• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Nov 2, 2018
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 37
  2. Negative: 10 out of 37

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 8, 2018
    3
    Old poor match engine. Or rather I should say worse than ever because I remember times when there was in FM a possession football, some passes inside the penalty box, not so many nonsense panic shots and blocked crosses. Maybe it wil improve slightly with patches (I mean the last one in March) but don't expect much. Such poor match enigne makes all these nice tools in match analysis almostOld poor match engine. Or rather I should say worse than ever because I remember times when there was in FM a possession football, some passes inside the penalty box, not so many nonsense panic shots and blocked crosses. Maybe it wil improve slightly with patches (I mean the last one in March) but don't expect much. Such poor match enigne makes all these nice tools in match analysis almost completely useless.
    Tactics sucks, very few options to tweak your game plan, you can't effectively order your attacking players to get back and press the opponent, it's such a rigid unrealistic tactical management, it's only about general shape of the whole team and some special treats of your players.
    Also as mentioned by others, poor unrealistic transfer market, poor AI, many boring old features like answearing thousand times same questions for media.
    Finally trening looks like it make sense, but you can't really say that before playing few seasons, and there is nothing in this game to make you want to play that long.
    Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2018
    5
    Game is currently in beta conditions. Its playable but filled with game breaking bugs.

    There is a bug that can prevent you from saving. I lost eight hours of gameplay. Another big bug I ran into was being unable to increase the clubs youth level which made trying to develop youth players much harder. The worst is the Football Manager Community on the SI Forums. They are almost like
    Game is currently in beta conditions. Its playable but filled with game breaking bugs.

    There is a bug that can prevent you from saving. I lost eight hours of gameplay. Another big bug I ran into was being unable to increase the clubs youth level which made trying to develop youth players much harder.

    The worst is the Football Manager Community on the SI Forums. They are almost like a cult. Filled with fanboi's and heavy handed moderators.

    They relentless attack those who bring up any shortcoming of SI and are quick to defend them. You will attacked by the community and have any threads that point anything wrong being closed.

    Members of the community were attacking people for leaving negative feedback in the official feedback thread.
    Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2018
    0
    nothing new. pretty much the same game every year.
    miss the good old Cm2001
  4. Nov 5, 2018
    2
    Yearly release cycles are ludicrous for this game. I only buy a version of it once every 3 or 4 years. Frankly the game is getting too complicated for its own good, playing FM is more like having a second job now than a relaxing diversion.
  5. Nov 2, 2018
    0
    Football Manager has radically changed my way of buying games in recent years. Worse. Because I don't trust the developers anymore.

    In FM 2019 they have improved training and tactics (just the layout, honestly) but left out many other problems accumulated over the last 5 years. Some of them really very boring. AI is still far behind (this is why I'm not convinced at all by the tactics
    Football Manager has radically changed my way of buying games in recent years. Worse. Because I don't trust the developers anymore.

    In FM 2019 they have improved training and tactics (just the layout, honestly) but left out many other problems accumulated over the last 5 years. Some of them really very boring. AI is still far behind (this is why I'm not convinced at all by the tactics change). The negotiations, the relations with the media and the players, remains all boring. For example: once again it will be useless to identify the potential star playing in an unknown league, because it will cost you more than Ronaldo.

    So, yes, it's something more than the usual database update, which we were used to, but not at this price. You will read positive reviews from those who bought it at 20-30 euros. For 20 euros I would have spoken very well of it too, for 55 not. For 55 is a refund.

    My advice is: don't buy it if you bought FM 2018. Or wait for the next sales.
    Expand
  6. Nov 11, 2018
    8
    Another year, another Football Manager brought by Sports Interactive. This series has been coming since 2005 and as such, fans should be eager to know what the small news of this new version. Signing up for a club as a coach, setting tactics and training, hiring and taking the club as far as possible in national and international competitions are things that are part of everyday life inAnother year, another Football Manager brought by Sports Interactive. This series has been coming since 2005 and as such, fans should be eager to know what the small news of this new version. Signing up for a club as a coach, setting tactics and training, hiring and taking the club as far as possible in national and international competitions are things that are part of everyday life in Football Manager.

