Euro. A windows game on a windows machine with a windows OS and it still causes so many problems.

    Pathetic and even criminal, that i can't get a refund out of this.
    Expand
  32. Oct 3, 2018
    5
    Nice graphics, great opimization, terrible wheel handling and FFB. With game this expensive, the wheel should work too. The voice acting is annoying, sounds like aimed at 5-year olds
  33. Oct 12, 2018
    10
    It doesn't stutter on PC guys. FINALLY a smooth Forza experience on PC.
    And the game is just fantastic. I love everything about it and it's absolutely
    the best racing game that I've ever played. Great job Turn 10 Studios
  34. Oct 30, 2018
    10
    It's the first Forza game I tried. And just during a free demo I realized that it's one of the best racing games I played, if not THE best. Now I played about 15 hours and this game continues to impress me! I feel that developers really love cars and love their game, and it's a rare thing in AAA games now-days.
  35. Nov 29, 2018
    1
    It's a huge disappointment, as it often happens to every widely hyped game, and you know how it ends.. devs get lazy, publishers get greedy. In short, it's a step back from Horizon 3. Gone is any kind of progression and gone are the championships. It's a very nice map filled with nothing (yes, there are many races, but they are all disconnected from each other and there is no sense ofIt's a huge disappointment, as it often happens to every widely hyped game, and you know how it ends.. devs get lazy, publishers get greedy. In short, it's a step back from Horizon 3. Gone is any kind of progression and gone are the championships. It's a very nice map filled with nothing (yes, there are many races, but they are all disconnected from each other and there is no sense of purpose, except the grind for money to buy more cars).

    All rewards come in form of wheelspins, which are a bad and lazy way to design games, as it turns gaming into gambling, and lures players into addiction. You seriously end playing just for the very pitiful adrenaline rush of a wheelspin that will most likely end with winning a pair of strawberry shorts for your cringy character.

    All multiplayer is badly designed as well, and broken due to the fact that it rewards ramming to eliminate players of the other team. So it's not about who's better at racing.

    All the cars are just the same and same and same list of cars that have been for years in the the Forza franchise car list. They even dare selling a "spider" version of the same car (McLaren 650) to the Car Pass owners, and they even release it with the top on. That's literally the same car that was already in the base game, and they sold it to you again for a premium price.

    All the seasonal events are limited to three championships that every week are the same. Off Road Buggies, Off Road Buggies, Off Road Buggies. Devs, care to be a bit creative, maybe? Only the first four weeks the seasonal rotation content was fun and felt there was some effort, but it soon ended. And the Forza Live is a joke, it's just a grind of speed traps/zones, drift zones and danger signs. Boring as.. you got it. After the first month of excitement (you try the cars, the seasons, the "stories", the events etc) it really wears down to a purposeless and uninspired grind.

    All this before even mentioning that because this is on Microsoft Store, it's automatically a nightmare for updates, game corruption, forced reinstalls, etc etc. Really, just avoid playing any games on the MS Store as the plague - unless you're a real masochist.
    Expand
  36. Oct 23, 2018
    3
    I have enjoyed the series in the past and there are a few things that have ruined this game for me. As of the 23rd of October I just had a new release patch, now I can't join games with my friends. The patch before this one introduced frame pacing and stutters into the game and with my hardware that is unacceptable! The frame pacing and drops to sub 50 FPS seem to be gone as of theI have enjoyed the series in the past and there are a few things that have ruined this game for me. As of the 23rd of October I just had a new release patch, now I can't join games with my friends. The patch before this one introduced frame pacing and stutters into the game and with my hardware that is unacceptable! The frame pacing and drops to sub 50 FPS seem to be gone as of the newes patch, but now I can't play online or join friends that are hosting games. As for the other reason for rating this game so low. The addition of emotes, and clothing. This is a racing game, I wasn't really a fan of slot machine in FH3 to begin with, but the addition of clothing and emotes into this game is just terrible for a game that should be all about racing. There is zero reason I should be getting clothing items or emotes for a character that sits in a car 95% of the time over cars or in game credits. I am really disappointed with this games addition of this junk; along with the poor post release patches that make this game worse than playing the demo. I was happy when Microsoft said I would get to play anywhere, but now I do feel like a 2nd rate customer, and that is because I have higher standards now and expect a software, technology and cloud GIANT to do these things right. Expand
  37. Dec 10, 2018
    8
    J'aurai toujours un faible pour les plaisirs australiens de Forza Horizon 3, mais rares sont les jeux de course en monde ouvert à être aussi réussis que Forza Horizon 4. Le jeu combine un magnifique monde ouvert, composé au final de quatre cartes distinctes (merci les saisons !), à une expérience de conduite gratifiante, qui ne cesse de se renouveler et que j'ai eu du mal à abandonner.J'aurai toujours un faible pour les plaisirs australiens de Forza Horizon 3, mais rares sont les jeux de course en monde ouvert à être aussi réussis que Forza Horizon 4. Le jeu combine un magnifique monde ouvert, composé au final de quatre cartes distinctes (merci les saisons !), à une expérience de conduite gratifiante, qui ne cesse de se renouveler et que j'ai eu du mal à abandonner. Playground Games n'a pas fait que relever la barre encore plus haut, le studio anglais a roulé sur la concurrence ! Forza Horizon 4 est un jeu de course magnifique, gratifiant et à la conduite une nouvelle fois renouvelée. Expand
  38. Oct 12, 2018
    8
    3440x1440 on ultra with a 1080 averaging around 70FPS.
    Pretty game.
    Racing can be easy and arcady or with assists off exciting and more of a challenge. Lots of races and cars, with challenges in the open world. The opening is a bit meh, but as soon as you get to weekly seasons the game opens up. My only complaint is online doesn't work. I am content doing everything solo, but it would
    3440x1440 on ultra with a 1080 averaging around 70FPS.
    Pretty game.
    Racing can be easy and arcady or with assists off exciting and more of a challenge. Lots of races and cars, with challenges in the open world. The opening is a bit meh, but as soon as you get to weekly seasons the game opens up.
    My only complaint is online doesn't work. I am content doing everything solo, but it would be nice to use the online portion at least to try.
    Expand
  39. Dec 8, 2018
    1
    El hecho de que en pleno 2018 no puedas jugar a un juego por no usar el mando de la compañía de turno, aun siendo soportados otros mandos, me parece muy lamentable.
  40. Oct 12, 2018
    8
    Great game, plenty of varied races. I love the new array of cars and the new customisation options. The only thing I have to comment on is the fact that the multiplayer does seem a bit common and dull, you cannot hit into other players in free roam and some of it just doesn't feel right. However they have changed the whole game world with the new seasons and it really does change the wayGreat game, plenty of varied races. I love the new array of cars and the new customisation options. The only thing I have to comment on is the fact that the multiplayer does seem a bit common and dull, you cannot hit into other players in free roam and some of it just doesn't feel right. However they have changed the whole game world with the new seasons and it really does change the way you drive. Expand
  41. Oct 15, 2018
    4
    The Bad;

    - A lot less races then H3 (sneakily made to look like more because map icons are bigger) & no championships similar to H3 (apart from the few seasonal ones which aren't even new races), one of the best parts about that game. After Horizon 3, Forza 7 & The Crew 2 this game is missing content big time. Horizon 3 had double the amount of races.` - No solid motivation/story for
    The Bad;

    - A lot less races then H3 (sneakily made to look like more because map icons are bigger) & no championships similar to H3 (apart from the few seasonal ones which aren't even new races), one of the best parts about that game. After Horizon 3, Forza 7 & The Crew 2 this game is missing content big time. Horizon 3 had double the amount of races.`

    - No solid motivation/story for progressing. In Horizon 3, you had a somewhat decent story-line with the festivals you had to build up. Here you have...... buy some houses!? Which they could've done much more with. Just feels like theirs no goal. Nothing important to build towards. No real story. It all just seems kinda pointless. There's just a couple cut-scenes at the beginning then that's it. Story over for the whole game. Overall H4 is better but even The Crew 2 did a much better job of progression & story.

    - In it's quest to keep rewarding you, the game now feels so unrewarding. There's no feeling of progression because everything is just dumped on you within a few hours. Showcases don't mean anything now since you have them all within a couple hours. You don't have to work for anything. It just gives you all the best things straight out of the gates & it's rewards are so constant. Now everyone's a winner, even if you come last. It makes no sense. Even if you come last you make virtually the same money/points as if you came first. It's ridiculous.

    The Good;

    - Driving feels great, no game feels more fun & cosy at just driving round an open world then this game.

    - Graphically beautiful, lighting & reflections vastly improved. Still a few glitches here & their but forgivable.

    - Customisation is great. Hardly any improvements but it's still solid

    - The map is much better then H3. The elevation changes make it feel much more realistic & varied. The roads are better, more varied & more fun. The map feels like one complete place, that recreates parts of Britian very well rather then in H3 which felt like lots of different areas just glued together. H4 manages to feel more complete but keeps the variety of different places/areas as H3.