    But let's go directly to the news features of this Football Manager 2019. Now we have more realistic and detailed training sessions. Each day has two or three training sessions that can be dedicated to game tactics, attacking or defensive moves, or more general things. In other words, whatever we understand. It may be a bit annoying at first to be altering train X on day X, but it's a very good feature.

    The tactics have also been changed ... and for the better. Movements with or without ball are back. Now we can change our tactics more deeply and there are lots of options for the player to choose and form the kind of game they want. The Tiki-taka of Barcelona, the bus of José Mourinho or the Gegenpressing of Jürgen Klopp. Yes, at the beginning it is natural that it is difficult to define a tactic with feets and head, especially for those who are new to the Football Manager series, but this is part of the menu, which makes things more rewarding. It should be noted that the 1st Division German (Bundesliga) and the 2nd Division German have for the first time the teams, equipment and licensed players.

    Football Manager 2019 also added the VAR (Video-referee), which allows us to see the marked offsides. But not everything is roses in this new version, because Football Manager and Transfers are two words that don't match. Unfortunately, it's already a common problem in the Football Manager series. It continues to make zero-sense clubs asking for more than 100 million euros for an unknown young player.

    Visually, Football Manager games have never been appealing (nor was it ever their goal), but that's because the producers have always wanted to make the Football Manager series a lightweight game. However, 3D Match Engine received improvements, especially with the physics of the ball. Negative points are the transfer market, the number of injuries a bit exaggerated and the printing conferences are something generic and repetitive. In the end, Football Manager 2019 turns out to be a good improvement over last year's version.

    Veredict: Football Manager 2019 has received some modifications for the better and is recommended for fans of the series.
    Expand
  7. Nov 6, 2018
    10
    It's my first Football Manager and I love it. I see that people are mad that the devs don't do anything new to this series and I probably won't buy 2020 one. My experience is great, I really feel like football manager, it's an awesome game for people like me. And I am giving it 10/10 because I love the ideas behind it. I can't deliver you a comparison with other "football managers" but IIt's my first Football Manager and I love it. I see that people are mad that the devs don't do anything new to this series and I probably won't buy 2020 one. My experience is great, I really feel like football manager, it's an awesome game for people like me. And I am giving it 10/10 because I love the ideas behind it. I can't deliver you a comparison with other "football managers" but I see that there is no point in buying more than 1. I am going to play it from time to time for 2 years or 3. My new travel game in the train or plane, I'm happy for it. And it's a great title. But don't get me wrong, my rating tells a story of one game, and it's awesome, but eventually, it gets boring. After 12 hrs I'm tired of it and I need a break. I/m going to play some other games and return to it after a while or in a train.
    Experience is 10/10 and it might be a personal opinion from me, but that's how reviews work, right?
    Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Dec 6, 2018
    70
    If you’re a die-hard football fan but also a lover of the behind the scene workings of football, this is a game that will give you all of that to your heart's content. For the rest of us football fans, I’d suggest sticking to the latest iteration of FIFA.
  2. Nov 28, 2018
    90
    Improvements have been made and it is still the biggest, most detailed football simulation out there. You will lose months of your life over it, cursing to yourself over trivial things such as substituting your left back too early. It is a beautiful game for the beautiful game.
  3. Nov 26, 2018
    90
    Football Manager 2019 is a fantastic entry in the series and anyone that hasn't picked up the game in a few years will be blown away by the structural changes to the way it works. The training system allows so much more flexibility in management, whilst drawing on real world examples of how teams are coached in the modern age. In addition, the tactical system overhaul makes creating a specific style for teams to play in much easier. The all-round performance is great, with the UI sensibly remaining as clean and user-friendly as it has been for a number of years now. There are a few minor things that could be polished up, but this is a great buy and sure to have a whole new group of football fanatics addicted.