    - Seasons are great, visually look varied & presents different driving conditions half the time & really does feel like a different map between winter & the others. Having said that, winter especially gets boring very quickly & you have to wait a week for it to change.
    Expand
  42. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    the best arcade racing game i have ever played. great casual multiplayer fun. great graphics.
  43. Nov 2, 2018
    1
    Its a shame. After release full price game they cant fix connection problems for months.
    Game is perfect before u starting to play ranked races.
    1 - after w8ing for 10 mins for collecting 12ppl (12 from all game for 10m, Karl!), it will say connection problem and disband party. 2 - after another w8ing for 10 mins from all game it will build teams that u with 8 rank will be with
    Its a shame. After release full price game they cant fix connection problems for months.
    Game is perfect before u starting to play ranked races.
    1 - after w8ing for 10 mins for collecting 12ppl (12 from all game for 10m, Karl!), it will say connection problem and disband party.
    2 - after another w8ing for 10 mins from all game it will build teams that u with 8 rank will be with no-ranked s***t against 12-15 rank ppl. Thx for balance, Microsoft.
    3 - ..... profit - u sucked game even if u finish every run 1st, coz ur m8tes just fighting for 12th place only.
    Thx gods, i pay just 10 bucks for this.
    Expand
  44. Nov 2, 2018
    10
    muy buenos graficos un gran mapa muchos veiculos y muchas horas de divercion todo eso hace de el un juegazo para los amantes de la conduccion .
  45. Nov 4, 2018
    7
    It's very nice!!!!! Nice graphic, Many nice car, Nice seasons and Nice sound!! But Unlike The Crew 2, the keyboard setup cannot be set from Gear 1 to Gear 7. If possible, I can give 200 points!
  46. Nov 23, 2018
    9
    Странно, что сначала предполагалось что The Crew 2 будет лучше форзы. Но, наоборот. Forza Horizon 4 можно дать игру года в плане гонок
  47. Nov 29, 2018
    8
    I've given it an 8/10 because I genuinely enjoy playing it. The visuals are crisp, the handling model is considerably challenging, yet fun and forgiving, the world is more alive, there's customization (not many, but improved than the previous series). The reason to not give it a 10/10 for this game are as follows:

    1. Hard to party up and stay partied with friends 2. You will get bored
    I've given it an 8/10 because I genuinely enjoy playing it. The visuals are crisp, the handling model is considerably challenging, yet fun and forgiving, the world is more alive, there's customization (not many, but improved than the previous series). The reason to not give it a 10/10 for this game are as follows:

    1. Hard to party up and stay partied with friends
    2. You will get bored pretty fast if you don't know what to do next
    3. Really long queue time for ranked and sometimes for unranked matches
    4. Layers on some if not most of the cars for customizing are horrible (vinyl, stickers, etc)
    5. Almost impossible to import a saved wrap from previous title (amazingly long wait time)

    I don't think I will change my rating until the problem addressed above is dealt with

    TL;DR If you're a fan of the arcade to the sim-arcade styled racing game, I highly recommend buy or at least try the game. Who knows, maybe it'll be your money's worth and be a fan of the series
    Expand
  48. Dec 15, 2018
    8
    Me ha encantado, en este juego no hay trazada mala, en todo momento sientes que te estas divirtiendo, sobretodo con las carreras contra otras cosas q no sean coches, normal q se llevara el premio al mejor juego de conduccion de 2018, nadie le hace frente a Forza. Esta muy bien optimizado.
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. 70
    With the implementation of seasons and a new location, this installment in the series make for a wonderful, fulfilling racing experience, although it has a few minor bugs that need fixing.
  2. Oct 18, 2018
    88
    Playground Games newest addition to the open world racing genre is everything you can expect from a game that belongs to the Forza family. It’s easy to learn due its granular design, yet it provides deep tuning tools for the connoisseur. Despite its numerous and solid online systems that feeds its communities, the series feels like it has forgotten its competitive roots. Despite this, Forza Horizon 4 invites you to take part in its copious amenities and, in the end, the experience feels like your own, as long as you do not demand too much from the multiplayer.
  3. Oct 15, 2018
    90
    Even just as a racing game in general, it’s an absolute joy to play. No other racer comes close in terms of this level of polish – from the driving model to the freedom of customization, detailed open-world, and all-around gorgeous presentation. I fully agree with the final part of the game’s opening dialogue: Don’t go anywhere, Horizon is here to stay. At ease, ladies and gentlemen. The king has returned to his kingdom.